Tire Carrier/Speedo & TPMS Adjustment (NH) - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-17-2014, 08:21 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 1,035
Tire Carrier/Speedo & TPMS Adjustment (NH)

Hi All,
Ordering new wheels/tires tomorrow (15" MB Razor with 33x12.5x15 Duratracs) and I've got two questions: 1. What will I have to do for my spare tire carrier to work? 2. Is it better to pay the $275 for new TPMS or buy a procal? I have a 2010 Islander with stock 32" MT's.

Thanks!

__________________
"I have a great ambition to die of exhaustion rather than boredom."
thinkxingu is offline   Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 08:46 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
geauxwillett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 178
Unless you are doing heavy wheeling, your stock carrier should work fine. As for TPMS, I think it's BS. I know when my tire is flat or low enough to be concerned by the way my Jeep handles. Get a Flashpaq to turn it off, change your tire size and get tuning options. Money better spent IMO

__________________
My Jeep Build

“What a day for trampin’ through the woods … lump dum do di do do doh, doo dah, doo dah” - Foghorn Leghorn
geauxwillett is offline   Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 09:05 PM   #3
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,664
AEV Procal $159.

You will need the Daystar bumpstops for the tire to sit on your stock carrier without causing issues. Because of the new back spacing, your tire won't touch the stock bumpstops.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 12:12 PM   #4
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Front Royal, VA
Posts: 2,234
You can retain the stock TPMS by either pulling them out of your current wheels or picking up a set from eBay for cheaper than the shop wants. However, you do need to recal your speedo for the new tires, so the ProCal daggo mentioned will fix that and delete the TPMS if you want.
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
AEV 2.5XT lift, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood, Warn 9.5cti-s, Teraflex carrier/hinge, Yukon 4.56 gears
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 02:22 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 1,035
Perfect, thanks guys!
__________________
"I have a great ambition to die of exhaustion rather than boredom."
thinkxingu is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 02:27 PM   #6
ox locker advocate

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
tabber02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: left coast, florida
Posts: 11,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
AEV Procal $159.

You will need the Daystar bumpstops for the tire to sit on your stock carrier without causing issues. Because of the new back spacing, your tire won't touch the stock bumpstops.


only one thing to add. once you install the new tires. measure them. just because the sidewall says 33" doesn't mean it's exactly 33", if you want your speedometer to be accurate, take the time to measure.
__________________
-bob

2010 JK - Mountain Edition
i spend way too much money on it... that's all


Do you like bacon? I do too, but only supporting members really like bacon, so.... Support the WranglerForum, you spend enough time here! Click here to find out how to become a Supporting Member...


Do it! DO IT NOW!!!!!
tabber02 is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 07:52 PM   #7
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Front Royal, VA
Posts: 2,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by tabber02 View Post
only one thing to add. once you install the new tires. measure them. just because the sidewall says 33" doesn't mean it's exactly 33", if you want your speedometer to be accurate, take the time to measure.
Very important point, my 33.1" tires were actually 33.25 and my 35's came out as 33.5, so definitely measure.
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
AEV 2.5XT lift, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood, Warn 9.5cti-s, Teraflex carrier/hinge, Yukon 4.56 gears
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 06:14 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 1,035
Hi! I noticed my speedometer was a bit off the other night using a GPS app. Can I just do the same thing and then change settings if reading isn't right or should I just program with my new Procal anyway?

__________________
"I have a great ambition to die of exhaustion rather than boredom."
thinkxingu is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC