light switches - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-28-2014, 11:56 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Hartford County, CT
Posts: 17
light switches

A while back i installed some KC hi lights on my windshield, and ran the wiring into my cab and drilled a hole through the lower left kick panel for the switch. I recently bought some Rigid Industries lights for the rear which i want to hook up on top of my tail lights, however the switches look different. Id like to have at least the switches look consistent inside my cab and i like the placement of my last one. Could i just buy another one of the kc light switches and hook it up to the rigid industries lights and be OK? just looking for some advice as i am by no means electrically inclined, thanks!

mavcat17 is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 12:59 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South GA
Posts: 123
I dont see why u couldnt use a switch from KC.

A switch is a switch.

sleeze is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 02:35 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ponderosa Pine Country, where the Bears are hungry!
Posts: 5,364
Any 12v switch, that is rated to carry the amperage draw!
__________________
1974 CJ5, 2003 TJ, 2013 2 door Black Rubicon
Pentastar 3.6 Engine, View, with Info!
Shaking at 40-60 MPH, Read this!!!
This Attenuator, will improve your steering!
The Bear is not concerned with the needs of the Hunter!!!
Old Dogger is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 02:47 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Hartford County, CT
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Dogger View Post
Any 12v switch, that is rated to carry the amperage draw!
that was my thought! looks like the KC switch is listed at 30 amps and the Rigid one is 20ish so im guessing that should be more than good. just wanted to make sure i wouldnt light my car on fire!
mavcat17 is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 06:34 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ponderosa Pine Country, where the Bears are hungry!
Posts: 5,364
^^^
__________________
1974 CJ5, 2003 TJ, 2013 2 door Black Rubicon
Pentastar 3.6 Engine, View, with Info!
Shaking at 40-60 MPH, Read this!!!
This Attenuator, will improve your steering!
The Bear is not concerned with the needs of the Hunter!!!
Old Dogger is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 06:36 PM   #6
Thank You Veterans!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 27,530
Warning: It's said that when ever you call a Jeep, a "car" a kitten dies.

Beastmaster is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 06:42 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
ZB370's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastmaster View Post
Warning: It's said that when ever you call a Jeep, a "car" a kitten dies.
He said cab not car. Thanks for trolling.....
ZB370 is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 06:49 PM   #8
Thank You Veterans!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 27,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZB370 View Post
He said cab not car. Thanks for trolling.....
First of all, I don't troll and secondly, you need to re-read post #4 before you start calling names sir.

To OP: Sorry for your post getting hijacked, just trying for a little humor.
Beastmaster is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 08:15 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Hartford County, CT
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastmaster View Post
First of all, I don't troll and secondly, you need to re-read post #4 before you start calling names sir. To OP: Sorry for your post getting hijacked, just trying for a little humor.
No worries, I laughed and then re read my post and shuttered a bit. Thanks for the help guys!
mavcat17 is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 08:45 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastmaster View Post
First of all, I don't troll and secondly, you need to re-read post #4 before you start calling names sir.

To OP: Sorry for your post getting hijacked, just trying for a little humor.
Oh snap!
__________________
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads"
- Doc Brown, Back to the Future
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 09:36 PM   #11
Thank You Veterans!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 27,530
Back on topic, I bought some A-pillar switches, they wired in easily. (fod light, driving lights, off road lights and backup light)

Beastmaster is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 09:41 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Stretchmobile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: San Berdoo
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZB370 View Post
He said cab not car. Thanks for trolling.....
Never piss off a Moderator.
Stretchmobile is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 10:30 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Hartford County, CT
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastmaster View Post
Back on topic, I bought some A-pillar switches, they wired in easily. (fod light, driving lights, off road lights and backup light)
Yeah, I'm thinking I should have done that to start. When I first got my lights I drilled the switch in between where the vent and the speaker is in your picture. If I were to get the a pillar now and relocate my switch I think I'd have to find some way to fill that hole, right? I don't think it'd be easy to grab some plastic filler and match the color. That's why when I got these new lights for the rear I was just going to drill another hole and stay consistent with the switch. I do love that pillar though...
mavcat17 is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 11:41 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South GA
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavcat17 View Post

Yeah, I'm thinking I should have done that to start. When I first got my lights I drilled the switch in between where the vent and the speaker is in your picture. If I were to get the a pillar now and relocate my switch I think I'd have to find some way to fill that hole, right? I don't think it'd be easy to grab some plastic filler and match the color. That's why when I got these new lights for the rear I was just going to drill another hole and stay consistent with the switch. I do love that pillar though...
Nothing wrong with having one there...if u have more than 2 switches i would say get the A pillar setup or S~pod.

But....u might can find that whole piece around the speaker from a junkyard or online
sleeze is offline   Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 01:58 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 318
What kind of switch? i installed a set of KC hilites on my window some time ago, but didn't use the switch - I went the wireless route.

If it matches the one I have (I'll have to see if I can find where I put it), you can have it, just pay for shipping.
DM6156 is offline   Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 12:45 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Jeepguy7972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Puyallup, Wa
Posts: 111
Images: 4
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-733942573.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	172.8 KB
ID:	1154961 Oznium.com has some cool switches that mount easy and are priced good.

Jeepguy7972 is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
kc light , light , switch , wiring

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC