spedo correction - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > WF Local > WF Local Forums for Your Region and State > Illinois Jeep Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-25-2012, 12:16 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 116
spedo correction

So I just moved up to 33's over the weekend on my 05 LJ with a auto. Does anyone in the greater chicagoland area have one of thoes ODB 2 programers that can adjust my spedo for being on 33's now. I'm willing to pay for the help.

friedfish is offline   Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 05:05 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Jeffreybomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 837
As I understand it, it's not a programming thing. You need to switch out a physical gear to account for the change in tires. Here's a link: Speedo gear swap change.

(I know your question is a bit old, but just in case you haven't found an answer yet, there it is.)

__________________
This thread needs more ninjas. Ninjas and explosions.
Jeffreybomb is offline   Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 04:18 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 116
With the 4 speed tranny in my 05 LJ I can change the speedo 2 ways. Either the $80 gear in the trans, or a OBD 2 programmer. The programmers are over $300. I'm just putting the word out there in jeeper land asking if someone can save me a few $$$.
friedfish is offline   Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 05:17 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Jeffreybomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 837
Gotcha. Didn't know that was available. Let me know if it works; maybe I'll do the same.
__________________
This thread needs more ninjas. Ninjas and explosions.
Jeffreybomb is offline   Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 05:34 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 116
Well I'm still looking for someone that's got a OBD 2 programmer for the help. Looks like ill be swapping speedo gears eventually. I should do it sooner then later. The 4 speed tranny shifts on a computer input from many different variables. 1 of them is vehicle speed. And with the 33's on the jeep when it thinks its rolling on 30'a is confusing the hell out of the jeep.
friedfish is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC