Superchips Flashcal vs Flashpaq - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-27-2014, 07:12 PM   #1
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
Superchips Flashcal vs Flashpaq

Hi Guys, I'm thinking about a Superchips for the 91 tune, speedo correct, & TMPS correction. I went to Superchips website to compare. I'm just wondering why the Flashpaq is $200 more? Which do I need to accomplish the above listed? Will the Flashcal do everything the Flashpaq does to accomplish what I need? Flashpaq is on the left and the Flashcal is on the right on the image.


rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 07:31 PM   #2
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 35,821
The FC is not a tuner. It's Compared it to the AEV procal.

FP you get tuning options, throttle mapping, etc

kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 07:41 PM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjeeper10 View Post
The FC is not a tuner. It's Compared it to the AEV procal.

FP you get tuning options, throttle mapping, etc
OK, I was just confused as to why they had custom tunes listed under the FC on their website. Can you look at the details on the FC on their site? Is it a typo? Will the FP do custom tune as well as what the FC does or will I have to purchase both? Thanks Ken, your posts are always appreciated.
rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 07:42 PM   #4
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 35,821
Hmm I'll go take a look.
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 07:47 PM   #5
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
Yea, take a look at the screen shot I posted. I had two windows open with both details. Thanks!!
rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 07:48 PM   #6
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 35,821
I just looked. Clicked on 2010/Flashcal and don't see the tuning option listed above. Things a beast though. Lot of great options minus tuning.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2223372484.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	148.2 KB
ID:	815737  
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 07:52 PM   #7
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
When i click here it shows the tuning?

rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 07:54 PM   #8
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
It may be different on the mobile site?

This is what it looks like on the pc browser:

rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 08:55 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Txrdstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 837
Probably because you can now pay extra to turn the flash cal into an actual tuner as well.
Txrdstr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 10:36 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
CharlesS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Carmel Mountain, CA
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Txrdstr View Post
Probably because you can now pay extra to turn the flash cal into an actual tuner as well.
IIRC to upgrade the FlashCal to perform like a FlashPaq you can pay around $200 to download the upgrade online.
__________________
'11 JK, '98 XJ, '14 WK
CharlesS is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 07:47 AM   #11
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
Cool, thanks for the help guys! Now off to reset then sell my AEV ProCal.
rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 10:08 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
anthonytj97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: bridgewater ,MA
Posts: 128
If u wanna sell your procal I'll buy it
anthonytj97 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 10:34 AM   #13
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 35,821
Makes sense
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 06:07 PM   #14
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonytj97 View Post
If u wanna sell your procal I'll buy it
PM Sent. My ProCal is also only for JKs 07 to 13. I noticed your sig indicates a TJ.
rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 06:08 PM   #15
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjeeper10 View Post
Makes sense
Yup! I must have missed the fine print.
rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2014, 03:30 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clarksville, IN
Posts: 149
Ok that may have just sold me on the flash cal. I like that I can down load upgrade later. I was trying to decide what rout to go including aev procal but think that is solved.
DIY07 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-04-2014, 04:03 PM   #17
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
Was going to wait a bit to order but couldn't stand the TPMS warning on every startup. Just ordered from NorthRidge4x4, can't wait.
rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2014, 12:21 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
CharlesS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Carmel Mountain, CA
Posts: 197
Superchips 3872

Price searched with several of the online and local vendors of Superchips; Northridge4x4 is among the cheapest, but with shipping their price is almost what a local shop sells theirs for.
Talked with the shops assistant manager and I was able to get the price with local tax to be less than the Northridge price with shipping.

Before loading the tune into the Jeep I decided to check for updates and install them into the 3872. Followed the instructions and loaded the 87 Octane tune into the computer. Everything went smoothly.
The Jeep started fine so I went for a drive around town and then on the highway. The shifting was more aggressive and the engine appeared to have more power. How much more; I am not sure, but seat of the pants tells me there is more.... On the highway the transmission didnot downshift as much and accelerated quicker. I will need to go thru a couple tank fulls or go for a long drive before I make a judgement on gas mileage.
__________________
'11 JK, '98 XJ, '14 WK
CharlesS is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2014, 09:40 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
polishdevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesS View Post
Price searched with several of the online and local vendors of Superchips; Northridge4x4 is among the cheapest, but with shipping their price is almost what a local shop sells theirs for.
Talked with the shops assistant manager and I was able to get the price with local tax to be less than the Northridge price with shipping.

Before loading the tune into the Jeep I decided to check for updates and install them into the 3872. Followed the instructions and loaded the 87 Octane tune into the computer. Everything went smoothly.
The Jeep started fine so I went for a drive around town and then on the highway. The shifting was more aggressive and the engine appeared to have more power. How much more; I am not sure, but seat of the pants tells me there is more.... On the highway the transmission didnot downshift as much and accelerated quicker. I will need to go thru a couple tank fulls or go for a long drive before I make a judgement on gas mileage.
Keep us posted. I am considering one of these for my 08.
__________________
1994 YJ I4 Auto
2008 JKU
polishdevil is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2014, 03:14 PM   #20
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesS View Post
Price searched with several of the online and local vendors of Superchips; Northridge4x4 is among the cheapest, but with shipping their price is almost what a local shop sells theirs for.
Talked with the shops assistant manager and I was able to get the price with local tax to be less than the Northridge price with shipping.
My order from NorthRidge4x4 was free shipping? Maybe because of my state? $287.96 total shipped for the Flashpaq 3872
rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-11-2014, 08:01 PM   #21
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
I received my Flashpaq today. Updating the Spark software along with updating the 3872 went smoothly. Downloaded the updates, tuned the JK with 93, set the options, ie.. DRL, TPMS, and so forth. All was good until I started driving it. LOTS of pinging. Drove about 20 miles on the interstate. I pulled over to a parking lot and re-tuned using 91. Drove another 20 miles on the same route and still pinged. I then set the tune to factory and drove the same 20 miles and all was good. I always used 93 octane because 87 has always pinged. As of now, I've reset the tune and options to factory. Oddly, my DRL would not reset to factory "Off", that's what I was using to see if factory reset had actually worked. The Flashpaq acknowledged several times that I was back to factory but the DRL was still on. I know for a fact that the tune is back to factory just from the pinging. I'm just not sure about the options even though the Flashpaq acknowledge it. Another small issue was the 4HI lock, you actually have to keep the Flashpaq plugged in to utilize this feature, inconvenient. I should have listened to all the issues with the Superchips although I though I was safe with a 2010. I'll be returning it keeping the JK stock. I should have kept my ProCal.
rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2014, 10:24 AM   #22
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Moabite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Moab
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgaba View Post
I always used 93 octane because 87 has always pinged.
I just picked up my Flashpaq yesterday...haven't even opened the box yet. The ONLY thing I plan to use it for at this point is to reset the tire size...and possibly the TPMS feature. I'm very happy with the way the Jeep runs with the factory tuning and I understand there can be problems with JW Speaker (or any LED) headlights and the DRL feature. It's interesting that you have a pinging problem on 87 octane gas. I've never used anything but 87/88 and have never heard a single ping.
__________________
2013 JKUR softtop - Photos here: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/my-...on-202906.html
Gone and fondly remembered: '03 Rubicon - Sold 10/31/12
'82 Scrambler purchased new in 1982 - sold in '96
Moabite is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2014, 03:29 PM   #23
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
The pinging is only when i'm climbing a grade but that can't be good long term. I'm not very familiar with the mechanics of the VVT function of your Pentastar but that may be why you haven't or will ever experience the pinging.
rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2014, 05:32 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
bmwsma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 31
Same exact thing happened when I did the 93 octane tune. Pinged like a sob! And fuel economy sucked! Dropped from 250 mikes per fill up to 225. Great performance though! So I went to the towing program. Great torque, fuel economy jumped to 275 miles per fill up, and no pinging. Play with the different programs; switch around, find the one that makes the investment worthwhile.
bmwsma is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-13-2014, 07:28 PM   #25
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwsma View Post
Same exact thing happened when I did the 93 octane tune. Pinged like a sob! And fuel economy sucked! Dropped from 250 mikes per fill up to 225. Great performance though! So I went to the towing program. Great torque, fuel economy jumped to 275 miles per fill up, and no pinging. Play with the different programs; switch around, find the one that makes the investment worthwhile.
I read up on the Tow Tune. It utilizes 91 tune which my JK didn't like. I also think the Tow Tune modifies the shift patterns on auto JKs which wouldn't help me but thanks for the suggestion. I'm returning the Flashpaq and once I return it and receive credit, I'll just get the Flashcal for the basics.
rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-18-2014, 01:28 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
MustangGrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Chicago burbs
Posts: 310
Does anyone know if the flashcal or similar products are like tuners for mustangs where they can only be "married" to one vehicle at a time? Or if I knew someone with one could I borrow theirs to flash my computer to be set for my 35s?
I'm kind of assuming it can only be married to one at a time but I figured id ask

Thanks I know it's a noob question lol
MustangGrl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-18-2014, 01:36 PM   #27
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
rgaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangGrl View Post
Does anyone know if the flashcal or similar products are like tuners for mustangs where they can only be "married" to one vehicle at a time? Or if I knew someone with one could I borrow theirs to flash my computer to be set for my 35s?
I'm kind of assuming it can only be married to one at a time but I figured id ask

Thanks I know it's a noob question lol
Yes, you are correct. The Flashcal, Flashpaq, & ProCal can only be married to one vehicle. They vehicle must be reset/factory defaulted before they can be used on another Jeep.
rgaba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-18-2014, 02:15 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
MustangGrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Chicago burbs
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgaba View Post
Yes, you are correct. The Flashcal, Flashpaq, & ProCal can only be married to one vehicle. They vehicle must be reset/factory defaulted before they can be used on another Jeep.
That's what I thought. Thanks!
MustangGrl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2014, 07:14 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 31
i went with the flashcal....then wanted tuning ability. i called superchips, you can go to there web site and down load the flashpaq software into your flash cal.so if you can spin the 349 right away but need to configure your rig for tires and gears and whatever else. go with the cal. then when you can flash the cal to a paq for 179 on the website.....

ghost13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC