Switch lights up but lights dont turn on? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Off Road and External Lighting

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-03-2014, 07:05 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
DCR-13JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 110
Switch lights up but lights dont turn on?

Just got some black box logistic lights for my lower a pillar. I bought their wiring harness as well which consist of a relay box with wires coming out it. One with a fuse to the positive hot wire, one to the ground, one set to each light and one set to the switch.

I've never wired up lights befor but seemed pretty simple. Hooked up the power right to battery hooked up ground to the battery and hooked wires to the lights.

Flipped the switch, light on the switch comes on but no lights. Tried resetting the relay with no luck. Tried a different ground with no luck. Checked all connections everything is tight. Fuse is not blown either.

The relay has a metal piece coming off it with a hole in it I'm assuming that's just for mounting it or should it b grounded as well.

DCR-13JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 09:13 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
DCR-13JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 110
Hmmm

DCR-13JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 09:49 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
MSpiegel00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 369
I've been having the same issue. I have a pair of KC HiLites Slimlites that I hooked up last week, with no luck. My switch comes on just fine, so I know power is running through the relay, but the lights won't come on at all. I've called KC twice, and I've been told to replace the fuses (which aren't blown but I did anyway), and to reground the relay (which I've done as well), both to no avail. Here I am a week later, with some lights that look really good on the Jeep, but are completely functionless.
MSpiegel00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 10:30 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
DCR-13JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 110
Yeh it's driving me nuts. I've got an electrical tester that I have no idea how to use really don't know why I have it lol. But I'm gonna try it out today and see what I can figure out. Would call black box but they are only Monday-Friday. Wish someone on here had the same lights and wiring harness that could maybe shed some light on this.
DCR-13JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 11:57 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
MSpiegel00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 369
Same hours for KC. My friends dad is a mechanic, so I'm gonna have him take a look at it, unless KC tells me to send it to them first. I just don't look forward to uninstalling everything. I have it wired to the Rugged Ridge A-Pillar switch pod, which is annoying to disconnect with the WD Grab-bars in the way.
MSpiegel00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 12:23 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
DCR-13JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 110
Just checked mine and the switch still lights up even with the relay pulled out. I used an ohm meter and checked on the relay. I don't have a clue what I'm doing with that but when I checked it would give me a reading from two of the prongs but not the other two. I don't know if that means the relay is bad or what.
DCR-13JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 01:48 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
DCR-13JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 110
Well it's not the relay. Just bought a new one and still nothing. Hard to believe no one else knows what's going on here. I'm completely lost now.
DCR-13JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-04-2014, 10:15 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
DCR-13JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 110
Just to add I took some other wire I had and ran the light directly to the battery for a second and the lights work fine so it's not them.
DCR-13JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2014, 05:57 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
GoldenEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 302
Haha well i was gunna saw see if the lights works. you did that.

Its usual something really simple. I dont know much about Black box, or KC wiring harnesses (i build my own, a lot messier but oh well) But is there anyway a relay could get plugged in wrong?
GoldenEagle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2014, 08:54 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
DCR-13JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 110
No it will only plug in one way.
DCR-13JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2014, 12:02 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
173ABN VN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: rural N.E. Kansas
Posts: 163
I'm in the process of wiring up some KC fogs and offroad.could'nt finish up today because of the cold but I would check the ground for the relay.also the white wire that is attached to the supply terminal of your switch must be connected to a 12v power source or the lights will not work.with the fogs they recommend hooking the white wire to the low beam side of your headlights.with off road to any 12v power source but perferablly to a source that only is hot when you turn your ignition on...hope this helps...russ
173ABN VN is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2014, 12:21 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
MSpiegel00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 369
I have the KC spots, and have the white and yellow attached to the + post of the battery, and the ground to the - post of the battery, both as per the KC rep. Still nothing.
MSpiegel00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2014, 05:10 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
DCR-13JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 110
With the wiring harness I have there is only a ground and hot wire u have to hook up. Everything else runs through the relay. I unwrapped the relay part where all the wires go in and made sure they were all placed in there correctly and not loose and I found nothing wrong.
DCR-13JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-06-2014, 04:42 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
DCR-13JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 110
Been talking with Ed at black box and he doesn't know why they aren't coming on either. He's sending me a new wiring harness.
DCR-13JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-10-2014, 07:46 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
DCR-13JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 110
The actual switch is what ended up being bad. Everything working fine now
DCR-13JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2014, 01:07 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NM - Land of Enchantment
Posts: 125
Doesn't that just drive you crazy !

__________________
09 JKU X. Sahara wheels/tires, Rubi rails, Synergy Suspension bolt replacement.
G-Mike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC