Spamming bots? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > Community Forums > WF Site Help & Support

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-16-2009, 06:01 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
catsknr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Carson City NV
Posts: 42
Spamming bots?

Hi, I signed up on this forum yesterday ( maybe early this morning) and when I did, there was a Ford ad on top. Now I am getting Ford advertisements in my email. I never got them before now, kinda makes me wonder if the reason the ford ad loaded so slow was because it was "gathering" information from the forum users.
Hmmmmm, very, very interesting.

Edit: Top of email reads, "You recently registered with a network website and opted in to receive special online offers.
To no longer receive messages, please use this link to remove your subscription."

I think the Admin. should check into this and file a complaint with FOMOCO.
Wonder what other information they can get. Hope I dont start getting Chevy, or dodge ads next.

__________________
/l ,[____],
l-L -OlllllllO-

()_)-()_)-o-)_)

Just Empty Every Pocket
catsknr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-16-2009, 06:40 PM   #2
delicate %$^&*@ flower

WF Lifetime Member
 
tiny terror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: California
Posts: 14,753
Thanks for posting up about this. I'm not sure it has anything to do with WF but the admin team will check out the possibility.

tiny terror is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-16-2009, 07:30 PM   #3
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,629
What ads? I don't see any ads.
AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-17-2009, 02:18 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
catsknr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Carson City NV
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzTJ View Post
What ads? I don't see any ads.
Ok so tell me, how did you go about setting your browser to skip the slow loading ads?
__________________
/l ,[____],
l-L -OlllllllO-

()_)-()_)-o-)_)

Just Empty Every Pocket
catsknr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-17-2009, 02:20 AM   #5
Jack Lives Here!!!

WF Supporting Member
 
1BLKJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,764
I know you have received some PM's from mods, but believe me when we say that WF has never and will never sell member information to any 3rd party for any reason what so ever. We have built this community based on the trust of the users that participate on our forum. We will never do anything to disavow that trust from you.

We are looking into this situation at every level. Just for my own curiosity will you please forward the messages you received to 1blkjp@gmail.com? I want to see if there is anything we can garner from it.
__________________
Thanks,
Jack Hickman

President - Arizona Off-Highway Vehicle Coalition
Vice-President - ASA4WDC
Arizona Rock Rats
1BLKJP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-17-2009, 02:43 AM   #6
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by catsknr View Post
Ok so tell me, how did you go about setting your browser to skip the slow loading ads?
Ad Blocker Plus for FireFox.
AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-17-2009, 11:29 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
catsknr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Carson City NV
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzTJ View Post
Ad Blocker Plus for FireFox.
I have FireFox, even updated to ver.3.0.11, still cant find Ad Blocker Plus. Did a search and the only thing that came up was a "stumbling" program.
I hope that you will enlighten me on the ABP.
__________________
/l ,[____],
l-L -OlllllllO-

()_)-()_)-o-)_)

Just Empty Every Pocket
catsknr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-17-2009, 12:37 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
catsknr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Carson City NV
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1BLKJP View Post
I know you have received some PM's from mods, but believe me when we say that WF has never and will never sell member information to any 3rd party for any reason what so ever. We have built this community based on the trust of the users that participate on our forum. We will never do anything to disavow that trust from you.

We are looking into this situation at every level. Just for my own curiosity will you please forward the messages you received to 1blkjp@gmail.com? I want to see if there is anything we can garner from it.
Dont get me wrong, I dont believe that WF or any forum would go so low as to sell member information. I just thought it odd that the Ford banner was loading so slow, to the point of locking up for a few seconds, and after the email I received, thought that there could of been some kind of information gathering bot being transferred. I guess i should of posted or at least saved the email, too late now as I marked it as spam and it was removed.
__________________
/l ,[____],
l-L -OlllllllO-

()_)-()_)-o-)_)

Just Empty Every Pocket
catsknr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-17-2009, 06:59 PM   #9
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by catsknr View Post
I have FireFox, even updated to ver.3.0.11, still cant find Ad Blocker Plus. Did a search and the only thing that came up was a "stumbling" program.
I hope that you will enlighten me on the ABP.
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1865
AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2009, 05:35 AM   #10
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,890
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzTJ View Post
I just installed it. How do you block flash player ads? As in the one at the top of this page. It doesn't give me the option to block it.
Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2009, 03:28 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
catsknr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Carson City NV
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote_94yj View Post
I just installed it. How do you block flash player ads? As in the one at the top of this page. It doesn't give me the option to block it.
right click on it and a screen will appear, then take it from there.
Works FANTASTIC. Thank you AzTJ!!!!
__________________
/l ,[____],
l-L -OlllllllO-

()_)-()_)-o-)_)

Just Empty Every Pocket
catsknr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2009, 04:19 PM   #12
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,890
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by catsknr View Post
right click on it and a screen will appear, then take it from there.
Works FANTASTIC. Thank you AzTJ!!!!
On the flash player type ads there isn't an adblock option. There is on normal ads though.

See.

Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-19-2009, 12:54 AM   #13
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,629
Click on the drop down next to the ABP in the tool bar, and under options, make sure "Show tabs on Flash And Java". This will give you a small semi-transparent tab that says "Block".
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ABP.gif
Views:	5
Size:	15.7 KB
ID:	9801  
AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-19-2009, 12:55 AM   #14
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by catsknr View Post
right click on it and a screen will appear, then take it from there.
Works FANTASTIC. Thank you AzTJ!!!!
You are very welcome, and you can now start enjoying the internet again.
AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-19-2009, 01:29 AM   #15
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,890
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzTJ View Post
Click on the drop down next to the ABP in the tool bar, and under options, make sure "Show tabs on Flash And Java". This will give you a small semi-transparent tab that says "Block".
K. I just did that. Where is this semi transparent tab supposed to appear?
Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-21-2009, 07:16 PM   #16
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote_94yj View Post
K. I just did that. Where is this semi transparent tab supposed to appear?
Should be in the top right corner of the flash. Be sure you have the latest version of firefox.

AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC