Backup camera options for 430 (non-N) - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-19-2013, 11:53 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11
Backup camera options for 430 (non-N)

So I'm finally back to Jeep land after a 6 year absence! Got my Hydro blue Freedom Unlimited on Sat. Now I need options for a backup camera. The one place I went said the 430 unit had no inputs for a camera.

Thanks.

toddbluefreedom is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-19-2013, 08:25 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
the www.navtool.com , it works great on my 430 radio

wrangler4eva is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-19-2013, 10:55 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 2,134
Think about any adverse effects it may have on your factory warranty if you add an aftermarket backup camera. I was going to add one on our 2013 Sahara with 430N but now I'm having second thoughts.
RoadiJeff is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-20-2013, 08:42 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 231
What kind of adverse affects? I would say if anything is voided at all (and it would have to come from a shitty dealer), it would be on the radio. Nothing else would be harmed by a malfunctioning or shorted rear camera. IMO, Jeep should have them on all the wranglers due to the limited rear visibility anyways.
Im definately putting a rear camera on my JK when my 430N arrives.
simadownow6988 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-20-2013, 08:44 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 231
to the OP, the 430 should still have the C3 plug for the camera inputs. The Grand Cherokee has a standard 430 with backup camera. The 430N is optional.
simadownow6988 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-20-2013, 09:12 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
stroked250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrangler4eva View Post
the www.navtool.com , it works great on my 430 radio
It's an option, but you don't need it. Plug the camera directly into the radio and have the dealer use the Starscan to activate the camera feature. It will work as OEM.

If you want to over-ride the camera and have it turn on while in motion or on command, you can use one of these adapters. I would recommend Nav-TV.
stroked250 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-20-2013, 09:15 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 2,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by simadownow6988 View Post
What kind of adverse affects?
If an electrical problem anywhere on the Jeep ever arose the dealer could claim it had to do with a power surge or something related to the aftermarket backup camera and thus void that part of the factory warranty.
RoadiJeff is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-20-2013, 09:16 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
rubisteph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 380
I have a 430N also and was wondering about rear camera .... So which one would be the best for the 430N ???
rubisteph is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-20-2013, 11:40 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
stroked250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadiJeff View Post
If an electrical problem anywhere on the Jeep ever arose the dealer could claim it had to do with a power surge or something related to the aftermarket backup camera and thus void that part of the factory warranty.
I wouldn't worry about it; unlikely scenario for many reasons. Those have been discussed all over the place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubisteph View Post
I have a 430N also and was wondering about rear camera .... So which one would be the best for the 430N ???
The 430s are designed to have camera input, there is even an option to enable. I used the MOPAR Commander camera and it works perfectly. There are cheaper options though.
stroked250 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-20-2013, 03:07 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadiJeff View Post
If an electrical problem anywhere on the Jeep ever arose the dealer could claim it had to do with a power surge or something related to the aftermarket backup camera and thus void that part of the factory warranty.
That would be real tough to prove. Especially since their electrical systems are all fused to prevent electrical problems. Anyways, real unlikely scenario unless you dont know how to wire a camera properly.
simadownow6988 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-20-2013, 03:24 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 231
This is the best and easiest way to add a camera to a 430/430N/730N:
Buy a reverse camera from any retailer (the wiring is pretty much the same across the board). I can vouch for the PAC reverse cameras since I have installed many of them without issues.
Buy a Nav-TV AllGiG A/V cable (just the cable, not the AllGiG Module). This cable will provide you the c3 connector to plug into the back of the radio and will have rca cables for camera input, ves inputs, and dvd output.
Plug the camera into the rca labeled "cam in" on the cable, ground the black wire to a proper ground source, and provide a ignition power to the camera red wire. If you provide the camera with a ignition source instead of a reverse source, the camera will not give any lag or fuzzyness when started up in reverse.
Lastly, take your Jeep to the dealership and have them activate the reverse camera feature in the radio. You should then have a factory like system.

P.S.- If you have the dealer activate the VES feature as well, you can use the VES audio/video in and dvd out rcas on the cable as well.
simadownow6988 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-20-2013, 06:44 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Artax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 73
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by simadownow6988 View Post
This is the best and easiest way to add a camera to a 430/430N/730N:
Buy a reverse camera from any retailer (the wiring is pretty much the same across the board). I can vouch for the PAC reverse cameras since I have installed many of them without issues.
Buy a Nav-TV AllGiG A/V cable (just the cable, not the AllGiG Module). This cable will provide you the c3 connector to plug into the back of the radio and will have rca cables for camera input, ves inputs, and dvd output.
Plug the camera into the rca labeled "cam in" on the cable, ground the black wire to a proper ground source, and provide a ignition power to the camera red wire. If you provide the camera with a ignition source instead of a reverse source, the camera will not give any lag or fuzzyness when started up in reverse.
Lastly, take your Jeep to the dealership and have them activate the reverse camera feature in the radio. You should then have a factory like system.

P.S.- If you have the dealer activate the VES feature as well, you can use the VES audio/video in and dvd out rcas on the cable as well.
Great info. Anybody had any issues with a dealer not willing to activate the camera or VES features? I would love to throw in some headrest monitors for the kids and a backup camera. Might have to call around before springing for the components to see if they are willing.
Artax is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-21-2013, 06:34 AM   #13
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11
Thanks for the info guys. So, if I just want to add the camera I can and just have a dealer do the starscan? If I want to be able to use the dvd in motion as well, I need to buy the Nav-TV cable as well?
toddbluefreedom is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-21-2013, 09:44 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
stroked250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddbluefreedom View Post
Thanks for the info guys. So, if I just want to add the camera I can and just have a dealer do the starscan? If I want to be able to use the dvd in motion as well, I need to buy the Nav-TV cable as well?
Correct. And the Nav-Tv install couldn't be easier!
stroked250 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-21-2013, 11:02 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 2,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by simadownow6988 View Post
That would be real tough to prove. Especially since their electrical systems are all fused to prevent electrical problems. Anyways, real unlikely scenario unless you dont know how to wire a camera properly.
With the CANbus and all the electronics talking to each other, any electrical aftermarket add-ons most certainly can affect other systems.

In one of my Chrysler vehicles a few years ago I had added a backup camera via a Lockpick to the MyGIG nav radio. About two years later, seemingly unrelated things started happening - the Traction Control light would come on and stay on for extended periods, the ABS light would come on for no reason, the transmission would go into limp mode until I turned the car off and waited several minutes before starting it again, the remote start frequently would not work, etc.

I finally dropped it off at the dealer while I was still able to drive it. After several days of diagnostic troubleshooting and over $1,500 they determined that it was being caused by feedback from the Lockpick. After it was unplugged the problems never returned.

Mine was out of warranty when all this happened. If some aftermarket backup camera and related accessories are installed and an electrical problem pops up under warranty you can bet that the dealer will try to blame it on those add-ons.
RoadiJeff is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-21-2013, 11:28 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
stroked250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadiJeff View Post
With the CANbus and all the electronics talking to each other, any electrical aftermarket add-ons most certainly can affect other systems.

In one of my Chrysler vehicles a few years ago I had added a backup camera via a Lockpick to the MyGIG nav radio. About two years later, seemingly unrelated things started happening - the Traction Control light would come on and stay on for extended periods, the ABS light would come on for no reason, the transmission would go into limp mode until I turned the car off and waited several minutes before starting it again, the remote start frequently would not work, etc.

I finally dropped it off at the dealer while I was still able to drive it. After several days of diagnostic troubleshooting and over $1,500 they determined that it was being caused by feedback from the Lockpick. After it was unplugged the problems never returned.

Mine was out of warranty when all this happened. If some aftermarket backup camera and related accessories are installed and an electrical problem pops up under warranty you can bet that the dealer will try to blame it on those add-ons.
Why didn't you just remove that before paying $1,500 to the dealer? It won't void your warranty, all these devices do are edit specific signals on the CANBUS; you aren't going to "fry" anything.

The dealer isn't blaming it out of haste; it's logical. "Dealer" claims don't exactly work as you are thinking. It's a give-and-take relationship with customers and the mfg. And in your case it was the issue; it's not the dealers fault they wasted everyones time on a device that was plugged in aftermarket.
stroked250 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-21-2013, 12:21 PM   #17
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,725
Images: 13
I have Lockpick V.5 in my 430rbz (non-nav).

No issues so far, but I have read a couple of stories about older model Lockpicks acting up after awhile. Of those stories, they all said the same thing. They unhooked it, and everything was fine again.

So for me, it is one of those items I know to check for right off the bat if something ever did happen.

But I have not heard any issues with newer Lockpicks yet.

Regardless...there are severaly ways to add a back-up camera....and anything you add anything aftermarket, you will have to take into account any possible warranty impact.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-21-2013, 12:54 PM   #18
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11
Is it obvious on the back of the radio where the camera lead will plug in?
toddbluefreedom is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-21-2013, 04:23 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddbluefreedom View Post
Is it obvious on the back of the radio where the camera lead will plug in?
Not unless you have the correct harness as I stated above. Its integrated in the 22 pin C3 connector.
simadownow6988 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-21-2013, 04:27 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadiJeff View Post
With the CANbus and all the electronics talking to each other, any electrical aftermarket add-ons most certainly can affect other systems.

In one of my Chrysler vehicles a few years ago I had added a backup camera via a Lockpick to the MyGIG nav radio. About two years later, seemingly unrelated things started happening - the Traction Control light would come on and stay on for extended periods, the ABS light would come on for no reason, the transmission would go into limp mode until I turned the car off and waited several minutes before starting it again, the remote start frequently would not work, etc.

I finally dropped it off at the dealer while I was still able to drive it. After several days of diagnostic troubleshooting and over $1,500 they determined that it was being caused by feedback from the Lockpick. After it was unplugged the problems never returned.

Mine was out of warranty when all this happened. If some aftermarket backup camera and related accessories are installed and an electrical problem pops up under warranty you can bet that the dealer will try to blame it on those add-ons.
I could see a lockpick maybe messing with the CanBus since it basicly rewrites the signals, maybe even a aftermarket radio harness such as the ones needed for the new GM vehicles. I dont mess with LockPicks since they are not as good of quality as the Nav-TV (basing this on the v4 and down), so I dont know about the failures they cause.
If someone were to just want to add a rear camera to their MyGig, the best way to keep it as factory like as possible is to do it the way I mentioned above. No modules are used so no factory signals are manipulated.
simadownow6988 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-21-2013, 04:31 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artax View Post
Great info. Anybody had any issues with a dealer not willing to activate the camera or VES features? I would love to throw in some headrest monitors for the kids and a backup camera. Might have to call around before springing for the components to see if they are willing.
My dealer charges 1/2 hour labor to use the starscan for the unlock. Im sure there are many dealers willing to do the same.
simadownow6988 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-21-2013, 05:23 PM   #22
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,725
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by simadownow6988 View Post
If someone were to just want to add a rear camera to their MyGig, the best way to keep it as factory like as possible is to do it the way I mentioned above. No modules are used so no factory signals are manipulated.
I'd have to agree.
The most straight forward way would be a Star-Scan and adding a camera to the factory harness.

But I think one of the reasons as to why people chose Lockpick/Nav TV for the ability to unlock navigation inputs and movies while in motion....and also the ability to add more cameras or audio/video inputs. But again, anything aftermarket comes with an implied risk.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-21-2013, 06:26 PM   #23
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgwinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 132
I am going to give this a try, just picked up a license plate mount camera on ebay for $10, so see how that works.

Thanks for the info
rgwinn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-22-2013, 06:27 AM   #24
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgwinn View Post
I am going to give this a try, just picked up a license plate mount camera on ebay for $10, so see how that works.

Thanks for the info
Let us know how it goes! I've talked to 3 dealers about the Star Scan. 1 won't do it. 1 wants $99. 1 wants $55.
The dealer that won't says it has to be a dealer installed option and they have to report it to Chrysler with a copy of the work order.
toddbluefreedom is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-22-2013, 08:42 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddbluefreedom View Post
The dealer that won't says it has to be a dealer installed option and they have to report it to Chrysler with a copy of the work order.
Sounds like a typical excuse to make bank. I hate dealerships like that. Imagine how many people that dont know any better that fall for excuses like that. Makes me sick.
simadownow6988 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-22-2013, 11:19 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
calvarycoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mason City, Iowa
Posts: 103
I installed Lockpic v5 and front and rear cameras last weekend. I have 730N system. Both cameras are license plate mounted. (Rear plate is up in spare tire).

I went with cheap cameras - $14 a piece. I feel they work very well. I don't think an expensive camera would give a better picture considering the small size of the nav screen anyway.

Pretty easy install. Although, you have to find a way to fit all the wiring back behind the radio. I had to stuff some of it below, next to the window switches. I was not able to re-install the screw there by the switch - too stuffed. Fits well, still, though.

Front camera is a really cool mod. A friend mentioned I would never have to scrape the snow off my windshield again. haha.

calvarycoffee is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC