ANyone ever install the ARB Twin CKMTA12? - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-05-2014, 08:01 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
scottmphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rhododendron, OR
Posts: 896
ANyone ever install the ARB Twin CKMTA12?

Hey everyone -

So I mounted the compressor and ran the power.

That was apparently the easy part.

All I have now is one switch to run into the cabin and about 500 connections I have to make and figure out.

I am not an electrical engineer, so any help is super appreciated.

Scott

__________________
Check out my blog - Offroadvegan!

2013 Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited Billet "Frank the Tank"

IG: OR_JEEP_LIFE
scottmphoto is offline   Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 08:41 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottmphoto View Post
Hey everyone -

So I mounted the compressor and ran the power.

That was apparently the easy part.

All I have now is one switch to run into the cabin and about 500 connections I have to make and figure out.

I am not an electrical engineer, so any help is super appreciated.

Scott
The wiring harnesses come ready for air lockers. If you're not connecting to air lockers then you'll have a bunch of extra wires. I cut the extra wires out, but you can just leave them (easier since everything is taped together). Follow the diagram that ARB sent for wiring the switch, it's all color coded. Then just cable tie the extra wires out of the way somewhere.

__________________
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads"
- Doc Brown, Back to the Future
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 08:50 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottmphoto View Post
Hey everyone -

So I mounted the compressor and ran the power.

That was apparently the easy part.

All I have now is one switch to run into the cabin and about 500 connections I have to make and figure out.

I am not an electrical engineer, so any help is super appreciated.

Scott
There was one connection to the switch that's supposed to tap into a wire in the Jeep that's on when the switch is on (blue I think). I just wired that to a switch on my spod. So I flip the SPOD on then the ARB switch and rock and roll.

There's also a connection that is supposed to tap into to a wire that's on when the jeeps headlights are on (red/yellow striped I think), I guess to backlight the switch at night. I skipped this and didn't make that connection, not required to run the compressor. The location I put the switch there's no benefit to lighting at night (tucked out of sight) so I saved myself the trouble.
__________________
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads"
- Doc Brown, Back to the Future
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 08:58 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
scottmphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rhododendron, OR
Posts: 896
Thanks!

Maybe I am just an idiot but man I cannot figure out that wiring diagram to save my life...
__________________
Check out my blog - Offroadvegan!

2013 Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited Billet "Frank the Tank"

IG: OR_JEEP_LIFE
scottmphoto is offline   Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 09:12 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottmphoto View Post
Thanks!

Maybe I am just an idiot but man I cannot figure out that wiring diagram to save my life...
The diagram is a lot to look at. It's set up for wiring three switches in case you have air lockers. Put the switch with the metal connectors facing you and you can just trace each terminal on the "isolation switch" to where it needs to go and do one at a time and ignore everything about the switch1/2. Bit easier to bite off that way.

If you're ever in madison wi stop by and I'll help
__________________
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads"
- Doc Brown, Back to the Future
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 09:19 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottmphoto View Post
Thanks!

Maybe I am just an idiot but man I cannot figure out that wiring diagram to save my life...
If you're still stuck on it middle of this week let me know and I'll try to get a picture of mine or draw a simplified diagram and PM you. I'm headed out of town for work but I'm back Wed, or I'd send something sooner.
__________________
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads"
- Doc Brown, Back to the Future
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 09:56 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
scottmphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rhododendron, OR
Posts: 896
Awesome man, thanks. I'll try your idea of eliminating options tomorrow. Good idea!
__________________
Check out my blog - Offroadvegan!

2013 Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited Billet "Frank the Tank"

IG: OR_JEEP_LIFE
scottmphoto is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 10:06 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 405
Hope this helps - I installed the single ARB compressor but I assume the wiring is the same.

The two black wires go to the negative terminal on the battery.

Red goes to the pressure switch.

I wired the blue-white wire (see which switch terminal in my pic) to my SPOD as the "wire that's wired to the ignition". I can't remember if the instructions had the blue/white or the red/yellow but I only wire one so it didn't really matter to me. I'm sure it's not too hard to find a wire to tap into but wiring to the SPOD instead was a piece of cake.

The plastic harness with male/female quick disconnects; I think it was color coded; so that was pretty straight forward.

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	231
Size:	210.7 KB
ID:	647241
__________________
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads"
- Doc Brown, Back to the Future
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 10:32 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
scottmphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rhododendron, OR
Posts: 896
Thank you!!!! I am going to make this my goal for later today and will report back!

Scott
__________________
Check out my blog - Offroadvegan!

2013 Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited Billet "Frank the Tank"

IG: OR_JEEP_LIFE
scottmphoto is offline   Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 10:53 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
scottmphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rhododendron, OR
Posts: 896
Perry -

Which ignition wire did you splice into????
__________________
Check out my blog - Offroadvegan!

2013 Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited Billet "Frank the Tank"

IG: OR_JEEP_LIFE
scottmphoto is offline   Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 10:54 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
scottmphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rhododendron, OR
Posts: 896
Nevermind, forgot you had an SPOD...
__________________
Check out my blog - Offroadvegan!

2013 Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited Billet "Frank the Tank"

IG: OR_JEEP_LIFE
scottmphoto is offline   Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 01:32 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
tiger3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 302
I just installed my CKSA12. I had the puzzle about the dashboard dimmer wire. I was able to tap into the orange w/ grey stripe wire that comes from my mirror adjustment lever. If you pull the lower part of the dash off where the A/C controls are at. You can remove the plug going to the mirror controller then find in the plug where the orange w/ grey wire is then insert the blue and white wire to test. Turn your lights on and operate the dimmer to test if the lower light on the switch lights up. If so you have the right wire and can use a clip on tap. (not sure what they are called) This prevents you from actually having to cut the wire.
Hope this helps!

Here is my set up. sorry no pictures of the wires.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ARBinstall.jpg
Views:	2704
Size:	188.3 KB
ID:	650937
__________________
Regards,
Brad
tiger3 is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 09:08 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
mastrcruse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 949
I'm bringing this up because I just bought one and wanted to ensure I wore this correctly. There is switch 1, switch 2 and the isolation switch. I don't have lockers so I only should be concerned with the isolation switch correct? Guessing the isolation switch is the on/off and the other 2 are for lockers.
__________________
'14 Anvil JKU Sport S | RK 3.5" X factor | 18" Rugged Ridge wheels w/ rock rings| 325/65-18 Duratracs| Rancho 9000xl| Grade 8 bolt upgrade| PSC diff covers|Rancho steering stabilizer| Bestop twill supertop| PSC Brawler Lite with brawler bar front bumper| Warn Zeon 12| tatas Prolink| Posion Spyder body mounted tire carrier| PS Crusher Corners| LED rear/reverse lights
mastrcruse is offline   Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 01:20 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
WildpeakJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Sammamish WA
Posts: 57
If you get stuck and it's during the week call ARB in seattle and ask for the tech department. Those guys can walk you through it as they know the systems back and forth and have done plenty of installs on JK's as well.

WildpeakJeep is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
arb , compressor , pita , wiring

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC