730N Media Center: 2012 Hard Drive Size Warning - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > General Jeep Discussion

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-09-2012, 10:00 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Exclamation 730N Media Center: 2012 Hard Drive Size Warning

Anyone that has a 2012, 730N Media Center Radio should review this thread to determine if Chrysler/Jeep installed the correct radio in their vehicle or possibly had their radio swapped by the dealer:

730N Media System: Dude, Where's My 20 Gigabyte? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

I'm posting this as a courtesy for other Jeep owners. I have no affiliation with the other forum, I'm just not going to retype all this stuff over here.

If you're affected, please start a conversation here on the issue as well, so we can get it in the public's eye.

Amatore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 10:07 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Here's some photos of the 730N Media Center hard drive capacities.

My window sticker says I am supposed to have 20 gig of capacity, but I only have 11 as shown.

The picture of the 20 gig drive is from a vehicle at a Jeep dealer that has the right hard drive.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	730N.Media.Center.Hard.Drive.Capacity.2012.Wrong.Drive.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	71.6 KB
ID:	103411   Click image for larger version

Name:	730N.Media.Center.Hard.Drive.Capacity.2012.Right.Drive.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	90.9 KB
ID:	103413  


Amatore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 10:19 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
2012 Rubicon window sticker stating vehicle should have 40 gig hard drive with 20 gig of free space:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B25x...WozSFJGdw/edit
Amatore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 04:07 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 104
I have exactly the same problem, just went and looked at it. My sticker also indicates 40 GB with 20GB free but I have only 11GB free with nothing other than a few phone numbers stored on the hard drive. The guy I spoke with said that the partition on my HD had not been set properly. Don't know if its true or not, but it is plausible, back in the day, operating systems were restricted in how much HD space they could access so you could have one physical hard drive with numerous smaller logical drives existing on it. They made programs like Partition Magic (for computers) to work around this problem until the operating systems became capable of handling larger partitions. So it is possible that the hard drive size is actually correct but it was configured incorrectly. I will not be able to get mine in to have it looked at for a few weeks (road trip) but I will post when I find out for sure.
the rock99 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 04:12 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by the rock99 View Post
I have exactly the same problem, just went and looked at it. My sticker also indicates 40 GB with 20GB free but I have only 11GB free with nothing other than a few phone numbers stored on the hard drive. The guy I spoke with said that the partition on my HD had not been set properly. Don't know if its true or not, but it is plausible, back in the day, operating systems were restricted in how much HD space they could access so you could have one physical hard drive with numerous smaller logical drives existing on it. They made programs like Partition Magic (for computers) to work around this problem until the operating systems became capable of handling larger partitions. So it is possible that the hard drive size is actually correct but it was configured incorrectly. I will not be able to get mine in to have it looked at for a few weeks (road trip) but I will post when I find out for sure.
Personally, I think he gave you a b.s. answer and doesn't know what he's talking about, but I'm eager to hear your results.

But for entertainment purposes; that's definitely a new line coming out of wherever you just got it from.

Do let us know on how it ends for you?

I've been posting my daily notes/updates over in the other forum.

I post whatever they tell me so people will know and I'll have the info recorded for posterity in case this needs to go to court...
Amatore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 04:21 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 104
got it straight from chrysler at 877-426-5337, guy named Richard. As I said may not be true but is possible. The guy admitted he knew nothing about it, said it was too technical for him. He was obviously repeating what someone else told him, so it may be that they did this to a bunch of them and just figured it out. When you are loading software on lots of identical hard drives (for instance at Dell Computers or any manufacturer) they use cloning software, and if the master is wrong everyone that they clone from it will be wrong. So lets say at the factory that makes the radios they have two assembly lines cloning the hard drives and one of them has an old master copy everyone that came off of that line would be the right size hard drive, but formatted improperly to look like a smaller one. Again, not saying that is what happened, but it is very possible.

Edited to add:

Even if it is true, it is really a moot point, it's still wrong.
the rock99 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 04:29 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by the rock99 View Post
got it straight from chrysler at 877-426-5337, guy named Richard. As I said may not be true but is possible. The guy admitted he knew nothing about it, said it was too technical for him. He was obviously repeating what someone else told him, so it may be that they did this to a bunch of them and just figured it out. When you are loading software on lots of identical hard drives (for instance at Dell Computers or any manufacturer) they use cloning software, and if the master is wrong everyone that they clone from it will be wrong. So lets say at the factory that makes the radios they have two assembly lines cloning the hard drives and one of them has an old master copy everyone that came off of that line would be the right size hard drive, but formatted improperly to look like a smaller one. Again, not saying that is what happened, but it is very possible.
I've got an extensive background in the tech industry, so I'm familiar with what you're explaining, but the evidence I've gathered is that there really is different size hard drives for the different years.

Check out this radio for sale on Ebay that states it has a "30" gig hard drive, which explains the size problem versus a "40" gig.

Dodge Ram NAV Radio (RHR-730N) CD/DVD/MP3/HDD/NAV 6.5" Touch Screen NIB 82212615 | eBay
Amatore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 04:36 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 104
I believe you and it wouldn't surprise me if he was full of it, but it is possible. In the end it really doesn't matter because either way it's wrong.
the rock99 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 04:36 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
My opinion is those of us in this situation received 2011 model year radios instead of 2012's.

Now check this out also: "2012 Radios Notice: Starting in 2012 model year radios will come equipped with an anti-theft feature. Once a radio is installed in a vehicle, it learns the vehicle’s VIN and cannot be used in another vehicle unless an anti-theft code is applied."

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK2 - 2011 Grand Cherokee Navigation radios

If you look at that, Chrysler has more than just a hard drive size problem for guys like us, because even putting in a new hard drive isn't going to add that "Theft Protection" feature unless it's a software thing.
Amatore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 04:42 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 104
definetly be interesting to see how this plays out. I will probably never store anything on the hard drive because I don't listen to that much music anyhow. But I paid for it, and I want what I paid for. I had to fight for two months over the supposedly free 12 months of satelite radio, traffic , weather and travel services. Picked up my JKU Sahara in November and it was the beginning of January before those services started working
the rock99 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 04:44 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 104
any idea on the price difference, I would settle for some cash rather than a radio swap?
the rock99 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 04:45 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by the rock99 View Post
definetly be interesting to see how this plays out. I will probably never store anything on the hard drive because I don't listen to that much music anyhow. But I paid for it, and I want what I paid for. I had to fight for two months over the supposedly free 12 months of satelite radio, traffic , weather and travel services. Picked up my JKU Sahara in November and it was the beginning of January before those services started working
I hear you. I own over 2,500 music cd's and I probably will fill up that 20 gig. I filled up 5 gig putting 500 songs on there. And I've only just began converting my favorite stuff to MP3.

Don't even get me started on the Sirius issue: I think the dealers purposely, immediately activate each radio now to start the clock ticking on the subscription, which saves Sirius a boatload of money...
Amatore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 04:47 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by the rock99 View Post
any idea on the price difference, I would settle for some cash rather than a radio swap?
Good luck with that; I doubt it would ever happen because there's probably a ton of markup profit on these things, the issue of tracking warranty and who has it, and then you have the Carfax reporting etc.
Amatore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 04:52 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 104
I can see the following scenario, they replace the radio and then the whole battle over sirius starts again, then knowing my luck the replacement radio would fail and have to be replaced again, starting the whole sirius fight over again. Kind of like the movie groundhog day.
the rock99 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2012, 05:27 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by the rock99 View Post
I can see the following scenario, they replace the radio and then the whole battle over sirius starts again, then knowing my luck the replacement radio would fail and have to be replaced again, starting the whole sirius fight over again. Kind of like the movie groundhog day.
Personally, I could care less about the Sirius feature in my radio. I can't stand it. If you listen to it long enough you start hearing the same stuff over and over and we only like certain channels anyway such as "the blend." Then you have the sound quality issue, or lack of, of the music itself from the compression applied during transmission. And we already know the country's falling apart, both political parties suck, and I'm tired of listening to bad news, so I don't need it for that either.

Ignorance is bliss with a large collection of music CD's...and the correct size hard drive that you paid big money for!
Amatore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-19-2012, 02:16 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 233
My 2012 Rubi JKU and my friend's 2012 Rubi JKU both have this problem.

I verified mine over the weekend has the incorrect hard drive capacity, and today I verified that my friend's 2012 has the same problem.

I made an appointment with the local dealer to have both Jeeps looked at.

We both have our window stickers that clearly say 40GB/20GB usable.

Will update more tomorrow.

This is a pretty shitty thing for Jeep/Chrysler to have done.
xjrguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2012, 05:49 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Ok, here is an update.

Dealer looked at it. Said they would call Chrysler/Jeep and open a case. I left them a printout of my window sticker and highlighted the 40/20GB wording.

The service manager took down my radio info as well.

The minute I got back home I called Jeep to open a case just in case the dealer sat on their asses. Called the 1800 Jeep number and opened a case.

The lady who took my call asked me some questions, verified my VIN and radio config and said she would escalate it up the chain.

Got a call first thing this morning from my dealer telling me to bring my Jeep by for 30 minutes so they could get all the remaining info and order the proper replacement radio that I should have had from the get go.
xjrguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2012, 05:48 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjrguy View Post
Ok, here is an update.

Dealer looked at it. Said they would call Chrysler/Jeep and open a case. I left them a printout of my window sticker and highlighted the 40/20GB wording.

The service manager took down my radio info as well.

The minute I got back home I called Jeep to open a case just in case the dealer sat on their asses. Called the 1800 Jeep number and opened a case.

The lady who took my call asked me some questions, verified my VIN and radio config and said she would escalate it up the chain.

Got a call first thing this morning from my dealer telling me to bring my Jeep by for 30 minutes so they could get all the remaining info and order the proper replacement radio that I should have had from the get go.
Chrysler is still jerking me around. They keep claiming that some engineer is reviewing the issue and have no futher comment other than that, and refuse to provide any time line of when I can expect to have something done.

And they refuse to open any repair tickets on the issue to prevent me from having any documentation.

Tonight, the manager at Customer Care told me he was recording my phone call when I asked him that question, but when asked if I could also record it also, he told me no.

He wants me to take my vehicle in to yet another dealer and have them look at the radio, but says I can't have any paperwork that they did so.

We need to get the media involved in this fiasco.
Amatore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2012, 05:59 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amatore View Post
Chrysler is still jerking me around. They keep claiming that some engineer is reviewing the issue and have no futher comment other than that, and refuse to provide any time line of when I can expect to have something done.

And they refuse to open any repair tickets on the issue to prevent me from having any documentation.

Tonight, the manager at Customer Care told me he was recording my phone call when I asked him that question, but when asked if I could also record it also, he told me no.

He wants me to take my vehicle in to yet another dealer and have them look at the radio, but says I can't have any paperwork that they did so.

We need to get the media involved in this fiasco.
This is weird.

I helped another friend get in to my dealer and is also getting his radio replaced too.

Not sure why you are getting stonewalled. Have you had dealings with the customer care people in the past?

They can't record your conversation and then say you can't do the same. That is ridiculous. There is some strange shit going on with your case here.

I would start small claims proceedings. I would also look into a class action lawsuit. I am sure there are countless Dodge, Chrysler and Jeep vehicles on the road that have these incorrect HD sized radios and nobody knows the wiser - which is bad business.

The company has to have an inventory of where these radios went and what vehicles they are in. Why hasn't there been a recall?
xjrguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2012, 07:42 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjrguy View Post
This is weird.

I helped another friend get in to my dealer and is also getting his radio replaced too.

Not sure why you are getting stonewalled. Have you had dealings with the customer care people in the past?

They can't record your conversation and then say you can't do the same. That is ridiculous. There is some strange shit going on with your case here.

I would start small claims proceedings. I would also look into a class action lawsuit. I am sure there are countless Dodge, Chrysler and Jeep vehicles on the road that have these incorrect HD sized radios and nobody knows the wiser - which is bad business.

The company has to have an inventory of where these radios went and what vehicles they are in. Why hasn't there been a recall?
Because a recall would be on the 6 o'clock news and then the whole country would know.

Right now it's still only several hundred of us in an Internet forum putting the word out.
Amatore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-06-2012, 02:12 PM   #21
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Chrysler 200S with the same issue

First, let me thank you guys for all the info you've posted in this forum. It was extremely helpful to me in my situation. Here's my story:

I picked up my new Chrysler 200S last weekend and it came with the 730n system preinstalled. I was putting some music into the HDD on Tuesday and that is when I realized that I only had 11GB available. I immediately went to the manual/window sticker to double-check what I was supposed to have and saw that I was right, 40GB/20GB. It was too late to call the dealer so I resorted to checking the web for similar issues and that's where I found this thread.

I went to the dealer on Wednesday afternoon and spoke to the service department. They were shocked to see that I had the wrong radio. They mentioned the same thing that has been mentioned before (they might have taken the stock radio out and put it into another car to make a sale). I told them that I had read that some of the early 2012 builds were accidentally equipped with the 2011 radio but they hadn't heard of that being the case.

Anyway, without any pushback whatsoever, they offered to order me a new radio under the assumption that a new one from the factory would come with the most updated specs. They informed me it would take 2-3 days for them to receive the new radio and would call me when it came in.

Well, I received a call the very next day (yesterday) to let me know that the radio was already in and that I could bring my car in this morning to have the radio swapped out and that it would only take a couple of hours.

I am very happy to report that I picked up my car a little while ago and I now have the correct 40/20 730n RHR system in my car with everything else up and running (Sirius radio, Travel Link, and Traffic).

My dealership was incredibly accommodating and helpful and I was able to get all of this taken care of in less than 48 hours. I hope all of you guys have the same experience with yours.

Thanks again!
g35holdem is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-23-2014, 01:20 AM   #22
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
I don't know if anyone reads this post anymore or even cares about the HDD capacity anymore of the 2011 Mopar vehicles. I have an answer I got from buying a used 2011 VW Routan minivan which is built by Chrysler. Otherwise I'm not sure if I would have even thought of this van.

The guy I spoke to at a VW dealer here in Albuquerque, NM stated that basically all of the HDD for the 730N radios, like mine and many other from the sounds of it, are cloned from an original. The reason for the capacity being cut basically in half is firmware. There is firmware to use your backup camera, bluetooth streaming, wheel mounted controls, navigation, Sirius and Sirius backseat TV, picture viewing, MP3 playback, the list goes on and on. The biggest one that takes up the most memory is the anti theft. Without this the radio won't even turn on. Its a program that basically tells the radio which car its plugged into based on VIN and that it will only play in that vehicle. Making it worthless to steal. So even though you may not have some of these options such as back up camera, wheel mounted controls, or nav there is still software installed onto the 730N to make those options available in case you decide to have them installed after market.

There are some after market places that sell this exact radio with the full 30 gb for about $1300. However without any of the preinstalled Mopar software then it won't work. So you can choose between having the real HDD capacity or for it to function with all the junk installed on it so all of the options you may or may not have can function. There may be a way to install the firmware and customize whats installed but I have no idea. There is a way to take apart the 730N and add extra solid state flash memory and get the higher capacity you were told or even higher. But that looks like a pain in the butt to do and I for one will not be trying it.

That was what the VW guy said and it seems logical but its still stupid for them to advertise such a high capacity that doesn't exist. I'm also not sure if any firmware updates will make it more efficient and clear up some space. I got a bootlegged version of the latest and greatest firmware and just need to burn it onto a DVD and put it in the player. Its version 2.189 with 4100 gracenotes (which also take up a ton of the HDD and all it is is a database that can tell you exactly what you are listening to so it can identify the artist and song on the HDD). The prior version I had was 1.918 with 2800 gracenotes. VW said that was the last update available but Chrysler dealer said they could install this one for $100. But I found it online from someone else and am gonna try it.

Hope this helps some who are still curious or are buying a used 2011 Mopar product with this radio in it

Dude12305 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You know you drive a TJ when.... WaterDR TJ General Discussion Forum 7648 Today 08:21 PM
JEEP WRANGLER 2012 RTI Score VS Toyota 200 series RTI score SOLIDAXLE JK General Discussion Forum 47 03-11-2012 06:43 PM
My 2012 JKU Horn Upgrade Install cavejeep JK General Discussion Forum 7 03-09-2012 08:37 PM
How much did you purchase your 2012 for? Awiz90 JK General Discussion Forum 22 03-09-2012 09:26 AM
2012 MW3 JKU AEV rear bumper modification team38tim JK General Discussion Forum 2 03-09-2012 08:20 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC