HELP!! Just installed HID's, and they're flickering with RPM increase! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-01-2009, 11:03 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
HELP!! Just installed HID's, and they're flickering with RPM increase!

Just installed a pair of PHILIPS/Osram Sylvania XP6024 -7" Round HID's:

suvlights.com XP6024 -7" Round HID Bi Xenon (low & high beam) Projector Headlights fits Hummer

But...I'm having a lot of issues. Someone from another forum told me they were plug and play...but...I'm not as lucky. They came with an H4 plug, so I had to put the adapters on the 3 wires to make em actually work...not a problem though. However:

1) The headlights flicker on and off with increase of RPM's, but once it levels out and stays at a consistent RPM, they're good...
2) One of the control boxes buzzes from time to time, usually with the flicker of the light. It's not a light electrical humm either, it's a loud buzz I can hear from the interior...
3) The highbeams do not work, at all. They flicker on and off repeatedly.

Honestly, I'm lost, they're awesome headlights. Bright as all hell. I'm jus trying to figure out if it's user error and I installed them incorrectly, or if I have a broken product. Hope someone can help.

Etidie is offline   Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 08:32 AM   #2
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Sounds like a defective controll box. Make sure all your connections are secure, if they are, you should return for a replacement.

clemson_sc is offline   Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 09:25 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,238
It's a 35 watt 12-volt step-up transformer on a bus system that's sniffing for a 55 watt bulb. You might need to wire in an isolator and some resistors.
Or, you said it was for a Hummer. Which one? The 24 volt H1? Oooops.

HID retrofits are almost all illegal.
Daniel Stern Lighting Consultancy and Supply
__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 07:58 PM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
I figured a way around it, I just tested it out this afternoon, but didn't install the full kit due to lack of daylight, and I don't have shop lights...haha. Anyway, instead of using the factory harness controlled by the actual headlight "on/off" knob, I just hooked up a switch I got from radio shack, mounted it on the interior to the left of the steering wheel, ran the wires through the styrofoam behind the dash panel to the engine compartment, connected all the respective wiring, and bam...no Canbus system to screw with my HID's. I'll post picks of the install tomorrow, but all in all, it's easy. With the aftermarket switch I feel like I'm switching on a set of aux. lights...but...w/e, they're bright as hell, so it's worth it....more to come. I mean, it's more work then soldering the capacitor to the relay, but me being inexperienced with that....I went for the "easier" fix.

And yea...when you said they might be a 24V system...my heart dropped, haha. I said to myself....no...I couldn't have done that...then ran outside to immediately check, hahaha. But they're 12V :hew::
Etidie is offline   Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 08:59 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,238
Bypassing the bus is good way to make it work. Make sure you fuse the dang things though.

And carry your OE bulbs in case you fry the bootleg system or get a ticket...
__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 06:38 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
...Sh*t...just realized I have a problem...The highbeams are constantly on. I wired the with two switches, one for low and one for highbeam...but when I activate the "lowbeam" switch, the highs come on automatically. Damnit, haha. Anyone have any input? And just for clarification, I made sure the wires are running to the correct inputs, haha. It's an H4 plug if that helps anyone out.

Etidie is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC