Oil pressure gauge installation on a 2013, 3.6 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-07-2014, 08:35 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: THE NORTH POLE
Posts: 4,175
Oil pressure gauge installation on a 2013, 3.6

I am wanting to install a oil pressure gauge on my 2013 Rubicon.
This install would be from a 1/8 inch pipe plug in the oil pressure galley, (if it exists), through a piece of push on hose, to a accurate manual gauge.

I don't want to go with a electric gauge, because they are just relative at best.

So my question is, does anybody know where there is a plug on the oil galley, that is available, without dis-assembling most of the engine, just to get to it???
Has anybody else tried this?

I remember a Thread, where somebody drilled and taped the oil filter cap, and installed a hose, but this would not be my first choice. I would rather connect directly to the oil galley, if possible!

Any idea's on this, will be greatly appreciated!

Old Dogger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2014, 11:04 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo
Posts: 723
That was me who tapped the oil filter cap on my 13'. I secured a nut on the back side as a precaution. Just tapping the plastic would be crazy. It's pretty thin. I'd like to find a better place to get oil pressure too. If nothing else I'd like to find an aluminum filter cap. If anyone knows where to find one let me know. I don't think there is a way to get oil pressure unless you want to drill and tap the block.

I've got a SPA digital oil temp and pressure gauge. I really like the feedback it gives me. It was worth screwing around to get it installed. The filter cap isn't the ideal place but it works. It's been 1 1/2 years and not one problem. As a precaution I keep a new cap in my Wrangler with tools just in case.

Back to your question. Yes, if anyone has any ideas speak up. Like I said I'd be happy finding an aluminum cap. The one on the 3.6 seems pretty marginal.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxzy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 01:04 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Kevlars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 539
Why not get an aero gauge that plugs into the on board computer connection and then you can get a bunch of telemetry...it's a lot neater and no drilling or tapping.
__________________
------------------------------------------------------------
JKUR 2013,Teraflex 3 inch Lift,Teraflex Full 8 adj. arms
Elka Springs,Teraflex Front Monster Track bar,AEV Heat Reduction Hood,AEV Snorkel,SY-Clone Pre-Filter, AEV Front and Rear bumpers, Warn Zeon 10-S Winch, BFG 35 inch tires.
Kevlars is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 02:25 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
HAFICON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Undecided.
Posts: 1,368
I have been considering something in this neighborhood. But I wanted a volt gauge, and a transmission temp gauge. For the trans temp gauge was just looking at getting another oil pan taking it to machine shop have them drill and weld a nut inside for the sensor to screw into, then powder coat it.
__________________
2012 JKU Sport Deep Cherry Red

"Door ding my Jeep, and I will fist ding your face BIATCH"
HAFICON is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 04:03 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: THE NORTH POLE
Posts: 4,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by xzy View Post
That was me who tapped the oil filter cap on my 13'. I secured a nut on the back side as a precaution. Just tapping the plastic would be crazy. It's pretty thin. I'd like to find a better place to get oil pressure too. If nothing else I'd like to find an aluminum filter cap. If anyone knows where to find one let me know. I don't think there is a way to get oil pressure unless you want to drill and tap the block.

I've got a SPA digital oil temp and pressure gauge. I really like the feedback it gives me. It was worth screwing around to get it installed. The filter cap isn't the ideal place but it works. It's been 1 1/2 years and not one problem. As a precaution I keep a new cap in my Wrangler with tools just in case.

Back to your question. Yes, if anyone has any ideas speak up. Like I said I'd be happy finding an aluminum cap. The one on the 3.6 seems pretty marginal.
A machine shop maybe able to make a cap, out of aluminum, or stainless.

What kind of oil pressure are you seeing on your 2013, both cold and hot?

Some of our Members have 2014 and are seeing 80- 99 PSI at start up when cold, which is just a crazy high number. Since theirs is through the on board computer, I just question it's accuracy, and if it is, then maybe the oil pressure relief valve is sticking/hanging up. I'm not sure as to why Chrysler/Jeep would have engineered that high of pressure from 5W viscosity when cold, possible a VVT need..........

I know that the 3.6 has a two stage oil pump, where the pressure increases after, I believe 3,500 RPM, so that the piston oil injectors will help to cool off the pistons and cylinder walls.

Why Chrysler/Jeep doesn't just install in our dash additional gauges, ( engine and trans oil temp, and a volt meter) is beyond me......
I think that most would pay the addition cost, just to have them.........
Old Dogger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 04:11 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: THE NORTH POLE
Posts: 4,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevlars View Post
Why not get an aero gauge that plugs into the on board computer connection and then you can get a bunch of telemetry...it's a lot neater and no drilling or tapping.
If there isn't a oil pressure port from the galley direct available, then this would definitely be another option.
Thank you!
Old Dogger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 04:13 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
47MTP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 138
I've seen the pressure up in the 90 psi range this winter. Once the engine is warmed up, the pressure runs between 38-41 psi at 2300 to 2500 rpms. I have a 2013.
Bert
47MTP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 04:19 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: THE NORTH POLE
Posts: 4,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by 47MTP View Post
I've seen the pressure up in the 90 psi range this winter. Once the engine is warmed up, the pressure runs between 38-41 psi at 2300 to 2500 rpms. I have a 2013.
Bert
Your's, must then be a 10A, because my 2013 Rubicon doesn't have that option, or if it does, then I don't know how to turn it on!

38-41 would make sense, when hot, with 20 W viscosity, but 90 cold, WOW!
Old Dogger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 04:29 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
47MTP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 138
It is a 10A with the different EVIC. It's nice being able to monitor the actual tire pressure too.
47MTP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 07:13 AM   #10
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
14Sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by 47MTP View Post
I've seen the pressure up in the 90 psi range this winter. Once the engine is warmed up, the pressure runs between 38-41 psi at 2300 to 2500 rpms. I have a 2013.
Bert
I've seen 88 pounds cold here in Florida a couple of times. I was really surprised. Mine usually runs around 38 when driving and drops to 22 when stopped at a light. I believe the pump is a two-stage iirc. I use the Aeroforce gauge and usually monitor trans temp and oil pressure...and sometimes switch to amperage.

To the OP, I remember seeing a thread where there is a plate you can mount above the oil filter I believe which has the outlet for oil pressure monitoring.

Edit: Yeah here it is.
http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/oilfi...-34unf-16.aspx
14Sport is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 09:06 AM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo
Posts: 723
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14Sport View Post
I remember seeing a thread where there is a plate you can mount above the oil filter I believe which has the outlet for oil pressure monitoring.
That's called a sandwich adapter. It won't work on a 3.6.

I'm getting 90+ psi on a cold day. Summers in the 80's but drops rather quickly. Hot idle is 30/32. PSI @ 1800 RPM ( my normal driving speed ) is 40/44. I'm using 5/30 synthetic.

It's worth repeating that oil temp lags water by a good bit. The water temp gauge can be centered but the oil temp ( on mine ) is usually around 140 degree's. Winter takes a good 20 /25 minutes to get the oil up to 180 whereas the water temp stabilizes usually within 10 minutes. Since oil lubricates best at it's intended operating temperature I like to keep my RPM at or under 1500 until the oil reached 160 degrees. There is no accurate way to know when that happens unless you can monitor oil temp.

A pressure gauge is equally if not more important. Together they give a more complete understanding of the inverse relationship between oil temperature and oil pressure.

To my way of thinking start up wear occurs any time an engine hasn't yet reached full operating temperature.This normally doesn't happen until the oil is fully hot....or at least 180 degrees.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxzy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 09:41 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 7,096
on start up at minus 17F. My best advice is skip the OP gauge it will just give you one more thing to worry about lol.
jadmt is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 10:07 AM   #13
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
14Sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by xzy View Post
That's called a sandwich adapter. It won't work on a 3.6.
Oh, thanks. I knew it worked on a jk but didn't know not the pentastar. I need to pay more attention to the dates of the threads.
14Sport is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 01:31 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,058
I checked Rock Auto's website. They show the sensor, it looks to be threaded. If it is, then it would be a matter of plumbing a tee in it's place and placing the current sensor and the manual gauge in place.

Here is a link to the sensor.

2013 Jeep Wrangler Engine Oil Pressure Switch - Airtex 1S6755 | StockWiseAuto

Bob K.
nwbronco is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 01:35 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,058
A google search shows the sensor underneath the intake. So it would definitely be an adventure. I would try the tee prior to drilling and tapping the block.


Bob K.
nwbronco is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 01:53 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: THE NORTH POLE
Posts: 4,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwbronco View Post
A google search shows the sensor underneath the intake. So it would definitely be an adventure. I would try the tee prior to drilling and tapping the block.


Bob K.
Bob, that's a great option!
At this time, I don't plan on pulling the Intake, or at least while the engine is in warranty. (I don't want to do anything to screw up my warranty).
I will look into possibly teeing into it, unless that requires the manifold to be pulled. As for drilling into a aluminum block, NOPE, that is not going to happen........

Hooking into the on board computer connection, may also be another option! Thanks KEVLARS for that suggestion!!!!!!!
Old Dogger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 01:59 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,058
Heck, pull the topper and see if you can see it. If you can get to it around the plenum it might just be doable without removing anything other than the engine cover. Worth a look anyways.


Bob K.
nwbronco is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 02:09 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: THE NORTH POLE
Posts: 4,175
^^^Yes, that is my game plan!
Old Dogger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 06:33 PM   #19
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo
Posts: 723
Looks like this is it...
xxxxxxxxxxxxxzy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-19-2014, 08:38 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
GoBig19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Bay
Posts: 148
Update?
GoBig19 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-19-2014, 10:04 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
insylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Enterprise, Alabama.
Posts: 1,034
Images: 3
Wait whats wrong with the OEM oil pressure gauge?

What's wrong with interceptor gauge(s)?
__________________
2013 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 10th Anniversary
insylem is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-19-2014, 01:40 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
derf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by insylem View Post
Wait whats wrong with the OEM oil pressure gauge?
What OEM oil pressure gauge? The JK comes with an idiot light, not a gauge.
__________________
2012 JK - 3.6/NSG370/NP241/D30/D44 - Grimm Jeeper
1986 J10 - 360/700R4/NP208/D44HD/D60FF - Truck Norris

My gear ratio calculator
derf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-20-2014, 10:53 AM   #23
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
dcgibbons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tabernash, Colorado
Posts: 137
The oil pressure gauge is there if you have the premium EVIC, new for '13 & '14.
__________________

I pretend to make things, but mostly I just break things.

Interested in how your Jeep's CAN bus electronics system works? Message me or visit my blog at http://chadgibbons.com/ for more than you really want to know.
dcgibbons is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-20-2014, 11:25 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
derf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcgibbons View Post
The oil pressure gauge is there if you have the premium EVIC, new for '13 & '14.
Sounds like it's a display on the screen rather than an actual gauge.
__________________
2012 JK - 3.6/NSG370/NP241/D30/D44 - Grimm Jeeper
1986 J10 - 360/700R4/NP208/D44HD/D60FF - Truck Norris

My gear ratio calculator
derf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-20-2014, 11:31 AM   #25
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
dcgibbons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tabernash, Colorado
Posts: 137
That would still be a gauge, but if you mean a separate analog sweep readout, yes
__________________

I pretend to make things, but mostly I just break things.

Interested in how your Jeep's CAN bus electronics system works? Message me or visit my blog at http://chadgibbons.com/ for more than you really want to know.
dcgibbons is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-20-2014, 11:55 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
derf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcgibbons View Post
That would still be a gauge, but if you mean a separate analog sweep readout, yes
That's what the OP wants to install.

A lot of people (myself included) prefer an analog face to a gauge. It's faster to read than text on a screen. It's easier to interpret quickly when you're glancing at it. If the needle is in about the right location you can move on to the next thing you want to pay attention to. With a number on the screen, you have to read it and stop to think about whether it's a good or bad number.
__________________
2012 JK - 3.6/NSG370/NP241/D30/D44 - Grimm Jeeper
1986 J10 - 360/700R4/NP208/D44HD/D60FF - Truck Norris

My gear ratio calculator
derf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-20-2014, 11:57 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
insylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Enterprise, Alabama.
Posts: 1,034
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by derf View Post
What OEM oil pressure gauge? The JK comes with an idiot light, not a gauge.

My JK came with an oil pressure gauge. It's in the Driver Information Center though. I scroll to it with the steering wheel switches.
__________________
2013 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 10th Anniversary
insylem is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-20-2014, 04:07 PM   #28
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
dcgibbons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tabernash, Colorado
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by derf View Post
That's what the OP wants to install.

A lot of people (myself included) prefer an analog face to a gauge. It's faster to read than text on a screen. It's easier to interpret quickly when you're glancing at it. If the needle is in about the right location you can move on to the next thing you want to pay attention to. With a number on the screen, you have to read it and stop to think about whether it's a good or bad number.
Oh, totally, I'm with you right there. Oil pressure and temp are the two I'd really love to have as analog sweep gauges all the time.

I know from '12 and up, and perhaps older, the JK has a real pressure sensor that reports the pressure to the PCM. Only in '13 and '14 did they start displaying it. But, presumably that data is available in the vendor-specific messages off the data-link port. Has anyone found the right message IDs and/or PIDs to retrieve that data? That would let you use an a gauge of your choice without having to install a new sensor.
__________________

I pretend to make things, but mostly I just break things.

Interested in how your Jeep's CAN bus electronics system works? Message me or visit my blog at http://chadgibbons.com/ for more than you really want to know.
dcgibbons is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-20-2014, 05:57 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
derf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcgibbons View Post
Oh, totally, I'm with you right there. Oil pressure and temp are the two I'd really love to have as analog sweep gauges all the time.

I know from '12 and up, and perhaps older, the JK has a real pressure sensor that reports the pressure to the PCM. Only in '13 and '14 did they start displaying it. But, presumably that data is available in the vendor-specific messages off the data-link port. Has anyone found the right message IDs and/or PIDs to retrieve that data? That would let you use an a gauge of your choice without having to install a new sensor.
I have the skill set to use a CANBUS scanner and figure it out. But I'm too lazy to do it.

Besides, it shouldn't be too hard to find a place to mount an aftermarket sensor to run an analog gauge.
__________________
2012 JK - 3.6/NSG370/NP241/D30/D44 - Grimm Jeeper
1986 J10 - 360/700R4/NP208/D44HD/D60FF - Truck Norris

My gear ratio calculator
derf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2014, 08:12 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
GoBig19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Bay
Posts: 148
On the 2012 and newer with an Aeroforce gauge, the oil pressure is provided via the OBD II.

GoBig19 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC