Superchips Flashpaq - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-01-2014, 04:03 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
13jwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Alaska
Posts: 263
Superchips Flashpaq

I just ordered mine today. Is anybody running one of these and how do you like it? What tune are you running and tire size? I have a 2014 JKUR sitting on 35's. Any and all comments/opinions would be great.

__________________
Keep On Keeping On! Follow my build here, http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/20...ld-483801.html
13jwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2014, 04:08 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Creatrix98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Shippensburg, PA
Posts: 304
There has been a few case of 2014 with automatic trans having some issues. I have one for my 2014 and heard about the issues so I called Superchips. The guy I talked to said they have had a few issues that he knows of but of the thousands of Flashpaq's they have sold a failure is rare. He did suggest to make sure to update the Flashpaq the most recent software prior to plugging it into the Jeep for the first time. Post your results when your complete and let us know how it was.

My lift isn't going on for a few weeks so that's when I will load it.

__________________
2014 Anvil JKUR
2.5" RK Stock Mod
35x12.50x17 Nitto Trail Grapplers
MB TKO Wheels

Northridge 4x4
Creatrix98 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2014, 04:15 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 5,852
You have a lot of moxey to try one a 14 after so many reports of bricking them and no help from superchips. do a google search here and on jk forum lots of issues with 13-14's.
jadmt is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2014, 04:34 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
jgreene0717's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Wetumpka
Posts: 26
I have one for my 2014. Spend the 350 on something else. It's flakey at best. Have an open ticket with superchips and they've been no help with my issues so far. I'm sending it back if I don't hear back from them tomorrow.
jgreene0717 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2014, 06:06 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 62
I bought one for my 2012 JKU automatic. I traded in that Jeep for my 2014 Rubicon automatic and installed the Flashpaq. I have really liked it so far. Noticeable improvements to throttle response and drive ability. I also like the vehicle functions I can mess around with. I'm installing my AEV lift, 37" Nittos and 4.88 gears tomorrow! So it will be useful for the recalibration too.
I also tested my 0-60 times on my uconnect 430 with the Mygig lockpick installed. My best stock run was 7.79. My best Superchips performance 93 run was 7.03. All I know is that it works for me and my Uconnect proves it.
troyoffroad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2014, 06:12 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
13jwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Alaska
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creatrix98 View Post
There has been a few case of 2014 with automatic trans having some issues. I have one for my 2014 and heard about the issues so I called Superchips. The guy I talked to said they have had a few issues that he knows of but of the thousands of Flashpaq's they have sold a failure is rare. He did suggest to make sure to update the Flashpaq the most recent software prior to plugging it into the Jeep for the first time. Post your results when your complete and let us know how it was. My lift isn't going on for a few weeks so that's when I will load it.
Thanks for the info. I'll update it before installing!!
__________________
Keep On Keeping On! Follow my build here, http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/20...ld-483801.html
13jwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2014, 06:13 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
13jwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Alaska
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgreene0717 View Post
I have one for my 2014. Spend the 350 on something else. It's flakey at best. Have an open ticket with superchips and they've been no help with my issues so far. I'm sending it back if I don't hear back from them tomorrow.
What exactly is the problem? This doesn't sound good.
__________________
Keep On Keeping On! Follow my build here, http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/20...ld-483801.html
13jwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2014, 06:14 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
13jwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Alaska
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by troyoffroad View Post
I bought one for my 2012 JKU automatic. I traded in that Jeep for my 2014 Rubicon automatic and installed the Flashpaq. I have really liked it so far. Noticeable improvements to throttle response and drive ability. I also like the vehicle functions I can mess around with. I'm installing my AEV lift, 37" Nittos and 4.88 gears tomorrow! So it will be useful for the recalibration too. I also tested my 0-60 times on my uconnect 430 with the Mygig lockpick installed. My best stock run was 7.79. My best Superchips performance 93 run was 7.03. All I know is that it works for me and my Uconnect proves it.
Finally some good news!! I'll give it a shot and see what happens.
__________________
Keep On Keeping On! Follow my build here, http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/20...ld-483801.html
13jwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2014, 06:59 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Johndeere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Springfield Illinois
Posts: 50
I have one on my two week old JK. No problems and was able to turn off the TPMS and set everything I wanted. Just running the 87 tune. The lady doesn't need much during the week but come the weekend I'll run the 91 tune.

Just make sure to update as soon as you get it.
__________________
14 JKS Black manual, hard top, 3.73, ordered 3/5 delivered 4/15.
Johndeere is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2014, 07:15 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
JK-linux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: North Star State
Posts: 332
I've had one on my 2013 JKU since November 2013. Zero issues and runs great. My Jeep doesn't feel like a soggy sponge and the throttle lag is gone.
__________________
2013 JK Unlimited Sahara Flame Red
JK-linux is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2014, 07:25 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tewksbury, MA
Posts: 23
I am running the 87 tune on my manual 2013. The superchips throttle map is awful, it is way too aggressive for driving smooth in 1st gear. I also noticed my mileage started dropping rapidly. Once I put the stock throttle map back on with the 87 tune it was much better. Slight improvement in performance. Some people reported better mileage but mine stayed about the same around 19mpg, hopefully it goes up a little in the summer.
Moto_Mike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-02-2014, 10:04 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
jgreene0717's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Wetumpka
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by 13jwrangler View Post
What exactly is the problem? This doesn't sound good.
It's just flakey acting like I said. Will not adjust fan settings as advertised on mine. After programming mine with there 87 tune I wanted to do some other changes in the options. After I hooked it back up it then saved there 87 tune as my stock file so now I can't program back to stock. I know it did this, because now I get detonation on 87 octane fuel. I didn't with the stock file. Like I've said I've called them and all they've said is that they'll send the issue to engineering. That's been going on three weeks. It's a piece of crap in my opinion. The unit when plugged in says mine is back to stock. Now I have to run 89 or better or detonation under load will occur. Again Jeep never had issue on 87 before and now after flashpaq it does. Thanks Superchips for your assistance. I guess they don't read this forum though.
jgreene0717 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-02-2014, 10:38 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
13jwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Alaska
Posts: 263
Thanks for all the replies y'all. I cancelled my order. I'm not risking it on my brand new Jeep.
__________________
Keep On Keeping On! Follow my build here, http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/20...ld-483801.html
13jwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-04-2014, 06:16 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
OverFueled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pepperell, MA
Posts: 100
Just for the record: I woiuld like to add.

After talking to Superchips for weeks. Download after download. Sending my Flashpac back to be reprogrammed by them along with my PCM.

When I got it back it trashed my transmission (electronically). At first my jeep would not start, after three "downloads" recommended by Flashpac it still did not work (that took another week) I was down (for over a month) and with only one vehicle to get to work with I had to borrow a ride.

Four weeks latter I just got my Jeep back from the dealer trying to find out what happened to it. To much to list what they did but in the end I would say.

I WOULD NEVER PURCHASE A SUPERCHIP PRODUCT AGAIN EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

SuperChips admitted to me that they did not have a working FlashPac for a 2014 Jeep automatic. Superchips fell off the face of the earth “NO HELP” from them after the last three attempts to fix the problem.

It got very difficult to deal with them and they did not fix the problem.

SHAME ON YOU SUPERCHIPS
__________________
I drive a Jeep because it is an
"open invitation to live life to the fullest"
2014 JK Rubicon X Mods 275/65/20 Nitto Terra Grabblers / Black Rino 20" x 9.
TrukLights with Inspired Engineering LED Fog Lights
Installed Grill inserts, S-POD, A.E.V. 2.5 Lift/corrections brackets. MYGig Lock Pick.
OverFueled is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-04-2014, 08:23 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 62
Not sure how the Flashpaq can differ from Jeep to Jeep, but like I said in my previous post, I love mine. Again, I have a 2014 Rubicon 4 door auto on 37's. No issues, recalibrated for my 37's and 4.88 gears along with running the 91 octane tune. Also changed some vehicle functions like fog lights on during high beams, battery shutoff accessory delay and front and rear diff lock during 4H.
I give it a thumbs up and recommend it. Maybe people aren't properly installing them?
troyoffroad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-04-2014, 08:53 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 5,852
I would say for myself unless I was in Superchips parking lot and they put down a full payment cash deposit on my 14 wrangler in case it did not work, I would not take the gamble. Guys go to casinos and win money, but most loose, it is not worth the gamble to me. Some have had great luck others not. I think pre 2012's it would not be an issue but 13 and 14's not worth it to me.
jadmt is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-04-2014, 08:54 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Txrdstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverFueled View Post
Just for the record: I woiuld like to add. After talking to Superchips for weeks. Download after download. Sending my Flashpac back to be reprogrammed by them along with my PCM. When I got it back it trashed my transmission (electronically). At first my jeep would not start, after three "downloads" recommended by Flashpac it still did not work (that took another week) I was down (for over a month) and with only one vehicle to get to work with I had to borrow a ride. Four weeks latter I just got my Jeep back from the dealer trying to find out what happened to it. To much to list what they did but in the end I would say. I WOULD NEVER PURCHASE A SUPERCHIP PRODUCT AGAIN EVER!!!!!!!!!!!! SuperChips admitted to me that they did not have a working FlashPac for a 2014 Jeep automatic. Superchips fell off the face of the earth “NO HELP” from them after the last three attempts to fix the problem. It got very difficult to deal with them and they did not fix the problem. SHAME ON YOU SUPERCHIPS
you sure paste this every chance you get. Still have not seen anywhere you posted the "extensive " transmission damage.
Txrdstr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-04-2014, 10:58 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Johndeere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Springfield Illinois
Posts: 50
Man my jeep is trashed!!! Stock shouldn't come programmed!! Really if you haven't ever tuned before don't add the performance tune. If you want a calibrater it's easy. Just saying if you have a brand new vehicle and are willing to mess with the ECM then you can afford the FU. I have ecoboosts that are crazy fast but with growing pains but this little truck is a dream with a tune. All tuners need time for every strategy code for every configuration. Sorry if your the first, guess what they want your files to build the tune. Welcome to the world of cutting edge electric controlled motors. You bitch, do it yourself or don't do it at all and stay stock. Yes for manual their throttle map is to sensitive.
__________________
14 JKS Black manual, hard top, 3.73, ordered 3/5 delivered 4/15.
Johndeere is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2014, 12:57 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
Jpconrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Socal
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by troyoffroad View Post
Not sure how the Flashpaq can differ from Jeep to Jeep, but like I said in my previous post, I love mine. Again, I have a 2014 Rubicon 4 door auto on 37's. No issues, recalibrated for my 37's and 4.88 gears along with running the 91 octane tune. Also changed some vehicle functions like fog lights on during high beams, battery shutoff accessory delay and front and rear diff lock during 4H. I give it a thumbs up and recommend it. Maybe people aren't properly installing them?
Same here except no 37s and did the 87 economy tune. No problems whatsoever.
Jpconrad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2014, 06:18 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by 13jwrangler View Post
Thanks for all the replies y'all. I cancelled my order. I'm not risking it on my brand new Jeep.

Smart move.
demarpaint is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2014, 06:49 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
TexMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johndeere View Post
Man my jeep is trashed!!! Stock shouldn't come programmed!! Really if you haven't ever tuned before don't add the performance tune. If you want a calibrater it's easy. Just saying if you have a brand new vehicle and are willing to mess with the ECM then you can afford the FU. I have ecoboosts that are crazy fast but with growing pains but this little truck is a dream with a tune. All tuners need time for every strategy code for every configuration. Sorry if your the first, guess what they want your files to build the tune. Welcome to the world of cutting edge electric controlled motors. You bitch, do it yourself or don't do it at all and stay stock. Yes for manual their throttle map is to sensitive.
Your English is kind of rough to read.
Are you trying to say that with tuners like this you should expect to buy a product and be a beta tester, then get no support and be okay with that? I personally don't use them. Anytime I have one of my cars tuned it's always a custom tune done at a shop. However, I've been around racing my whole life and I can't think of a single person that I've ever known who doesn't own or work at a shop yet, has the ability to access a car's ecu and change the parameters their self. I'm not even aware of anyone that sells something that would allow that on a 3.6L Wrangler.

Oh and by the way...are you the guy on the left or right?




TexMedic is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2014, 07:42 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Txrdstr View Post
you sure paste this every chance you get. Still have not seen anywhere you posted the "extensive " transmission damage.
I agree. Have had no trouble with my Flashpaq and 14 JKU after the initial trouble of them not having a tune for mine and having to send them my file. After that it was smooth sailing. I continue to see this same post in every Flashpaq thread.
__________________
2014 JKU Polar Edition:
Hydro Blue - Auto - 3.73 - TF 2.5" BB - 18" Monsters/35" Terra Grapplers

My Build Thread
ccarrico29 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2014, 09:25 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
JK-linux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: North Star State
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccarrico29 View Post
I agree. Have had no trouble with my Flashpaq and 14 JKU after the initial trouble of them not having a tune for mine and having to send them my file. After that it was smooth sailing. I continue to see this same post in every Flashpaq thread.
Same experience here, but with my 2013 JK. I had a vehicle CALID that Superchips wasn't in possession of when the tuner was shipped. I bought about 1 month after their retail release for 2013 models and I cursed their very existence for about 10 minutes when the tuner didn't work right out of the box. Then, I emailed them, followed their instructions, sent them my file, updated my tuner 2 days later, and was good to go. For what it's worth, I had the same experience with Diablosport on my 2008 Charger, so I sort of knew what was going on with the Jeep. Both companies were very helpful. The fixes are not "instant" with tunes and you have to wait a day or two after they get your CALID for them to write the new tune for your software. Patience helps when messing with vehicle tunes.
__________________
2013 JK Unlimited Sahara Flame Red
JK-linux is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2014, 10:18 AM   #24
Tire Expert

WF Supporting Member
 
TurkTTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 321
I have a 14 2-door manual Rubi and I had some problems when I first got the FlashPaq, but they fixed the issue and it has worked fine for me ever since!
__________________
2014 JK Rubicon
ANVIL
2 Doors, 3 pedals, soft top

Build thread: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/tu...ml#post7091657
TurkTTR is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2014, 10:26 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
13jwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Alaska
Posts: 263
I suppose once everything gets "ironed," out I'll reorder but for now it's on hold.
__________________
Keep On Keeping On! Follow my build here, http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/20...ld-483801.html
13jwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2014, 11:11 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
jgreene0717's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Wetumpka
Posts: 26
I sent mine back. Didn't work properly for my 2014. Almost a month and still know contact from Superchips after my initial call in. Ive talked to them atleast a half a dozen times. All they said is that the engineers had my file and were working on my issues. Thanks Morris 4X4 for your help on the matter.
jgreene0717 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2014, 06:05 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
OverFueled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pepperell, MA
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Txrdstr View Post
you sure paste this every chance you get. Still have not seen anywhere you posted the "extensive " transmission damage.
The dealership had to replace the transmission with a new one.

I go out of my way to stop trash like super chips.

If it worked (or if they fixed the problem)

I would have gone the other way singing there praises!!!!!!
__________________
I drive a Jeep because it is an
"open invitation to live life to the fullest"
2014 JK Rubicon X Mods 275/65/20 Nitto Terra Grabblers / Black Rino 20" x 9.
TrukLights with Inspired Engineering LED Fog Lights
Installed Grill inserts, S-POD, A.E.V. 2.5 Lift/corrections brackets. MYGig Lock Pick.
OverFueled is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2014, 06:13 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
OverFueled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pepperell, MA
Posts: 100
By the way here is the rest of the story.

I believe that the “People” at SuperChips are reading all the stuff. And they can’t reply because they don’t have an answer to the truth of what I and others are saying about there product.

I offered them a way out to “Fix” my jeep and they would not…….

So I replied to them with “you can fix my Jeep and I will sing you praises or you can ignore me in which case I will spent my time “trashing” your product until you come up with a solution to resolve this present situation.”

Which they have not even tried to resolve in a trustworthy manner, that any other company would do. Just to stand behind there “claims” of having a product that works in the 2014 JK Rubicon Automatic. Sometimes!

I would consider them to having no moral compass in fair business ethics.

Bottom line if you purchase it your the "SUCKER" they got your money.


The dealer spent two weeks installing new PCM, Transmission, Reflash, twice completely went through the ECM, PCM and all the transmission modules.

I read that it (FlashPac) does not change anything in the PCM. That is not true. It screwed mine up so bad it took a total replace. All new parts. Replaced.

SuperCRAP! Did not want to give me any money for any of the repairs.
And down time.

They did not “feel” Responsible. Even though everything worked fine until I plugged in the programmer. Easy to say to me you can’t prove it was us who did that. When in fact it has happened to many others the same way.

SuperCrap did send me my PCM and "told me it was good" another BS line from them. If it was "good" then why did they try to have me update it right after I got it from them??????? More BS from Superchip.

I can tell you why. Because it wasn't any good and they knew it, they were using me as a "test" they wanted my PCM program to further there sales. Which I consider that “STEALING” from them. All that just to say "we have a working" 2014 JK programmer when in the end they did not and to this day do not have a working program. Its your vehicle you can do what you think best as for me I would stay away.
__________________
I drive a Jeep because it is an
"open invitation to live life to the fullest"
2014 JK Rubicon X Mods 275/65/20 Nitto Terra Grabblers / Black Rino 20" x 9.
TrukLights with Inspired Engineering LED Fog Lights
Installed Grill inserts, S-POD, A.E.V. 2.5 Lift/corrections brackets. MYGig Lock Pick.
OverFueled is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2014, 07:19 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 36
Did you have to pay for the repairs?

Adam556 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC