Subwoofer Not Working After CD Player Installed - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > General Jeep Discussion

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-04-2011, 11:28 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
02WranglerTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 187
Subwoofer Not Working After CD Player Installed

Recently put in an aftermarket radio in my TJ sounded ok, but it seemed like the factory sub was hardly working did I miss something?? I got frustrated and put the stock radio back in and the sub was back. Any ideas?

02WranglerTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-05-2011, 12:00 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Schwheelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: tulsa, ok
Posts: 695
Is there a gain anywhere for your sub?

Schwheelz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-05-2011, 12:46 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Metro Detroit Michigan
Posts: 37
Ok, lets start with the easy stuff first: On the newer aftermarket radios they have pre-set sound (rock, pop, jazz etc.) did you adjust it to where the subwoofer could be heard? Also you can shut-off those pre set sounds and you can manually adjust the bass, mid highs. What about the fade and balance on the radio. Try fading most or all the sound to the back and see if you can hear the sub.

Now the hard stuff or more time consuming: When you got your aftermarket radio, did you let the retailer know you have the factory subwoofer? The wiring harness for aftermarkets might not include wiring for subwoofers/extra speakers/ premium sound unless you specifically tell them so you can get the proper harness. I hope that helps. Keep us updated if you find a solution.
jeff-jeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-05-2011, 06:20 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
rbloodhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Crowville Louisiana
Posts: 450
Make sure that the amp controll wire is hooked up. Mine didn't work until I hooked it into the harness
__________________
Robert
05 TJ unlimited, Slightly Modified
http://s183.photobucket.com/home/aaoffroad/index
rbloodhound is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-05-2011, 07:51 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
DKarge87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 249
Send a message via AIM to DKarge87
I think the power antenna wire is the amp on for the TJ
Installing aftermarket Radio in TJ write up
DKarge87 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-05-2011, 11:00 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
02WranglerTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwheelz View Post
Is there a gain anywhere for your sub?
No gain, it's a factory sub.
02WranglerTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-06-2011, 12:31 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
02WranglerTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 187
I'm trying to look it up now.....doesn't seem like a different harness for radio with factory sub?
02WranglerTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-06-2011, 01:52 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Metro Detroit Michigan
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02WranglerTJ View Post
I'm trying to look it up now.....doesn't seem like a different harness for radio with factory sub?
BTW did you manually change the bass, mids, high on the aftermarket radio? What about the fade? Did you try to fade to front speakers so only the back could be heard (Testing purposes). btw did this jeep come with a premium sound system (infinity)? If so, you might need a wire harness to compensate for the premium sound system.

I'm sorry if this sounds stupid, I'm just brainstorming ideas and typing them so just maybe one would work for you. I tried to put an aftermarket radio in a Town and Country mini-van and the way Chrysler wired the radio was weird. The radio would turn on but no sound. It took hours until I found a forum that gave me ideas to try. Please keep us updated.
jeff-jeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-06-2011, 01:59 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
02WranglerTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff-jeep View Post
BTW did you manually change the bass, mids, high on the aftermarket radio? What about the fade? Did you try to fade to front speakers so only the back could be heard (Testing purposes). btw did this jeep come with a premium sound system (infinity)? If so, you might need a wire harness to compensate for the premium sound system.

I'm sorry if this sounds stupid, I'm just brainstorming ideas and typing them so just maybe one would work for you. I tried to put an aftermarket radio in a Town and Country mini-van and the way Chrysler wired the radio was weird. The radio would turn on but no sound. It took hours until I found a forum that gave me ideas to try. Please keep us updated.
Yup cranked the bass up, checked the fade, and balance nada. Yup faded front and back too. Don't think it came with an infinity sound system, is there something that would indicate that?
02WranglerTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-06-2011, 12:17 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Metro Detroit Michigan
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02WranglerTJ View Post
Yup cranked the bass up, checked the fade, and balance nada. Yup faded front and back too. Don't think it came with an infinity sound system, is there something that would indicate that?
use Crutchfield's website and put your info in before you installed the aftermarket system. They ask how many speakers there are and if it's an infinity system. I don't own a Jeep Wrangler but I do know something about sound systems. Sometimes the stock radio would say Infinity on it. I tried to install an aftermarket radio in a Cadillac and found out the wire harness I had wasn't the right one because they had a Bose system in it. Wasn't my fault, my sister got the harness for her car but Best Buy didn't ask if it had a premium sound system. Also it wasn't labeled on the radio.

The only thing I can think of is since it has a factory subwoofer it could have a factory amplifier that you might have to by-pass. Maybe this forum can answer that for you. If not, the service department at a dealership should know. Good luck.
jeff-jeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-06-2011, 12:29 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Metro Detroit Michigan
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff-jeep View Post
use Crutchfield's website and put your info in before you installed the aftermarket system. They ask how many speakers there are and if it's an infinity system. I don't own a Jeep Wrangler but I do know something about sound systems. Sometimes the stock radio would say Infinity on it. I tried to install an aftermarket radio in a Cadillac and found out the wire harness I had wasn't the right one because they had a Bose system in it. Wasn't my fault, my sister got the harness for her car but Best Buy didn't ask if it had a premium sound system. Also it wasn't labeled on the radio.

The only thing I can think of is since it has a factory subwoofer it could have a factory amplifier that you might have to by-pass. Maybe this forum can answer that for you. If not, the service department at a dealership should know. Good luck.

If it does have a factory amp for the subwoofer and the existing harness you have for the aftermarket radio plugs into the Wrangler's harness you have a couple of options: 1. get the right harness that will by-pass the factory amp 2. Disconnect the subwoofer from the factory harness and route speaker wires from your aftermarket radio to your subwoofer. You might want use a low/sub passive crossover. That will cut out the mids and highs going to your factory subwoofer.

Like I said, I'm just brainstorming ideas and typing them out. I hope it helps. It makes it easier if I was there so I could see it and hear it though.
jeff-jeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-06-2011, 06:29 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
rbloodhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Crowville Louisiana
Posts: 450
I'll pull my radio in a little while and take pics for you.
__________________
Robert
05 TJ unlimited, Slightly Modified
http://s183.photobucket.com/home/aaoffroad/index
rbloodhound is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-06-2011, 09:16 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
rbloodhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Crowville Louisiana
Posts: 450
Here's the pics. The blue wire with the white stripe splices into the amp remote wire coming off of your radio. Mine is blue on my pioneer.

Here is the adapter that I have. The universal jeep dodge adapter.
__________________
Robert
05 TJ unlimited, Slightly Modified
http://s183.photobucket.com/home/aaoffroad/index
rbloodhound is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-06-2011, 09:19 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Schwheelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: tulsa, ok
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02WranglerTJ

Yup cranked the bass up, checked the fade, and balance nada. Yup faded front and back too. Don't think it came with an infinity sound system, is there something that would indicate that?
Do you have a voltmeter? Test the sub to see if theres power going to it. If there is, then theres something wrong with the deck if there isnt, you need to get a wiring harness or check your wiring harness for a secure connection
Schwheelz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 11:25 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
02WranglerTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwheelz View Post
Do you have a voltmeter? Test the sub to see if theres power going to it. If there is, then theres something wrong with the deck if there isnt, you need to get a wiring harness or check your wiring harness for a secure connection
Yup.....there's power going to it with the factory head unit. I've tried already 2 different aftermarket radios still nothing, the only spare wire i had was for the dimmer switch otherwise everything is hooked up on the harness. I asked best buy and checked crutchfield, it's just 1 harness nothing special.
02WranglerTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2014, 11:11 AM   #16
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
I would like to revive this thread... as it is the only one I've found that is dealing with my issue.

I did the same. There are no extra wires to play with and the sub is getting power....

If someone could re-up those photos above that may be beneficial...

Thanks for the help.
jerkjone is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2014, 02:48 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
02WranglerTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 187
I ended up running a wire from the remote wire from the head unit to the amp and that solved the problem.

02WranglerTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jensen in dash dvd player JCS05Rubi Communications and Electronics 43 07-17-2007 09:01 PM
Wiring for Subwoofer and Amp?... lap49X Communications and Electronics 14 06-14-2007 02:09 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC