Speedometer Adjustment - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > General Jeep Discussion

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-31-2013, 08:31 PM   #1
Newb
 
cush73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Speedometer Adjustment

Need some help. I just put 305/70r/17 Terra Grapplers on my Wrangler. Took it to the dealer to get the speedometer calibrated to the new tire size and they said that they couldn't adjust to that big of a tire. Really?! Can someone confirm or deny this for me? Thanks!!!

cush73 is offline   Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 08:52 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Theairhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 176
That's false. They should be able to.

Theairhead is offline   Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 10:15 PM   #3
Newb
 
cush73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theairhead View Post
That's false. They should be able to.
That's what I thought but didn't have any facts to back up my concern. Is anyone else out there running that size and was able to calibrate? If so can you give details?
cush73 is offline   Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 10:46 PM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by cush73 View Post
Need some help. I just put 305/70r/17 Terra Grapplers on my Wrangler. Took it to the dealer to get the speedometer calibrated to the new tire size and they said that they couldn't adjust to that big of a tire. Really?! Can someone confirm or deny this for me? Thanks!!!
I can't speak for all dealerships but my dealership did upon delivery of the jeep. There should be a shop near you that can help you out. That or just screw it and buy the $140 DIY option. Gd luck!
rickrob553 is offline   Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 07:13 AM   #5
Newb
 
cush73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
What's the do it yourself option?
cush73 is offline   Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 08:37 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
wassup8687's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by cush73 View Post
What's the do it yourself option?
Superchips FlashCal.
wassup8687 is offline   Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 09:05 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
jdambm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. louis, Mo
Posts: 951
Send a message via Yahoo to jdambm
Quote:
Originally Posted by cush73 View Post
What's the do it yourself option?
AEV Procal
jdambm is offline   Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 12:21 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Tweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,531
they can, but they wont. it is a liability. get a good programmer that reads codes and tunes for gears and tire sizes. I have the hypertech unit that does tire sizes, codes, and gears, but from what I hear it is pretty overpriced. It was in my glovebox of my brand new jeep when I bought it. I didnt ask questions.

Tweak is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC