Aux Power Distribution System??? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > General Jeep Discussion

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-03-2013, 05:48 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Rotornut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Aux Power Distribution System???

Do I REALLY need to add an Auxiliary Power Distribution System (like the S-Pod) valued up to $500 to my '02 TJ? Seems a little...........expensive?

I have Aux Bumper lights and wanting to add an on board air compressor. I have a winch, but use it with the clip in hand controller.

Maybe I'm wrong. Can someone jump in here and convince me to spend that kind of $$$$?

Rotornut is offline   Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 09:59 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Rotornut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
hmmm? No opinions?

Rotornut is offline   Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 10:11 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Rotornut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Kinda looking for some help here fellas. Anyone?
Rotornut is offline   Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 03:50 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 428
What I did as part of my dual battery install was buy three of these Bussman automotive fuse blocks ($8 each):



One is mounted under the hood, one is mounted in the glovebox next to the stock fuses, and one is mounted in the rear Add-A-Trunk. I connected them with a 4-guage wire to the battery switches, and run the power to the 4-guage wire through a single 140-amp main ANL fuse and fuse holder:



...everything else is just wires with battery lugs crimped on the ends. My total investment was less than $50 on these three fuse blocks.

To add a circuit, all you do is select a blade fuse of the correct size for the load, and plug it in one of the fuse block slots. The fuse energizes the adjacent spade lug. I do not have to run more than about 4' of power wire to reach any part of the Jeep from one of these fuse blocks, very convenient. The three 8-circuit fuse blocks allow me to add up to 24 auxilliary circuits.
__________________
Gary
1967 Kaiser Commando
2001 Grand Cherokee WJ
2003 Rubicon TJ
KaiserJeep is offline   Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 05:17 AM   #5
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaiserJeep View Post
What I did as part of my dual battery install was buy three of these Bussman automotive fuse blocks ($8 each):



One is mounted under the hood, one is mounted in the glovebox next to the stock fuses, and one is mounted in the rear Add-A-Trunk. I connected them with a 4-guage wire to the battery switches, and run the power to the 4-guage wire through a single 140-amp main ANL fuse and fuse holder:



...everything else is just wires with battery lugs crimped on the ends. My total investment was less than $50 on these three fuse blocks.

To add a circuit, all you do is select a blade fuse of the correct size for the load, and plug it in one of the fuse block slots. The fuse energizes the adjacent spade lug. I do not have to run more than about 4' of power wire to reach any part of the Jeep from one of these fuse blocks, very convenient. The three 8-circuit fuse blocks allow me to add up to 24 auxilliary circuits.
This a very nice idea...and the CORRECT WAY to add more circuits.

The OP question was do I HAVE to add an Aux power dist. no you don't have to....same as you don't have to add fuses and relays to wiring circuits...but depending how many circuits, the load and the environment that your Jeep is used in you may or may not have a Fire or other issue.

From what you were saying the start of the thread....IMO it is time to add an Aux Dist. board of some sort or stop adding electrical components.

Good Luck!!
jp2611 is offline   Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 03:27 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Rotornut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Thanks for the replies guys.

KaiserJeep, where did you find these parts and would you please provide a couple of pics for your install? This is certainly a lot cheaper way to provide a safe electrical aux power.

jp2611, I am definitely NOT an electrician (obviously), but what does it hurt to ass electrical components as long as you do not run too many at one time? I think that is where I was going with my original question.

An additional question I have is at what point do I need to add an additional battery and how is it installed?

Thanks!!
Rotornut is offline   Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 03:37 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern VT // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 2,128
1) how much stuff do you plan on hooking up? 2-3 things... probably not worth doing either solution.
2) how much time do you want to spend setting all this up? not much...get the sPOD

It's a nice piece of equipment, and adds more protection than just a simple fuse block. Not necessarily needed, but you're not wasting your money if you get it and plan on hooking up a variety of things. The best part is that once you have it installed, all the accessories you add later go on in no time at all and you have all the switches pre-wired with a nice OEM look.
__________________
'05 TJ Rubicon | '98 XJ Sport
That moment when you look at a really nice JK and think to yourself, "Well I SUPPOSE I could see myself trading in my TJ for one of those, but for those ugly ass door handles."
n00g7 is offline   Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 08:36 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
+1 on adding your own fuse block. BlueSea Systems (http://www.bluesea.com/products/category/Fuse_Blocks) makes some water, uh, 'resistant' blocks. Click on 'ato/atc' blocks on the link for automotive type fuses. (Amazon also has em)

I use the previously posted part store available 8$ block for my accessories; it is exactly what I need, as safe as low-voltage electricity can possibly be, and cost me about 100$ to add several relays, OFC wiring, multiple fuse hookups, switches, and a custom switch panel. And probably still had a steak dinner when I was done.

If you need help designing a schematic, just ask. There's lots of sharp cookies on WF.
__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 08:49 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
IcarusLSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 759
I used a BlueSea SafetyHub 150 in my Jeep for the accessories. I hooked up the H4 upgrade, my stereo amps, Hella horns, etc to it. Still have room for lots more I wanted room for high and low draw items so went this way over the Spod which is for lower draw (3-15A + 3-30A) max per cicuit/50A for the whole panel. I do want to make a Spod style switch panel though when I get a few more things in the Jeep to keep it looking good, but that wouldn't be too bad to make myself either.
Aux. fuse panel - best location ideas?

__________________
·Ď˘ĺrµ§·
IcarusLSC is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC