CB Radio Help - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > General Jeep Discussion

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-17-2012, 01:24 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Incubus1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 85
CB Radio Help

CB Question
Hey everyone. Ive never installed a cb before let alone used one. To be honest with you, I actualy ordered myCB radio when I was pretty buzzed. That Amazon.com One-Click_Purchase really gets me everytime.. Anyway, I bought a cheap 25 dollar midland CB. Not only was the box ariving at me doorstep a suprise, but I never would have thought the antennae would come separately. That might sound dumb but i have no exp. with this. I went back on amazon, completly sober this time, and purchased this

Amazon.com: SOLARCON 2' Top Loaded Fiberglass CB Antenna with Mirror Mount & Cable - 750 Watt Black 212B: Car Electronics

Its a 2ft long CB ant, but i really wanted a 3ft. Do you think this would be allright? I live in Lng Island New York. the island is 25x100 miles with only a few areas to offroad with only a few major highways. Do you think I can get away with 2 foot or should I cancell the order now


If theres any other advice youhave for my install tomorrow please let me know

__________________
Just take whip it out and play with it a bit
Drive a wrangler
Incubus1013 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 01:36 AM   #2
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
BeaverJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 739
2' will be fine, as long as you mount it up high. to your tire carrier or something. you also need a coax cable.

__________________
Logs belong in my mouth, not my tires.
BeaverJeeper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 01:41 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Incubus1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 85
Nice I got worried for a secnd. How would you get the coax cabe to the mount outside the vehicle? Is the only option drilling?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BeaverJeeper View Post
2' will be fine, as long as you mount it up high. to your tire carrier or something. you also need a coax cable.
__________________
Just take whip it out and play with it a bit
Drive a wrangler
Incubus1013 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 02:28 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
wego4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Whittier
Posts: 60
You want the antenna as high as possible and unobstructed. The installation is really easy. You should try to hook up with someone that has a SWR meter to make sure your setup is good. You want the SWR reading as low as possible. Bad grounds, too low of an antenna, and such will give you a bad reading. I recommend a Firestick with the adjustable tip. The hardest part of the install is trying to figure where you are going to put the antenna. You want the antenna at least 1' above the roof of your vehicle and centered as much as possible. For what we do, close range, you don't have to have it above the roof, but it will give you better range.

Hope this helps.
wego4x4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 02:30 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
wego4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Whittier
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incubus1013 View Post
Nice I got worried for a secnd. How would you get the coax cabe to the mount outside the vehicle? Is the only option drilling?
Run the power direct to the battery. Also, there are lots of locations to run the wire through or you can drill. Just paint the bare metal when done. Not sure about your specific vehcile, but most have drain holes you can run the coax through if needed.
wego4x4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 02:53 AM   #6
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
BeaverJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 739
there's a drain hole on the top of the left rear wheel well. the wires for you brake lights run through it. i poked a bigger hole in the rubber and ran my coax through that.
__________________
Logs belong in my mouth, not my tires.
BeaverJeeper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 03:48 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Incubus1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 85
thanks for all the feedback.. every comment will be red 100 times before i hook it up tomorrow.. another thing... do i have tp have it mounted to my vehicle? can I just ziptie it to my roll barr? I have a wrangler tj framless soft top btw... this might sound like a dumb question...but yea.. im pretty dumb lol
__________________
Just take whip it out and play with it a bit
Drive a wrangler
Incubus1013 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 10:02 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 261
You can get press-fit rubber bushings for the hole (if you need to drill one). Try Radio Shack. They'll keep the metal from eating into the co-ax, and with a little silicone, they'll keep the water outside. Looks more professional, too.

BTW I have one of those cheap Midland hand-helds, too. Works fine on the highways, even with the (magnetic) antenna on the back bumper. I can't mount it on the hardtop unless I put a steel plate up there, and I don't want to drill holes.

Minor trick a radio guy told me years ago (and I don't know if it's true): For transmission at least, the body of the vehicle acts like an extension of the antenna, so if you want the signal to reach out to oncoming traffic, mount the antenna on the passenger side, toward the rear. If you're more interested in what's happening behind you, mount the antenna toward the front.

Again, I don't know if this is true. I'm still trying to figure out where to put my FireStik without drilling holes in the hardtop, AND where it won't interfere with the tailgate.
PeteH is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 10:19 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,954
No, you can't zip-tie it on. The mount needs a solid connection for grounding. For cable length, no special or magic length, get what will fit. If there is excess it can be loosly coiled up and tucked out of the way.
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2012, 07:55 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
jfbilbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central Alabama
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky View Post
No, you can't zip-tie it on. The mount needs a solid connection for grounding. For cable length, no special or magic length, get what will fit. If there is excess it can be loosly coiled up and tucked out of the way.
The coax length needs to be in multiples of 9.....9' or 18'......it works a lot better when setting the SWR.. and never coil the extra length of coax....believe it or not, it restricts the flow of the signal...best to lay it in a back and forth pattern in 3 foot lengths....and it can be zip tied as he suggested, as long as he has a ground wire from the mount to a suitable ground...
jfbilbro is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2012, 08:16 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
MikalCarbine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbilbro View Post
The coax length needs to be in multiples of 9.....9' or 18'......it works a lot better when setting the SWR.. and never coil the extra length of coax....believe it or not, it restricts the flow of the signal...best to lay it in a back and forth pattern in 3 foot lengths....and it can be zip tied as he suggested, as long as he has a ground wire from the mount to a suitable ground...
This is a myth
__________________
2002 TJ Sport 4.0
33x12.5r15 MTZ
3" AEV/OME lifted

Usually posting on my Samsung Captivate Android
MikalCarbine is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2012, 08:49 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Sparkplugg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikalCarbine

This is a myth
Yep. Agreed.
__________________
9/7/11 2012 Black Rubi

Yaesu 857D // ACE Rock Rails // PSC Brawler Lite // Warn VR8000 // Duratrc 315/75/16 MB72 // RK 2.5 Max Travel // ACE Rear Bumper/Tire Carrier
Sparkplugg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 08:14 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
jfbilbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central Alabama
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikalCarbine View Post
This is a myth
you hook up your radio your way, and i'll hook mine up my way, which is the way i learned while on the way to earning my degree in electronics engineering....and your degree is in what??
jfbilbro is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 10:41 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 825
Not to start a flame war here, but I too have a electronic engineering degree. I have coax both ways without problem. Nor was I taught that a coil of coax created a choke effect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbilbro
you hook up your radio your way, and i'll hook mine up my way, which is the way i learned while on the way to earning my degree in electronics engineering....and your degree is in what??
Iceman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 12:11 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
MikalCarbine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbilbro View Post
you hook up your radio your way, and i'll hook mine up my way, which is the way i learned while on the way to earning my degree in electronics engineering....and your degree is in what??
I have a B.S.E.E. with 2 years experience in the telecommunications industry but I'm not one to start a pissing match over the internet Currently I'm running some oddball length of coax, about 14-15', and I'm still getting 1.1 to 1.2 SWR across all channels. The OP should be more concerned about proper grounding than coax length IMO
__________________
2002 TJ Sport 4.0
33x12.5r15 MTZ
3" AEV/OME lifted

Usually posting on my Samsung Captivate Android
MikalCarbine is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 02:06 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman View Post
Not to start a flame war here, but I too have a electronic engineering degree. I have coax both ways without problem. Nor was I taught that a coil of coax created a choke effect.
Actuall It does. A loose coil (6" dia) creates a common mode choke and will eliminate RF on the outside of the shield in the coax. It's a common usage when feeding a non resonant antenna. This is not used in a CB instillation since your feeding a resonant antenna with a reletively narrow band of frequencies.

Note this only effects RF on the outer surface of the shield, it does not stop signals in the center conductor.

Coax length is not a factor unless you are considering loss, and for lengths for a mobile instillation, not worth worrying about.
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 07:46 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky

Actuall It does. A loose coil (6" dia) creates a common mode choke and will eliminate RF on the outside of the shield in the coax. It's a common usage when feeding a non resonant antenna. This is not used in a CB instillation since your feeding a resonant antenna with a reletively narrow band of frequencies.

Note this only effects RF on the outer surface of the shield, it does not stop signals in the center conductor.

Coax length is not a factor unless you are considering loss, and for lengths for a mobile instillation, not worth worrying about.
My apologies yes with a regular non shielded wire it would create a choke and it would choke signals off of the external area of the coax. However not on the shielded inner core of the coax on a CB radio which is what we are talking about in this instance.
Iceman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 08:58 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,954
Correct, shielded inner core is not effected, and signals will still pass.

So, back where we started, extra cable can be loosly coiled.
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 05:01 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Incubus1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 85
I am having an issue. I have my Cb hooked up and ant. mounted. Its only a 2ft..and from what Ive gathered, is okay. I hav it mounted as far up on my tailgat as possible and the two foot ant. actually linesup exactly with the top of my soft top. I can change channels and can barley make out what ppl are saying. I try calling out for a radio check but get no responses. Anyone know what can be going on here? is it my ant? Mind you.. I have not purchased a SWr thing cuz it claimed it was pre-tuned.. but am starting to get responses saying I need to purchase it from other forums im on. Anyone have any other sugguestions?

Or is anyone in the Lake Ronkonkoma area that can turn their Cb on and call back my radio checks lol
__________________
Just take whip it out and play with it a bit
Drive a wrangler
Incubus1013 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-25-2012, 03:41 AM   #20
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
thetrifakta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 362
Images: 2
[QUOTE=Incubus1013;2040877]CB Question

To be honest with you, I actualy ordered myCB radio when I was pretty buzzed. That Amazon.com One-Click_Purchase really gets me everytime..

LMAO, Not at you.... with you.... I have ordered stuff like; underwear for my GF to phone cases on Amazon (all buzzed). I had to delete my FB account because I was telling the truth to too many of my "friends"

Just had to chime in here...sorry....thanks for the laugh!
thetrifakta is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-25-2012, 07:40 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 825
Definitely need an swr meter. Pretuned means on a bench at the factory, conditions on your jeep will be totally different. If the antenna doesn't stand hierarchy than the jeeps top that could be a problem too. Is the antenna mount properly grounded?
Iceman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2012, 11:21 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Maro35089's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 152
I did the extreme side of what you did and got a really nice radio with SWR built in, bought a mount that goes in the holes for the spare tire mount and bought a 103' whip antenna for $20 with a Heavy duty spring mount. I have a range of about 4 miles tested. ARIZONA ROCKY ROAD ANTENNA MOUNTS FOR JEEP WRANGLER, UNLIMITED AND LIBERTY this is the mount i used. this guy is really good answered any questions i had. I also built an over head CB mount that puts the cb just over the rear view mirror and out of the way.

I use the CB for offroading and for talking on the highways works great.
Maro35089 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2012, 08:22 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incubus1013 View Post
I can change channels and can barley make out what ppl are saying. I try calling out for a radio check but get no responses.
Probably because of the skip being so bad, try at night and see if it is any quieter, Otherwise a 1000 watts should do it!

Donn
__________________
My Jeep is NOT an suv and Your suv is NOT a Jeep
30-284 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-18-2012, 07:54 AM   #24
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Greetings,
Instead of starting a new thread since this is dealing essentially with the same topic..... I want to install a 103 in whip on a license plate holder (http://www.cooltechllc.com/jeep/jk_ultramount.shtml) on top of a spring (6in? to make it a true 1/4) then ground it to the battery to make sure of a solid ground connection (would that be better than trying to find a good frame ground?. Questions would be what is the best coax to purchase for a CB application. I understand there is great variability with the quality of copper coax, its shielding rating ect. As I understand the above discussion, it really does not matter (for a CB installation) the length of coax. As to position is there truly a better position than another with the 103in whip? And if so, would the left rear corner be an acceptable compromise for said application. I understand that personal preference is a huge factor in what brand of cb to buy, but any suggestions on a small compact unit that has what is really needed in a radio that would fit above the rear-view mirror on a 2013 JK? Comments, suggestions?
markhughesrn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2014, 07:15 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikalCarbine View Post
I have a B.S.E.E. with 2 years experience in the telecommunications industry but I'm not one to start a pissing match over the internet Currently I'm running some oddball length of coax, about 14-15', and I'm still getting 1.1 to 1.2 SWR across all channels. The OP should be more concerned about proper grounding than coax length IMO
Can you post some photos how you setup your cb, I'm also new and and trying to figure out which cb to purchase?
RedDevil69 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-20-2014, 10:33 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,954
Look in the Communications section, a lot of threads on CB setups.

A lot are running Uniden's because they are inexpensive, generally small and work fine. They are a basic radio without many extra's. Others like the Cobra line. Midland's are good too.

sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.5L or 4.0L please help Jatt-YJ YJ Tech Forum 145 03-08-2012 12:13 AM
Light help needed!! Youngav8er TJ General Discussion Forum 10 02-18-2012 10:31 PM
Rampage Frameless soft top HELP joshbarb2 TJ General Discussion Forum 16 02-18-2012 10:10 AM
Need help with gas mileage! TJ-Mike TJ General Discussion Forum 10 02-17-2012 02:23 AM
Need help, Won't start... Phoenix TJ General Discussion Forum 0 02-17-2012 12:30 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC