engine code on 3.8L - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-15-2013, 02:50 PM   #1
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,475
engine code on 3.8L

I know how to get the display to show the code number for a check engine light on my 2012. It does not work on my 2007. Anyone know how/if this can be done on a 2007?

__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-16-2013, 06:16 PM   #2
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,475
Ok, can't be done. Got it.

__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-17-2013, 10:36 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
rirrgang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 145
I use a bluetooth dongle and the app called Torque Pro on google play. I don't think we can get codes displayed on the dash.
BTW, be patient if you don't get an answer as fast as you want it. Maybe no one really knew. It's better to get no answer instead of 100 wrong ones.
__________________
Rick
2007 Sahara Unlimited.
rirrgang is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-17-2013, 11:37 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,044
It can be done. Mine does it. I have an '07. It will not display ABS codes though. I have heard of folks not being able to read them. Ended up being the ECM. Not really an '07 problem.

Bob K.
nwbronco is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-17-2013, 11:38 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,044
Also, it will not show stored codes. So if it is memory and waiting for additional run cycles to clear, it will not show up.

Bob K.
nwbronco is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-18-2013, 08:03 PM   #6
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,475
Quote:
It can be done. Mine does it. I have an '07.
How do you get it to display?
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2013, 04:34 PM   #7
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwbronco View Post
It can be done. Mine does it. I have an '07.
How do you get it to display?
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2013, 04:42 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,044
Flip key from off to run three times. End on run. Codes will display in Odo screen.
nwbronco is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-05-2013, 04:22 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 301
any of the big auto parts stores will usually read it with their scanner for free.

i know around me autozone and advance do. I'd be surprised if o'rielly or napa don't.

I have an auto xray scanner myself.
DM6156 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-05-2013, 05:06 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
joeuncool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 414
There are dozens of code readers on Amazon for under 100 bucks. Even a few around 20 bucks (not sure how good they are). In this age, most people who drive a car should probably just buy one. I didn't realize they have gotten so cheap until I looked them up a year ago.
__________________
I drive a JKUR. Everywhere I look I see places I want to drive up, over, or through.
joeuncool is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-06-2013, 08:15 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeuncool View Post
There are dozens of code readers on Amazon for under 100 bucks. Even a few around 20 bucks (not sure how good they are). In this age, most people who drive a car should probably just buy one. I didn't realize they have gotten so cheap until I looked them up a year ago.

code readers are cheap, scanners not so cheap. my auto xray is a scanner.

You can get software (scanner) for computers / smart phones now. Either usb or bluetooth connection from device to module that plugs into obd port.

last I researched pc based solutions, there were a few chipsets available and ELM was the best. That was a few years ago.

I have had my auto xray for many years, purchased it as a kit with all cables so I can even read some pre-obdii vehicles. I've even used it on some older ford and chrysler vehciles.

most tuners (possibly all) read obdii codes as well.

DM6156 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC