Putting on new front sway links - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > General Jeep Discussion

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-05-2011, 08:48 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
RockyWrangler98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 8,127
Putting on new front sway links

Got the old ones off, got the first new one mounted, but when tightening down the top nut, on top off the sway bar, the nut is just spinning. It's down the thread just a bit, and the end of the bolt is right at the top of the nut. Still a lot of thread left though. Any suggestions?

__________________
"Why do you drive something like that?" ...To which I reply: "To make people like you ask questions like that."
RockyWrangler98 is offline   Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 09:01 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Rubicondon53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,590
Two years ago the same thing happened to me, I cut the original bolts out and put my own in,, pain in the rear as the bolt was welded to the saddle, chisel finally broke it loose.... last month one of them just completely fell apart.. Lesson learned? No more cheap knock-offs... Replaced then with JKS discos, a very well made product, that should last a bit longer than 20k miles..

__________________
04' Rubi, with all the gizmos we need for long range excursions, / home modified excursion trailer;

96' Lexus 450, locked, loaded and ready to roll..
'12 VW New Beetle
Rubicondon53 is offline   Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 09:17 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
RockyWrangler98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 8,127
It's not that the replacements are cheap, I just can't figure out how to fasten a nut on a spinning bolt....besides, discos would be highly impractical for my use. I do mostly in-town driving, and soon to be city and interstate driving.
__________________
"Why do you drive something like that?" ...To which I reply: "To make people like you ask questions like that."
RockyWrangler98 is offline   Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 02:33 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Rubicondon53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,590
Ah,, stockers,, maybe a well placed pair of vice grips, using some rubber to keep from damaging the threads, or if they are spinning out real bad, and as I recall they shouldn't be, take them back where you got them,
__________________
04' Rubi, with all the gizmos we need for long range excursions, / home modified excursion trailer;

96' Lexus 450, locked, loaded and ready to roll..
'12 VW New Beetle
Rubicondon53 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rear Sway Bar Links BowlerGT TJ Tech Forum 2 12-30-2010 01:18 AM
quick disconnect install & removing front sway bar Curt93acw TJ Tech Forum 3 10-24-2010 06:11 PM
Removing front sway bar??? scramblin'wrangler YJ General Discussion Forum 14 08-07-2010 01:05 AM
cant remove front sway link! 05rubicon TJ Tech Forum 9 06-28-2008 10:48 AM
Sway Bar Links Scooby TJ Tech Forum 18 12-19-2006 08:36 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC