Help! Stereo Wiring Problem So I've installed a Pioneer head unit all the way, except - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-05-2010, 02:21 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clemson
Posts: 73
Help! Stereo Wiring Problem So I've installed a Pioneer head unit all the way, except

Help! Stereo Wiring Problem
So I've installed a Pioneer head unit all the way, except the power won't turn on...My 07 JK has a black and a red power going to the harness that attached into the old radio. The adapter harness reciever from Crutchfield has yellow and black power leads (yellow constant power, black ground).

However, there is a wire from the pioneer radio that is red and it is for the ignition power. I don't know where to plug this wire into in order to get power...and suggestions? Thanks!

Always JK'n is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2010, 02:53 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
ThrashN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 203
You could tap into the drivers side cig lighter

__________________
A mile of highway can take you a mile; A mile of runway can take you anywhere.
ThrashN is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2010, 03:13 PM   #3
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
jk'n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: First Quadrant in the Land of the Free
Posts: 4,790
You could do some testing on the wires from the jeep to see which have power. Constant power would be necessary to keep memory alive as some radios require this. The other power would turn off when the jeep is off with a delay until one of the doors is opened. That delay must be delivered to the radio via the power harness because other parts of the jeep are involved like the door switches.
__________________

Participate in life....Keep movin'....Go there....JK'n it.........Do it! Jeep #1: Red Rock 08 JK Rubicon 4dr, 6 sp manual, Stock Mud Tires, MyGIG Upgrade, Hard Top, after sale BestTop SunRider Soft Top, Congo Cage Rack, Mopar slush mats Jeep #2 Black 08 JK Rubicon 2dr, 6 sp manual, both tops, some chrome...uggg (my wife's jeep) Jeep #3 White 92 YJ (my son's jeep) A great quote from a good friend: "All hail click clack and master jk'n." Click and clack are my idols!
jk'n is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2010, 03:14 PM   #4
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
jk'n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: First Quadrant in the Land of the Free
Posts: 4,790
Oh yah, there is another wire that would have voltage on it for the lights on the radio. That way the lights would dim when the dash lights are adjusted up and down.
__________________

Participate in life....Keep movin'....Go there....JK'n it.........Do it! Jeep #1: Red Rock 08 JK Rubicon 4dr, 6 sp manual, Stock Mud Tires, MyGIG Upgrade, Hard Top, after sale BestTop SunRider Soft Top, Congo Cage Rack, Mopar slush mats Jeep #2 Black 08 JK Rubicon 2dr, 6 sp manual, both tops, some chrome...uggg (my wife's jeep) Jeep #3 White 92 YJ (my son's jeep) A great quote from a good friend: "All hail click clack and master jk'n." Click and clack are my idols!
jk'n is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2010, 08:22 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clemson
Posts: 73
Ok thanks for your suggestions everyone...however I have surprising news (at least to me) on how I got this to work:

The problem was the power...and the wiring diagram looked correct and was confirmed by a Crutchfield technician to be correct. So I assumed it was a grounding issue. I had the black ground wire from the stereo connected to the metal frame in the back, while the ground wire from the converting harness was connected to a screw in the same piece of metal.

So I was messing around with both of these grounding wires, and when I touched both of the ground wires together while neither were connected to the metal frame, the stereo functioned perfectly!

Kind of an odd solution, and I dont know if it will be dangerous for the radio, but this was the only configuration that worked...
Always JK'n is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
check engine light came on and speedo stopped working @ the same time. eric TJ General Discussion Forum 14 10-14-2013 12:05 PM
gauges wiring problem upinar YJ Tech Forum 1 12-17-2007 12:05 AM
2008 Jeep Sahara - Aftermarket Stereo problem with factory amp Haloshot Communications and Electronics 0 11-27-2007 01:35 PM
fuel sending unit or float problem? benjamin24 TJ Tech Forum 9 09-09-2007 08:03 AM
TJ Error codes khenderson TJ Tech Forum 3 08-19-2005 12:36 AM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC