Bumper and lighting - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Off Road and External Lighting

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-06-2013, 11:32 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Shute47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northville, Mi
Posts: 26
Bumper and lighting

So I just got a Black Ops JKU and I've been looking at a tube Body Armor 4x4 front bumper I'm thinking of putting KC lights on the bumper in place of the ones in the picture. I'm really new to the off-road lights I wanted them on my dakota but never got around to it. If anyone has any suggestions or tips it would be great! I've installed HID's on my truck but that's really in with lighting, so anything would be appreciated!

Shute47 is offline   Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 06:00 PM   #2
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shute47 View Post
I'm thinking of putting KC lights on the bumper in place of the ones in the picture.
What picture?

__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:02 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Shute47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northville, Mi
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbwwolf View Post

What picture?
Sorry this one
Attached Images
 
Shute47 is offline   Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 02:09 PM   #4
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,286


You can put any lights you want on that bumper, in just about any configuration. Most companies that sell lights will sell mounting rings to fit the diameter of that bull bar. And any modern lights you buy will come with a built-in relay, so it's simply a matter of routing the wires into the engine bay, hooking em to the battery and ground, and running the switch into the cab.

Here's some info on routes through the firewall into the cab: Routing wires through firewall 08

I'm your basic electrical retard, so I installed an sPOD in my Jeep, which acts as a relay station for all my aux lights (3 sets, when I'm done, plus OBA). It's a really clean, professional looking setup. Only downside is, it's expensive, and really only worth it if you're planning to run multiple aux electronics. Some links:

Gen II SPOD
2012 Electrical question
4x4 SPOD Since 2005 - The ORIGINAL JEEP Over The Windshield Switch Console - Jeep Power Distribution System

Rather than the sPOD, a lot of folks simply buy a switch plate, such as the ones sold by Quadratec that fit in the Jeep's A-pillar. Or you can just hook up each individual switch to your dash somewhere.

Tons of options, and lots of threads on how to do it if you use the Advanced Search field...
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 10:40 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Shute47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northville, Mi
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbwwolf View Post

You can put any lights you want on that bumper, in just about any configuration. Most companies that sell lights will sell mounting rings to fit the diameter of that bull bar. And any modern lights you buy will come with a built-in relay, so it's simply a matter of routing the wires into the engine bay, hooking em to the battery and ground, and running the switch into the cab.

Here's some info on routes through the firewall into the cab: Routing wires through firewall 08

I'm your basic electrical retard, so I installed an sPOD in my Jeep, which acts as a relay station for all my aux lights (3 sets, when I'm done, plus OBA). It's a really clean, professional looking setup. Only downside is, it's expensive, and really only worth it if you're planning to run multiple aux electronics. Some links:

Gen II SPOD
2012 Electrical question
4x4 SPOD Since 2005 - The ORIGINAL JEEP Over The Windshield Switch Console - Jeep Power Distribution System

Rather than the sPOD, a lot of folks simply buy a switch plate, such as the ones sold by Quadratec that fit in the Jeep's A-pillar. Or you can just hook up each individual switch to your dash somewhere.

Tons of options, and lots of threads on how to do it if you use the Advanced Search field...
I'll definitely take a look. Thanks for the help!
Shute47 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC