Site speed??? - Page 3 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > Community Forums > WF Site Help & Support

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-14-2013, 12:28 AM   #61
War Damn Eagle

WF Supporting Member
 
gixxerphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, Al
Posts: 25,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevCo666 View Post

Try using TOR browser

https://www.torproject.org/
It only happens at work, I'll try it Sunday when I get back.

__________________
gixxerphil is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2013, 12:32 AM   #62
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerphil View Post
It only happens at work, I'll try it Sunday when I get back.
Cool, not sure if you've used TOR before but its nice that it doesnt require installation... Just run the exe and your off... Tho you might have to enable some plug-in's that might be site related but let me know if you need a hand!

RevCo666 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2013, 09:41 AM   #63
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 431
Images: 1
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
Hey Everyone,

Its Helena

So the issue is with IE. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do to fix it. It is up to IE. My suggestion is to either use another browser OR see if you can down grade your IE to the not so latest version. It is something with their most recent upgrades that are the issue.
HelenaAG is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-16-2013, 06:43 AM   #64
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Don't Mess with Texas
Posts: 10
Some of you die hard Internet Explorer users may solve some issues by reading this information.
Internet Explorer 8 Problems: How to Fix and Repair IE 8 When it Hangs or Freezes
__________________
Jim
2008 Fleetwood DP Motorhome occasionally pushed by a 2005 Wrangler Sport
Elkhartjim is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 04:10 AM   #65
BAP
Jeeper
 
BAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,807
excuse my ignorance but what is ie ? im still running so slow for so long that i have had just about enough,,im not that savy about computers---im really a low tech.guy living in a high tech. world and when it comes to this stuff i have no idea how to fix this...---i love this web site and it use to be my go to forum but not anymore getting to read about 1 post per visit because of how slow it is..very aggravating...

i really want this fixed, i miss the old wf when i could set on here for a couple hours in the morning before work and then a few more hours in the evening after work to unwind from the day....and read and post ...

please help........thanks
__________________
4inch suspension lift,3inch body lift,4.0 5 speed,8.8 with disc,s,16inch moto metal rims ,and some 35s..
with trail rash..and getting 25mpg,s
BAP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 04:16 AM   #66
War Damn Eagle

WF Supporting Member
 
gixxerphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, Al
Posts: 25,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by BAP View Post
excuse my ignorance but what is ie ? im still running so slow for so long that i have had just about enough,,im not that savy about computers---im really a low tech.guy living in a high tech. world and when it comes to this stuff i have no idea how to fix this...---i love this web site and it use to be my go to forum but not anymore getting to read about 1 post per visit because of how slow it is..very aggravating...

i really want this fixed, i miss the old wf when i could set on here for a couple hours in the morning before work and then a few more hours in the evening after work to unwind from the day....and read and post ...

please help........thanks

IE= Internet Explorer

I miss the old WF too, it seems(and it may be coincidence) like this has just been a problem since it was bought by the bigger company
__________________
gixxerphil is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 05:23 AM   #67
BAP
Jeeper
 
BAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,807
ie=intrnet explorer,,,thanks--makes since now--lol

yea im getting to really hate how slow it is, almost not worth logging onto, my old nerves just cant take it..

thanks again...
__________________
4inch suspension lift,3inch body lift,4.0 5 speed,8.8 with disc,s,16inch moto metal rims ,and some 35s..
with trail rash..and getting 25mpg,s
BAP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 07:01 AM   #68
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Don't Mess with Texas
Posts: 10
Andy R owns Social Knowledge Communities ( Social Knowledge | Online Community Network ) which this forum is a part of. They have resolved the IE issue on most other SKC owned forums just not sure why/when they will resolve the IE conflict problem on the JW forum.
It may be as simple as there aren't as many regular users on this forum as on others. More users=greater advertising revenue.
__________________
Jim
2008 Fleetwood DP Motorhome occasionally pushed by a 2005 Wrangler Sport
Elkhartjim is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 04:51 PM   #69
BAP
Jeeper
 
BAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,807
thanks for the insite,,,i sure hope they hurry up and get to us...
and i thought we had a pretty big forum here with alot of great adds.....

thanks again jim, for keeping us updated...
__________________
4inch suspension lift,3inch body lift,4.0 5 speed,8.8 with disc,s,16inch moto metal rims ,and some 35s..
with trail rash..and getting 25mpg,s
BAP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 09:58 PM   #70
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hurricane, UT
Posts: 7,745
I just posted, and what popped up in the sidebar? Farmville, are you Effing kidding me?

FarmVille 2 on Facebook | Facebook
CrazyBull is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:04 PM   #71
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainynite View Post
I just posted, and what popped up in the sidebar? Farmville, are you Effing kidding me?

FarmVille 2 on Facebook | Facebook
I use my stock android tablet browser and firefox with appropriate pluggin' and NEVER get pop ups. Check your setup mac.
RevCo666 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:07 PM   #72
War Damn Eagle

WF Supporting Member
 
gixxerphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, Al
Posts: 25,920
Its doing it again, and before you tell me to change my browser, I can't ( work computer)
__________________
gixxerphil is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:08 PM   #73
Newb
 
Chocolamelk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
I use the iOS app only now, Firefox and chrome don't ever work well for me for some reason.
Chocolamelk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:10 PM   #74
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerphil View Post
Its doing it again, and before you tell me to change my browser, I can't ( work computer)
(shurgs) i use to work tech support for an Internet company a while back. Could be your server/net connection. Bring a laptop to your work if u got one and test it out.
RevCo666 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:15 PM   #75
War Damn Eagle

WF Supporting Member
 
gixxerphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, Al
Posts: 25,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevCo666 View Post

(shurgs) i use to work tech support for an Internet company a while back. Could be your server/net connection. Bring a laptop to your work if u got one and test it out.
Why is it this is the only site?
I can get on Pirate, Expo, Steel Soldiers, Wranglerboard, etc

I was able to download Google chrome without an admin password, we'll see if I get caught
__________________
gixxerphil is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:20 PM   #76
War Damn Eagle

WF Supporting Member
 
gixxerphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, Al
Posts: 25,920
Chrome seems to be working, but it is very slow.... at least it loads after a minute or two
__________________
gixxerphil is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:20 PM   #77
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerphil View Post
Why is it this is the only site?
I can get on Pirate, Expo, Steel Soldiers, Wranglerboard, etc

I was able to download Google chrome without an admin password, we'll see if I get caught
I would recommend TOR over anything else if your on a secured work computer. there is no installation required. Just run it and thats it. And the best is that it leave no trace where as anything you install the traditional way does.

Wish I could apply to be an administrator/tech support for this site
RevCo666 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:29 PM   #78
War Damn Eagle

WF Supporting Member
 
gixxerphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, Al
Posts: 25,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevCo666 View Post

I would recommend TOR over anything else if your on a secured work computer. there is no installation required. Just run it and thats it. And the best is that it leave no trace where as anything you install the traditional way does.

Wish I could apply to be an administrator/tech support for this site
All proxies have been blocked

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130317_222857.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	124.4 KB
ID:	224212
__________________
gixxerphil is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:34 PM   #79
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerphil View Post
All proxies have been blocked

Attachment 224212
That was using TOR? Your server/net is supper picky lol
RevCo666 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:38 PM   #80
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerphil View Post
All proxies have been blocked

Attachment 224212
All I can say at this point is download it from home, put it on a USB stick and copy it to your work computer.
RevCo666 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:51 PM   #81
War Damn Eagle

WF Supporting Member
 
gixxerphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, Al
Posts: 25,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevCo666 View Post

All I can say at this point is download it from home, put it on a USB stick and copy it to your work computer.
Chrome works, but it takes at least a minute to load: banghead: I thought by supporting the site, it helped deal with it
__________________
gixxerphil is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 10:58 PM   #82
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerphil View Post
Chrome works, but it takes at least a minute to load: banghead: I thought by supporting the site, it helped deal with it
Well atleast something works for ya, but would you entertain the thought of trying TOR? I'm thinking your security is giving you a hard time because of the amount of cookies that need to be sent to your system at work, as a result its possible that's the issue at hand and the other sites you visit may not push as much... (just guessing...)
RevCo666 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 11:02 PM   #83
War Damn Eagle

WF Supporting Member
 
gixxerphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, Al
Posts: 25,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevCo666 View Post

Well atleast something works for ya, but would you entertain the thought of trying TOR? I'm thinking your security is giving you a hard time because of the amount of cookies that need to be sent to your system at work, as a result its possible that's the issue at hand and the other sites you visit may not push as much... (just guessing...)
I have no clue how to put it on a flash drive or whatever it's called
I work in a hospital....I know people
__________________
gixxerphil is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 11:10 PM   #84
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hurricane, UT
Posts: 7,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevCo666 View Post
I use my stock android tablet browser and firefox with appropriate pluggin' and NEVER get pop ups. Check your setup mac.
Pardon, you had to read it right. It wasn't a popup ad, it was one of those stupid Ads that WF Plants smack dab on its ad bar. My bad on use of wordage. Right there with 4x4 parts, Quadratec, and now..Farmville..Also right now Equifax and Bank of America.
CrazyBull is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-17-2013, 11:16 PM   #85
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainynite View Post
Pardon, you had to read it right. It wasn't a popup ad, it was one of those stupid Ads that WF Plants smack dab on its ad bar. My bad on use of wordage. Right there with 4x4 parts, Quadratec, and now..Farmville..Also right now Equifax and Bank of America.
My apologies... Carry on ranting lol
RevCo666 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-18-2013, 06:51 AM   #86
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 431
Images: 1
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainynite View Post
Pardon, you had to read it right. It wasn't a popup ad, it was one of those stupid Ads that WF Plants smack dab on its ad bar. My bad on use of wordage. Right there with 4x4 parts, Quadratec, and now..Farmville..Also right now Equifax and Bank of America.
The ads on this site are google ads. We don't choose what comes up, in fact you and your computer does most of the choosing. The reason you see those ads is because someone using your computer has visited sites that relate to those items. Farmville > someone is wither playing it or you are on facebook a lot. bank of amarica. I assume you do banking on line, even if that is not your bank. The other way ads get pulled is by site content. You start talking about pink bunnies you will probably get an ad for pink bunnies. Right now that bar for me says ... jeep wrangler.....new jeep charokee....used jeep rubicon... jeep tires.
HelenaAG is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-18-2013, 07:01 AM   #87
Administrator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 431
Images: 1
Send a message via MSN to HelenaAG
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerphil View Post
All proxies have been blocked

Attachment 224212
I have bad news for you.

looks like your work is blocking our site. Everything you are showing us in screen shots is a block screen. Your work is restricting your access to the site. Not the site. The "barracuda" name you see in some of the error messages is a type of program that blocks websites from a work access point.

SO looks like you need to watch out at work. They are probably restricting the amount of time you are on the site for. Hence it working sometimes.
HelenaAG is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-18-2013, 10:31 AM   #88
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,631
There are ways around unwanted advertising: Try using pluggin's/extentions/add-on's that actually tell companies not to track you. There are alot of 3rd party warez out there that DO work.

Here's some I use for Firefox as example: ADBlock Plus 2.2.3, DoNotTrackMe 2.2.6.110

EI does support the same extentions as well, something I wanted to point out. Also, there are settings in Google itself that you can turn off in order to to be bombarded by advertising. Keeping a clean system, deleting your cookies helps too. In a stock Android Tablet brower, its more limited but there are settings that block Pop up's as well. I'm not trying to pose as an expert but I find alot of folks on this forum complain about things they CAN do something about. If your still not sure, invite a computer geek/friend over for an evening
RevCo666 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-19-2013, 04:33 AM   #89
War Damn Eagle

WF Supporting Member
 
gixxerphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auburn, Al
Posts: 25,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenaAG View Post
I have bad news for you.

looks like your work is blocking our site. Everything you are showing us in screen shots is a block screen. Your work is restricting your access to the site. Not the site. The "barracuda" name you see in some of the error messages is a type of program that blocks websites from a work access point.

SO looks like you need to watch out at work. They are probably restricting the amount of time you are on the site for. Hence it working sometimes.

That screen was from me trying to go to a proxy site. It doesn't happen all the time at work, just random times throughout the early part of the night. It even happened on one of the Dr's PC's tonight....they have no blocks on their PC's. I was able to download chrome and it still takes a while sometimes.......could my work be blocking my access randomly? I ask b/c we don't have IT support through the night, if something happens, we have to call them at home.

I must say tonight was a lot better than previous nights, it was only down for about 2 hrs
__________________
gixxerphil is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-20-2013, 08:07 AM   #90
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Don't Mess with Texas
Posts: 10
Being a retired small business owner, if I had an employee(s) spending enough time on the internet to know when a non-work related forum was down for "about 2 hours" I would probably do more than block access to the internet.

Just my opinion and of course others may have a different viewpoint.

__________________
Jim
2008 Fleetwood DP Motorhome occasionally pushed by a 2005 Wrangler Sport
Elkhartjim is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC