Jeep wont start - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-27-2014, 08:06 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,253
Jeep wont start

So maybe my brain isnt working this morning, but I cant seem to figure out where to start.

My jeep 2012 2dr auto JKR wont start. Battery tests good. No lights on the dash, nothing at all. Brake lights wont come on.. nothing. I tried jumping and it wont help... as I think it may be something with the TIPM. I just dont know where to start for testing and fixing this. 31k miles.... uhg.

CoreyZ is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:12 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,253
I cant even shift the thing into neutral..... UHG

CoreyZ is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:27 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,441
Still thinking battery. A bad cell won't hold anything. Get a volt meter to make sure.

Good luck,

Bob K.
nwbronco is online now   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:36 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Freedom JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 1,373
Have you checked the fuses under the hood?
Freedom JK is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:48 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,253
Did that Bob... I checked the battery with a multi and it read over 12v without touching it to another car to jump.
Checked some fuses.. not sure which I should look at. I checked the J13 IOD Main and it was fine. I also ran a ground from battery to frame and to motor and neither helped.

Its just strange that NOTHING is responding. Nothing responded after hooking it up to a car to jump either while the other was running.
CoreyZ is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 09:04 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,253
Drove home fine last night... never had weird issues. Pulled it into the garage and this morning it did this. So frustrating.
Plus its backed into the garage... and I cant shift it out of park so how the F*** am I supposed to get it to the dealership lol.
CoreyZ is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 09:14 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 2,140
First, pull and clean the battery connections.
Second, check your positive cable. If nothing is getting power, something is disconnected.
Just because a battery reads 12+ volts does not mean it is good. A fully dead battery will prevent a jump, it loads down the system too much.
sparky is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 09:56 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,253
So...

Ended up pulling some fuses and some relays in the box and they were getting power. I had originally tightened all the battery cables just in case they were loose... wiggled em and everything... but that didnt help. Now I pulled the neg cable off... and left it off for a few minutes to discharge the ECU just in case since everything at the box showed it was getting power. Hooked it back up and bam... everything works again. Even fired up right away. Not sure what the heck could have caused it but now I have to keep a close eye on it.

Thanks for the input all... cross your fingers for me that it doesnt happen again, especially on the trail.
CoreyZ is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:05 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,619
I'd put a code scanner on it. Maybe there's a code in memory that isn't tripping the CEL.
demarpaint is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:10 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,253
Yeah, Ill do that here in a couple hours on my lunch break. Thats not a bad idea to look for. I just hope that if it IS the TIPM that I can get it replaced in the next 3500 miles since that is the remainder of my warranty.
CoreyZ is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:11 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Connecticut.
Posts: 62
I had a similar issue with my 2013 but lights did appear on the dash. Mine turned out to be a dealer re flash of the WCM. I resolved my issue my removing and reseating the IOD fuse.
__________________
2013 JKU Sport S in Black
Paul10 is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:35 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Ob1ofwis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 384
I get the thing resetting by disconnecting the battery for a bit, but what has me confused is why you could not put it in neutral?
__________________
2014 JKUR, LoD Signature Series Stinger, Engo 10,000k Synthetic, EVO Skids, ACE Rock Slides, OME 2" heavy front coils / RK 1.5" rear coils, Bartact seat covers
Ob1ofwis is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:49 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul10 View Post
I had a similar issue with my 2013 but lights did appear on the dash. Mine turned out to be a dealer re flash of the WCM. I resolved my issue my removing and reseating the IOD fuse.
I was hoping it was something that removing the IOD fuse and reseating it would help... but didnt. I think the fuse was getting power (as the multimeter showed) but the TIPM wasnt letting anything else function after that. My understanding is that the power comes in to the TIPM first, goes through each fuse and then into the control board. The control board then sends the commands, power and data through the ECU and the CANBUS for each system.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ob1ofwis View Post
I get the thing resetting by disconnecting the battery for a bit, but what has me confused is why you could not put it in neutral?
I think with modern automatic transmissions... you have to have power to the transmission controller in order for it to allow a shift. My dad's is the same way (Chevy). Until the vehicle is powered, he cannot shift it. The older automatics used mechanical shifting which I think is why they worked back in the day. New ones I think are all computer controlled.
CoreyZ is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 03:58 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 2,140
I'll say it again, pull and clean the battery connections. Don't just look at the outside of them. It's a five minute job and insures you have full battery power available.
sparky is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 06:06 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,253
Ive done the battery maintenance. They are clean and I know how to check battery connections. First thing I do if there is a power issue. The ECU\TIPM was locked or something and needed to be reset.

CoreyZ is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC