Superchips Question - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-13-2014, 09:27 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
bfschor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 278
Superchips Question

Has anyone had any problems with Superchips after installation?

I just installed the 3870 version on my 2013 jk 6-speed and love it. I bought it after reading all the good reviews....and yes, there were a few bad reviews. But I figured if give it a shot before investing in a supercharger, which uses a programmer like Superchips, though it's a Diablo.

Anyway, my download went flawless. I even changed to a custom tune without any problems. But I got to thinking.....how many people ever experienced a problem with their tune and/or tuner after they installed it successfully? Any problems later down the road?

I've got 30 days to try this out....today was my first real drive with it. I can feel the performance increase (93 tune), it's nice, but it's not "OMG this is awesome!". Other than the performance, my ProCal does everything else I want it to do.

bfschor is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-13-2014, 11:18 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
stad33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 115
I'm going on week 2 after changing the tune on my '13 auto with the superchips...no issues yet

stad33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-13-2014, 12:16 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 85
From my experiences with Superchips products which are extensive seeing that I was an authorized dealer at one time, if your vehicle is well maintained, you have a fully charged battery, good O2's, and follow instructions, they are pretty trouble free.
Specwar is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-14-2014, 07:20 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
JPzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 146
Spec - Why do you reference a "fully charged battery"? I ask because I just ordered a flashpaq 3870 for my 2011 jku and will be here Friday. The battery is almost 3 yrs old and on cold mornings seems to start slower than on warmer mornings. Should I purchase a new battery to prevent future problems? And sorry to the original poster didn't mean to hijack your thread.
__________________
JPzilla is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-14-2014, 07:33 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
bfschor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPzilla View Post
Spec - Why do you reference a "fully charged battery"? I ask because I just ordered a flashpaq 3870 for my 2011 jku and will be here Friday. The battery is almost 3 yrs old and on cold mornings seems to start slower than on warmer mornings. Should I purchase a new battery to prevent future problems? And sorry to the original poster didn't mean to hijack your thread.
No skin off my back, bro.....hijack away! The more people talk about this thing, the more we learn about it.
From what I've read about why some hook up a charger......the programmer can be a little finicky and if it encounters a dip in voltage during a tune, it could cause a problem. Again, this is just how I understood a few comments about this. We'll prob get a better response from Spec or someone else on here.
bfschor is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2014, 06:55 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfschor View Post
No skin off my back, bro.....hijack away! The more people talk about this thing, the more we learn about it.
From what I've read about why some hook up a charger......the programmer can be a little finicky and if it encounters a dip in voltage during a tune, it could cause a problem. Again, this is just how I understood a few comments about this. We'll prob get a better response from Spec or someone else on here.
Your absolutely correct. Once the programmer starts the unloading/loading process,you do not want any interuptions.Read the Superchips instructions carefully before you start.
Specwar is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2014, 07:21 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
bfschor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 278
I've gotta call Superchips today due to issues I'm having with throttle response in my 6-speed. In every program (93, 91, and 87), when cruising down the road (in any gear), after I've let off the throttle and the slowly apply the throttle, it jerks. You can feel it and hear it through the drivetrain. The only setting I haven't tried is the Tow setting, but I can't imagine why it'd be any different. Otherwise, the power diff is really nice? But I hate the touchiness of the throttle.
bfschor is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2014, 08:55 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Branman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 597
You can try the moderate throttle setting which is loaded in your tuner. I like the moderate more because its right between the aggressive superchips throttle and the stock throttle response.
__________________
2014 2dr ANVIL Rubicon

My Build Thread
Branman is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2014, 09:18 AM   #9
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 31,463
3.8 4:10's I run 93 tune, the most aggressive throttle tune and the Sprintbooster. On road it's great ... Off ... Not so much.
__________________
2007 Rubicon/Rock Krawler TR 2.5 coils/rear TB/Rancho 9000 31/32XL shocks/Teraflex monster TB/Synergy highsteer,tie rod, ball joints/Hankook MT 315-75-16 on Level 8 ZX's/MC front SB links/Rancho geo brackets & shocks/Fox ATS stabilizer/Adams front DS=Frankinlift from hell.

Lifting your JK? Read this!!



Click HERE to become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
kjeeper10 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2014, 04:41 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
JPzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 146
Thanks for the responses!
__________________
JPzilla is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-15-2014, 06:08 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
bfschor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Branman View Post
You can try the moderate throttle setting which is loaded in your tuner. I like the moderate more because its right between the aggressive superchips throttle and the stock throttle response.
I never tried the aggressive throttle load, only the moderate. Then I tried it w/o any throttle tune with 93, 91, and 87 tune.....it's still bad! I don't feel like my drivetrain would last very long if I left any kind of performance tune in it for very long. It really slams it.

I went back to stock for my drive home today and it was sooo smooth! I didn't have a chance to call Superchips, so I'll try again tomorrow.

bfschor is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC