new fuel pump, install question.. help! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > General Jeep Discussion

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-27-2012, 07:57 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
beardown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 661
new fuel pump, install question.. help!

so, my fuel pump is on the way out. I already have the new pump that i plan on installing one of these days... Is a new sending unit required as well? Recommended? Or does the new pump just go in to the existing unit? thanks for the help!

beardown is offline   Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:15 PM   #2
Moderator

::WF Moderator::
 
harleydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: south georgia
Posts: 3,926
you can just put the pump in..sending unit is just for your gas gauge

harleydragon is offline   Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 02:30 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
beardown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 661
cool thanks, looks fairly straight forward.... after the tank is dropped, the pump didn't come w a new gasket, anything else I would need in addition to the pump and gasket? thanks
beardown is offline   Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 03:41 PM   #4
Moderator

::WF Moderator::
 
harleydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: south georgia
Posts: 3,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardown View Post
cool thanks, looks fairly straight forward.... after the tank is dropped, the pump didn't come w a new gasket, anything else I would need in addition to the pump and gasket? thanks
pump filter and just check the hoses while you have it down
harleydragon is offline   Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 05:14 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
beardown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 661
yea pump came with the filter, I'll probably change out hoses cause I hope to never have to drop that biotch ever again! thanks again
beardown is offline   Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 05:43 PM   #6
Moderator

::WF Moderator::
 
harleydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: south georgia
Posts: 3,926
you might think about using new bolts to remount it with so it will be easier if you do have to take it back out in the future
harleydragon is offline   Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 07:39 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
beardown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 661
yea for sure

beardown is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC