Radio Wiring problem - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today



Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-13-2014, 04:24 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Bobdown is on a distinguished road
Radio Wiring problem

Hi,
I live in Egypt and I have a 2012 Wrangler and was wanting to replace the stock radio, I bought all the adaptors back from the UK that I thought I would need but I plugged in the wiring adaptor, the radio fired up but there was no sound, the adaptor fitted but on closer inspection it would seen the wires are all in the wrong place and the adaptor has way more wires then the plug it needs to plug into. Any thought how I can get around this or where I can find the right wiring adaptor?
Cheers, Bob.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-3.JPG
Views:	126
Size:	111.4 KB
ID:	865513   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.JPG
Views:	86
Size:	112.7 KB
ID:	865521  

Bobdown is offline   Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 06:35 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
b.lister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 105
b.lister is on a distinguished road
I have a 2012, and when I was thinking about adding an amp without cutting into the factory wiring, I found these on Amazon:

Metra 70-6522 Radio Wiring Harness $7.98
Metra 71-6522 Reverse Wiring Harness $15.31

Can't vouch for if they are everything you need, but they are what I had written down when I was looking. I think they're worth a look. Good Luck.

-John-

b.lister is offline   Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 09:15 AM   #3
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Bobdown is on a distinguished road
Thanks for your help John,
The problem I face is that the wiring harness I am told will fit by every website and ever radio installer is the one I have. it plugs in ok, no problem there, it just seems that there are a lot more wires in the harness then there are on the plug on the car end and the wires and use different holes.

The Jeep was bought in Egypt. Why would it have a different wiring diagram to others?
Bobdown is offline   Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 09:25 AM   #4
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
dcgibbons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tabernash, Colorado
Posts: 483
dcgibbons is on a distinguished road
It looks like your vehicle as the factory amp, which means there are only 4 wires needed to go from the radio to the amplifier. The aftermarket harnesses will include speaker wires as if there was no amp, so it'll have 8 wires total for that.
dcgibbons is offline   Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 09:27 AM   #5
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
dcgibbons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tabernash, Colorado
Posts: 483
dcgibbons is on a distinguished road
And I think in that case, the fundamental problem is that the factory amp doesn't turn on without commands from the radio sent over the CAN-Bus. You can buy an adapter to make that happen (a little computer inside that takes care of the messages), and there are some other threads around on that topic.
dcgibbons is offline   Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 09:30 AM   #6
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
dcgibbons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tabernash, Colorado
Posts: 483
dcgibbons is on a distinguished road
And if you haven't seen it yet, check out connectors.dcctools.com to see the actual wiring harness layout for your vehicle.
dcgibbons is offline   Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 04:12 AM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Bobdown is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcgibbons View Post
And if you haven't seen it yet, check out connectors.dcctools.com to see the actual wiring harness layout for your vehicle.
Thank you so much for your help. I bought all the parts I thought I would need back form England last time I was there, I thought it would be a quick and easy transplant, anything beyond that and I am out of my depth. Professional installers in Egypt are non existent. I am afraid they will attack my Jeeps wiring loom with wire cutters and gaffer tape and then tell me they can't do it.

I have limited knowledge of these things but it seems to me the aftermarket harness is completely wrong apart being the right plug, it has speaker wires both + and - on both rows of the plug where the car plug has just + on one row.

I have searched the web high and low but I don't really know what I am looking for. Would you be good enough to have a quick look and send me the links to the adapters I might need.
BoB

Bobdown is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
help advice , radio , wiring , wiring harness

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC