Auxillary backup light and relay - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Off Road and External Lighting

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-02-2014, 07:13 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
firecapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 104
Auxillary backup light and relay

I am wanting to hook up an LED auxiliary backup light. I do not intend to splice into my existing backup light wiring as I don't want the light to come on every time I shift to reverse. So since it will have it's own wiring and switch, is it necessary to install a relay?

firecapt is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-02-2014, 09:48 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 559
I have two sets of backup lights on mine...the ones in the bumper are tied in to the reverse lights the ones flush mounted inthe tub are switched and with relay.

Genright LED backup lights flush mounted in the bumper tied in to the reverse lights





Vision X 10 watt LED's flush mounted int he tub and switch operated with relay..


__________________
Las Vegas
1995 YJ / New in 2013 Build Link
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/je...ld-333681.html
Jrozar is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2014, 10:22 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
WhiskeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by firecapt View Post
I am wanting to hook up an LED auxiliary backup light. I do not intend to splice into my existing backup light wiring as I don't want the light to come on every time I shift to reverse. So since it will have it's own wiring and switch, is it necessary to install a relay?
Anyone feel free to correct me where I'm wrong, as I'm in the process of learning myself. The requirement of the relay is dependent on the current draw of the lights and how high the switch is rated for. For example, if your lights will draw 2 Amps, and you have a 3 Amp rated switch, then you should be okay, although it might be close for some people's tastes. But, if you have lights that draw 5 Amps, then you'll need a switch capable above that, which might be say a 10 Amp switch. The cost difference between a 3 Amp switch and a 10 Amp switch could be $15-20 ( and would reduce your selection of switches available quite a bit), which means you might as well put an relay in.

The other reason for the relay to get direct power to the light without the length of wire going through to the switch and back. If the light is in the front of the vehicle, this could be significant and will result in lower voltage drop.

The ideal way to run it would be using a switch and relay. When using a relay, because it has such a minimal draw, it would work with almost any size switch.

Whichever path you take, make sure you put an inline fuse close to the battery.

I'm debating the same thing with myself on a backup camera that draws about 300mA. Seems to make things more complicated(more stuff to break) by adding a relay.
WhiskeyMike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2014, 10:43 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
JD95YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockbridge GA
Posts: 1,075
Images: 11
I run a set of Rigid Duallys, and a knock off set (basically same exact thing), so 4 LED cubes on my front bumper with no relay. Wires don't get hot or anything, no flicker, no nothing but bright light. I also have 6 single 5 watt LEDs for reverse lights with no relay. Again no issue. LEDs barely draw any current. For your reverse light, you shouldn't need one unless it's some crazy LED that draws 100amps some how lol. Just use good quality wire and make sure you get a good clean bare metal ground and you'll be good

Don't get me wrong.. I'm a firm believer of using relays when necessary (and I do), but with LED draw, I don't worry about it and haven't had any issues whatsoever.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyMike View Post
I'm debating the same thing with myself on a backup camera that draws about 300mA. Seems to make things more complicated(more stuff to break) by adding a relay.
You definitely won't need a relay for that. I've installed hundreds of back up cameras in my day as a 12v installer and never had one come back with an issue.
__________________
95 4.0 "EL DIABLO"
JD95YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-25-2014, 12:04 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
OhSixTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,104
Here's how I wired mine:

I used a relay with the power wire tapped into the rear tail light. This makes the lights come on only at night (when my lights are on). Didn't want them coming on during the day.

I also wired a switch (no relay) to them for manual control.
OhSixTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC