Is this complicated, simple, or impossible? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Off Road and External Lighting

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-31-2014, 08:04 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
zzzpoohzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 146
Is this complicated, simple, or impossible?

First off, this may have been asked before (tried searching, found nothing). Second off, I'm not an electrician (although I am in IT and some people at work somehow think I do electrician work). Would there be a way of setting up a series of switches to control 2 separate pairs of lights (Fog and Driving) in the following way?

Switch 1: Enable Fog Lighting (only when low beams activated)
Switch 2: Enable Driving Lights (only when high beams high beams)
Switch 3: Enable All Aux Lights at all times

I want switches 1 and 2 so I can decide at any point to turn them off, not to be strictly dependent on hi/low beams.

Like I said I'm assuming this is possible, but I'm not sure.

zzzpoohzzz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-31-2014, 08:36 AM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Barmanvarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 4,551
I work in IT as well. Looking at your scenario, I now have if/else statements stuck in my head.

__________________
-Brian
2012 Cherry Red JK
TF 2.5 Coils w/ Billstein 5100 Shocks
17x8 Black Rock D-Window Alloys
315/70/17 GY Duratracs
4:56 Gears - LSD in Rear w/ Ten Factory Chromoly Shafts
TF HD Diff Covers
Barmanvarn is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-31-2014, 08:43 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
zzzpoohzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barmanvarn View Post
I work in IT as well. Looking at your scenario, I now have if/else statements stuck in my head.
Pretty much what I was thinking of when going through it, but like I said... I'm not even close to being an electrician, so I'm not going to assume. (Like when someone assumes at our jobs that features can be made out of thin air!)
zzzpoohzzz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-31-2014, 08:46 AM   #4
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Barmanvarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 4,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by zzzpoohzzz View Post
Pretty much what I was thinking of when going through it, but like I said... I'm not even close to being an electrician, so I'm not going to assume. (Like when someone assumes at our jobs that features can be made out of thin air!)


No kidding.

In regards to your question it may be possible but I have to ask.....

Any reason you can't just wire each set of lights to its own switch and be done with it?
__________________
-Brian
2012 Cherry Red JK
TF 2.5 Coils w/ Billstein 5100 Shocks
17x8 Black Rock D-Window Alloys
315/70/17 GY Duratracs
4:56 Gears - LSD in Rear w/ Ten Factory Chromoly Shafts
TF HD Diff Covers
Barmanvarn is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-31-2014, 08:56 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
zzzpoohzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barmanvarn View Post
No kidding.

In regards to your question it may be possible but I have to ask.....

Any reason you can't just wire each set of lights to its own switch and be done with it?
For the convenience of having them work with Hi/Low beams, or not using them at all, or all at once, instead of flipping switches all the time. My jeep is also my daily driver.
zzzpoohzzz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-31-2014, 09:09 AM   #6
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Barmanvarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 4,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by zzzpoohzzz View Post
For the convenience of having them work with Hi/Low beams, or not using them at all, or all at once, instead of flipping switches all the time. My jeep is also my daily driver.
Gotcha. Good luck.

I'm guessing you'd need some kind of relay system that turns them off/on with the high/low beams. Hopefully someone can help you out.

Figures I'd ask "why" so save others from asking the same.
__________________
-Brian
2012 Cherry Red JK
TF 2.5 Coils w/ Billstein 5100 Shocks
17x8 Black Rock D-Window Alloys
315/70/17 GY Duratracs
4:56 Gears - LSD in Rear w/ Ten Factory Chromoly Shafts
TF HD Diff Covers
Barmanvarn is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-31-2014, 09:20 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
JD95YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockbridge GA
Posts: 1,051
Images: 11
yes, you can wire them up that way by using diodes to isolate each so there's not feedback voltage when switching one or the other on. It would cause for more wiring behind the dash though not way too much and it's definitely not impossible..
__________________
95 4.0 "EL DIABLO"
JD95YJ is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-31-2014, 10:11 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,797
Yes. Both sets of lights are controlled by relays, standard setup.

Switch #1 gets its trigger voltage from the low beam circuit.
Switch #2 gets its trigger voltage from the high beam circuit.
Switch #3 is a double pole switch, trigger voltage comes from a key on source. This is across both poles. Out of pole 1 goes to the out of switch #1, out of pole 2 goes to the out of switch #2.
Reason for the double pole switch, is when it is off the two circuits are separated.
Important: when you are using switch #3, switches #1 and #2 have to be off or you will back feed your headlights.
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-31-2014, 11:28 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
zzzpoohzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 146
What I'm planning on buying are a couple sets of KC HiLites Slimlites, 1 set of fog, 1 set of driving. I have no other auxiliary lighting preinstalled. I wanted to get a few switches from OTRATTW, but I haven't done research to see if thats where I should get them. What additional equipment would I need?

Planning on having all 4 lights on bumper/brushguard.

Any tips/advice would be awesome considering i'm a complete novice at this stuff.

And by the way, I do appreciate the feedback already given.
zzzpoohzzz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-31-2014, 08:02 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alaska
Posts: 114
add 1 switch, dpdt ON/ON, as a power selector, one side to hi and low for driving/fog respectively, the other side to IGN or battery, poles out to switches each set of lights.

no power loops back to headlights since it toggles to the 2nd power source and break the circuit.
jackor is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-01-2014, 01:05 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackor View Post
add 1 switch, dpdt ON/ON, as a power selector, one side to hi and low for driving/fog respectively, the other side to IGN or battery, poles out to switches each set of lights.

no power loops back to headlights since it toggles to the 2nd power source and break the circuit.
Yes just use an on/off/on switch so it has an off function
Kingcat is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-01-2014, 01:17 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 173
Or



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20140201_141625.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	94.1 KB
ID:	724649

Nothing can back feed this way
Kingcat is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-03-2014, 09:12 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,797
King, rethink that. The crossover wire to the left of the switches ties both relay triggers together. No matter what switch is thrown, both relays will be activated.
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-05-2014, 12:58 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alaska
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingcat View Post
Yes just use an on/off/on switch so it has an off function

still have 2 individual light switches for on and off of each light pair. the dpst ON/ON is only for power source selection. from there it goes to the light switches so in-town, you can keep it on this switch on the headlight side as the power source (which will turn off anything on high beam when they go off), and it can be switched to battery or ign when off road so the lights can be turned on at any time.

jackor is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC