quick general electrical question - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Off Road and External Lighting

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-13-2013, 11:04 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
quick general electrical question

So I think I have this figured out but just be sure....

Power: comes from my source of power
Load: goes out to what i'm powering
Ground: should get a wire attached to bare metal of the body somewhere

Does that sound right?



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130613_230443.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	107.6 KB
ID:	261135

__________________
Do or do not. There is no try.
Kenobi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2013, 11:14 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Radioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 125
Power: comes from my source of power But make sure you have a fuse in line close to the power source
Load: goes out to what i'm powering Make sure the switch has the capacity to handle the load in amperes
Ground: should get a wire attached to bare metal of the body somewhere I would try to use an existing ground point if it is close to where you mount the switch.

Radioman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2013, 11:32 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radioman View Post
Power: comes from my source of power But make sure you have a fuse in line close to the power source
Load: goes out to what i'm powering Make sure the switch has the capacity to handle the load in amperes
Ground: should get a wire attached to bare metal of the body somewhere I would try to use an existing ground point if it is close to where you mount the switch.
Sweet thanks dude. I was going to be getting power FROM fuse. How does that play in? This is for the "remote" wire for my amp
__________________
Do or do not. There is no try.
Kenobi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-14-2013, 07:01 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Toolin Around's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ellington, CT
Posts: 145
You do not want to take power from the load side of a fuse. The fuse is rated at a certain amperage and adding another load could cause the fuse to blow. Take your power from the supply side of the fuse and then put your own fuse in line with that. A remote wire or turn on lead for an amp does not draw much current (amperage) so your switch will handle it.
__________________
Chris
2008 Rubicoin
2.5 RK lift
35" Goodyear Kevlars
Rigid A-pillar lights
2009 Seadoo
Toolin Around is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-14-2013, 12:43 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolin Around View Post
You do not want to take power from the load side of a fuse. The fuse is rated at a certain amperage and adding another load could cause the fuse to blow. Take your power from the supply side of the fuse and then put your own fuse in line with that. A remote wire or turn on lead for an amp does not draw much current (amperage) so your switch will handle it.
How do itell which side is which for the fuse in my fuse box?

I did it tofay, worked awesome but if I need to modify it a little I will. I but a 15 amp fuse in front of my switch and and use the 15 amp fuse for power inside my fuse box. the switch I bought is rated at 30 amps so I think the switch is good.

I grounded the switch with the ground for the amp, is that cool?
__________________
Do or do not. There is no try.
Kenobi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-14-2013, 05:24 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Toolin Around's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ellington, CT
Posts: 145
When you take the factory fuse out of the fuse box, you can test which side has power. That will be your supply side, and the side you want to connect your switch to. 15Amp fuse is pretty big for a remote turn on for an amp, I would use a 5 at most, unless you are turning on multiple amps. I think most amps only draw.5 Amp if that for turn on lead.
__________________
Chris
2008 Rubicoin
2.5 RK lift
35" Goodyear Kevlars
Rigid A-pillar lights
2009 Seadoo
Toolin Around is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-14-2013, 10:09 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolin Around View Post
When you take the factory fuse out of the fuse box, you can test which side has power. That will be your supply side, and the side you want to connect your switch to. 15Amp fuse is pretty big for a remote turn on for an amp, I would use a 5 at most, unless you are turning on multiple amps. I think most amps only draw.5 Amp if that for turn on lead.
Oh yeah... I should have thought of that... thanks for your help!!!

__________________
Do or do not. There is no try.
Kenobi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC