GPS with top down - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > General Jeep Discussion

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-10-2013, 10:18 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
flharleycop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 310
GPS with top down

I was looking for some advise I bought a new Magellan GPS with lifetime maps and traffic, it was pretty expensive about 300 dollars. I just gave it to my daughter because in the Jeep you could not even see the screen. It got so washed out from the bright sunlight it was useless. I called the factory and they said it was as bright as it could go and was no help. If I took the top off it was totally washed out.

Anyway what GPS are you all using that works with the top off or in very bright sunlight? I have a Garmin on my motorcycle and it works great but its the one that is made for motorcycles and doesn’t have the bells like 3d lane assist etc. So I was looking for an automotive one that works.

Thanks

__________________


JKUS 11
flharleycop is offline   Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:24 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
gonzo1308's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by flharleycop View Post
I was looking for some advise I bought a new Magellan GPS with lifetime maps and traffic, it was pretty expensive about 300 dollars. I just gave it to my daughter because in the Jeep you could not even see the screen. It got so washed out from the bright sunlight it was useless. I called the factory and they said it was as bright as it could go and was no help. If I took the top off it was totally washed out.

Anyway what GPS are you all using that works with the top off or in very bright sunlight? I have a Garmin on my motorcycle and it works great but its the one that is made for motorcycles and doesn’t have the bells like 3d lane assist etc. So I was looking for an automotive one that works.

Thanks
iPhone.

gonzo1308 is offline   Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:44 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
flharleycop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo1308 View Post
iPhone.
I have traveled too many places with no signal I can’t depend on the phone.
__________________


JKUS 11
flharleycop is offline   Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:02 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
IndyJeepMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 3,387
You must travel often for a 300 dollar roadmap.

Either way id learn the route and go, im a delivery driver so I know how finding your way can be, I dont see how you could use it constantly. Id go with a phone too..
__________________
1980 CJ7
3.9L Cummins POWER!
Follow my build, its cool and stuff: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/project-shake-n-bake-a-cummins-cj-188515.html]
IndyJeepMan is offline   Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 08:14 AM   #5
Thank You Veterans!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 27,482
I use a Tom Tom and it works great
Beastmaster is online now   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC