Radio Problem - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > General Jeep Discussion

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-21-2009, 09:02 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Radio Problem

So my wife was driving the Jeep today and she said she pulled up to a stoplight and the radio(Sony Xplod CDX-MP80) quit working. No display, no sound, like power was cut to the headunit.

Well I got to looking and the amp(Sony Xplod) also has no power.

I checked the fuse at the battery and any other fuses I could get to and everything looked ok.

Now to the puzzling part, when I hit eject on the faceplate, the face folds down to eject a cd but when you load a cd and it goes back up the display is black.

I highly doubt both the amp and headunit went out at the same time but I cant find any other blown fuses anywhere.

I still suspect it's a fuse but cant find any blown.

Any ideas?

jayjysmth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2009, 09:12 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
Did you ever put the radio to a ground? I didn't on mine at first because I thought it was built into the harness but it was not. It worked sometimes then I hooked it to the ground and bam works like a champ.

jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2009, 10:08 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
I have been under the dash all night and cant find a ground.
I didnt install the radio(just got the Jeep last week) or the amp.

Do I need to pull the radio to find the ground?
On previous cars I had the ground in the engine compartment ground to the frame but there isnt a ground up there.

Kind of sucks that I didnt install the radio bc I have no idea how everything was run.
jayjysmth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2009, 10:22 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
The jeep is just about the easiest radoi I have ever installed. IF you can pull the radio there will be probably a black wire just sitting in the dash that needs to be connected for aftermarket radios to work. On the amp did you check the connections there along with the ground on that? Were is the inline fuse running to the amp at from the battery that might have blown.
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2009, 10:29 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
jeepjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: west palm beach , fl
Posts: 149
Send a message via AIM to jeepjeep
radio shit the bed, common on the sony's
__________________
'06 X 6spd...

milemarker 8k,junkyard lift w/ skyjacker nitro shocks,smitybuilt bumper, kc daylighters, auburn ected d30, 34" swampers, new project dana44 hp and 9" axle swap with 4.88/locked f/r , new new project full traction 6" long arm...
jeepjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2009, 10:44 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Inline fuse is right before the positive is connected to the battery. That fuse is fine.
That's what makes me wonder if there is another fuse that has blown somewhere else.

I will try pullin the radio tomorrow and trying to find the ground.

Does it sound more like a blown fuse to you guys since both the radio and amp quit working at the same time?
jayjysmth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2009, 10:54 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
orange05tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stop having a boring tuna. Stop having a boring life.
Posts: 3,897
Sony Explodes, nuff said. I went through 4 of them before I realized, if its from Walmart, it aint good.
__________________
You'll be in a great mood all day because you'll be slapping all your troubles away.
orange05tj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2009, 11:02 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
that is why I am thinking it is a fuse. There is one on the back of the radio too. That might have blown. Does the amp have a light on it to tell you it is on?
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2009, 11:09 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
yeah the amp has a power light indicating that it has power.

Could one fuse possibly trigger both the headunit and the amp?

That's what I am hoping for.
jayjysmth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2009, 11:11 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
So right now if you turn on the jeep the amp does not turn on? IF so then you blew a fuse or dropped a ground. Even both
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2009, 02:17 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
right, when the jeep starts up neither the amp or radio has any power.
jayjysmth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2009, 06:57 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
Yea start checking grounds on the radio and amp.
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2009, 09:49 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: australia, rockhampton
Posts: 18
ok try looking at your security wires or your remote wire they could have come loose and also inside the headunit will be a fuse if you are willing to look there your self.
in my past audio builds in car sony has been the ones to play up for no reason if you want a cheap good headunit go for like an alpine they are easy to use and worth it

toon.inc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
check engine light came on and speedo stopped working @ the same time. eric TJ General Discussion Forum 14 10-14-2013 12:05 PM
I passed! amy Communications and Electronics 38 09-19-2011 02:04 PM
Plug and Play Sirius Satellite Radio scotiez Communications and Electronics 5 02-08-2008 09:16 PM
different transmission problem greasem0nkey86 YJ Tech Forum 5 03-26-2007 03:31 PM
TJ Error codes khenderson TJ Tech Forum 3 08-19-2005 12:36 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC