TPMS issue moving from tire to tire - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-28-2014, 10:12 PM   #1
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
MnJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 450
TPMS issue moving from tire to tire

Read through a number of TPMS threads but haven't come across this issue.

2014 Jeep JK, 6,700 miles, 33" Duratrac's, stock TPMS

About 3-4 weeks ago, rotated the tires (rotated in the spare). About 2 days later, the driver/front TPMS stopped reading for a day, then came back on-line but read 10 lbs low (double checked pressure in all tires).

Three days later, it started reading correctly and immediately the passenger/front TPMS did the same thing. Sometimes it would not read any pressure, then it would read 10 lbs low, then would go out again, then read normally. Gave it some time to see if it would self-correct but never did. Checked on-line and via dealer to see if there was some type of re-set switch (there is not) but did find some who recommended disconnecting the battery for about 10 min (tried, didn't help).

Brought it to the dealer today, they confirmed the issue and replaced the passenger/front sensor. About 15 minutes after leaving, the problem now moved to the passenger/rear tire. Since the issue is going from wheel to wheel, I'm thinking the issue is not with the tire sensor but with the computer that is receiving the sensor signals.

Again, haven't found anything posted on this particular variant of TPMS issues so am looking to see if anyone has had this problem and, if so, if it was a central issue or if it is just a bad batch of tire sensors.

Thanks!

__________________
2014 JKS Anvil, 2dr, manual with all the fix in's
Build Thread: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/mn...-394330-7.html

1997 Jeep TJ - sold
1989 Jeep XJ - sold
MnJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2014, 11:01 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
freedomrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: st. george utah
Posts: 210
I have been having this same issue over the course of the last year and it just continues to bounce around from wheel to wheel

freedomrider is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2014, 07:15 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
itscakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Each tpms is registered to a certain tire. When you rotate your tires you have to reprogram the tpms to that axel. I would hope the dealership properly registered each tpms accordingly and not just the one they replaced.
itscakes is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2014, 07:25 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
DWDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 833
Itscakes is correct, but having worked at a GM dealership I can contest that many techs do not reset the TPMS, purely out of laziness. So that most likely is your guys problems.
DWDK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2014, 07:29 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
WaltA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: 3rd Planet, Sol system
Posts: 2,370
From my experience, the TPMS will self-adjust (self-register, self-learn) to the change in location of the sensors on its own. I think officially it can take up to 10 miles of driving, but for me, it took only about 3 or 4 miles.

If you're looking at the tire pressure readings on the EVIC, it will continue to display the "old" readings, and then suddenly, they will swap around to the correct, new, readings.
__________________
Current Jeep:
2014 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon X
Previous Jeeps:
1987 Wrangler Laredo
1999 Cherokee Limited (Up Country,Trailer Tow)
[All custom ordered, purchased new]
WaltA is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2014, 07:29 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
dwtgolden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by itscakes View Post
Each tpms is registered to a certain tire. When you rotate your tires you have to reprogram the tpms to that axel. I would hope the dealership properly registered each tpms accordingly and not just the one they replaced.
Negative. Unlike other TPMS systems that do require the computer to "learn" the location of each sensor through you letting air out of each tire and the re-inflating or some other procedure, the Jeep's system is self learning. When you rotate the tires, the computer recognizes which tires are in which locations all on its own.
dwtgolden is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2014, 07:53 PM   #7
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
MnJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 450
I researched whether or not the TPMS needed to be reset and found the same as a couple folks above that the system is self-learning. Drove about 20 miles and no resolution on rear passenger that acted up after the front passenger was fixed. Will give it some time and see what happens. Not in a big hurry to go back. I suspect it is something central rather than the sensors themselves since the problem is moving from tire to tire.
__________________
2014 JKS Anvil, 2dr, manual with all the fix in's
Build Thread: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/mn...-394330-7.html

1997 Jeep TJ - sold
1989 Jeep XJ - sold
MnJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2014, 11:30 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 2,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by itscakes View Post
Each tpms is registered to a certain tire. When you rotate your tires you have to reprogram the tpms to that axel.
Not according to the owner's manual. Just drive up to 20 minutes for the computer to learn the new location.
RoadiJeff is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-30-2014, 12:26 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Ruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaltA View Post
From my experience, the TPMS will self-adjust (self-register, self-learn) to the change in location of the sensors on its own. I think officially it can take up to 10 miles of driving, but for me, it took only about 3 or 4 miles. If you're looking at the tire pressure readings on the EVIC, it will continue to display the "old" readings, and then suddenly, they will swap around to the correct, new, readings.
Yeap. That is what mine did.
__________________
2014 JKU Sport S, 6 speed manual, 4.88 gears, ARB lockers (front and rear), synergy ball joints, axle sleeves, c gussets, 3.5 inch Metalcloak Duroflex kit, Teraflex tuned fox shocks with remote reservoirs, 315/75/16 Duratracs sitting on ProComp 7069, AEV snorkel with a pre filter. Stubby front bumper (ebay), Smittybilt XRC 9500 lb winch, KC fog lights, KC windshield mounted long range spot lights, KC driving lights. Rock sliders/steps (ebay).
Ruski is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-30-2014, 07:16 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
itscakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
My bad for the false info guys. Me I'll have to read up on that. Glad you got it fixed
itscakes is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-30-2014, 09:53 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,062
Could be bad sensors. Not that often though.
nwbronco is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2014, 04:56 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
DWDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by itscakes View Post
My bad for the false info guys. Me I'll have to read up on that. Glad you got it fixed
Lol I had your back . I have never worked with Chrysler TPMS just GM and they need to be reset manually, so had assumed the same here.
DWDK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-02-2014, 10:50 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
itscakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by DWDK View Post
Lol I had your back . I have never worked with Chrysler TPMS just GM and they need to be reset manually, so had assumed the same here.
Yea same here work for Nissan even tho Nissan will re learn auto you still have to register the sensor to the computer. Learn something everyday
itscakes is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-04-2014, 01:09 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Themyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 53
I put 35s on my 2014 had the same issue at first but has seem to subsided
Themyth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-04-2014, 10:25 PM   #15
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
MnJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Themyth View Post
I put 35s on my 2014 had the same issue at first but has seem to subsided
Hoping that will happen. How long did it take yours to settle down?
__________________
2014 JKS Anvil, 2dr, manual with all the fix in's
Build Thread: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/mn...-394330-7.html

1997 Jeep TJ - sold
1989 Jeep XJ - sold
MnJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2014, 08:24 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Themyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by MnJK View Post
Hoping that will happen. How long did it take yours to settle down?
Put them on last Monday, I put enough air in them for the light to go away. It would come and go for about a week but is gone now. And air sensors did adjust to where they are I did notice. I have a 2014..
Themyth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-07-2014, 12:00 AM   #17
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
MnJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Themyth View Post
Put them on last Monday, I put enough air in them for the light to go away. It would come and go for about a week but is gone now. And air sensors did adjust to where they are I did notice. I have a 2014..
Sounds like you had better luck! I held out about 3 weeks the first time around without the sensor working consistently. Has been a week now with the next one that went out and still not working.
__________________
2014 JKS Anvil, 2dr, manual with all the fix in's
Build Thread: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/mn...-394330-7.html

1997 Jeep TJ - sold
1989 Jeep XJ - sold
MnJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-07-2014, 07:28 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Themyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 53
Ya, this sounds like a hit or miss situation
Themyth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-07-2014, 10:27 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
Revyjku08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Revelstoke, BC
Posts: 345
get a Programmer...deactivate or set tire pressure below 25 PSI and eliminate the stupid (_!_) light!
__________________
08JKU - 3:73/6spd/OME HD lift/35x12.50 Cooper STT's/ LOD bumpers/Warn XD9000i/Bushwacker Flats/IPF headlights/Superchips/AEV Snorkel

"Modifying a JK is like wiping your ass with a Hula-Hoop it's never ending"
Revyjku08 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2014, 11:24 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Ruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 371
Just did a five tire rotation and my passenger side front censor wasnt working, drove for about 50 plus miles still not working. I have 33 inch tires and running an AEV Procal to calibrate for proper tire size and lower TPMS threshold. I reprogrammed the jeep back to stock settings and after about 2 miles the censor reset itself and works fine. So I put the Procal calibration and the threshold back on and after about 5 miles my driver side rear censor goes out lol. Programmed it back, will see what happens tomorrow. Hopefully by the next rotation cycle all of the censors will settle down so I could go through this crap again lol. Probably just gonna disable the TPMS cause it's kinda annoying.
__________________
2014 JKU Sport S, 6 speed manual, 4.88 gears, ARB lockers (front and rear), synergy ball joints, axle sleeves, c gussets, 3.5 inch Metalcloak Duroflex kit, Teraflex tuned fox shocks with remote reservoirs, 315/75/16 Duratracs sitting on ProComp 7069, AEV snorkel with a pre filter. Stubby front bumper (ebay), Smittybilt XRC 9500 lb winch, KC fog lights, KC windshield mounted long range spot lights, KC driving lights. Rock sliders/steps (ebay).
Ruski is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-22-2014, 11:31 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 2,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruski View Post
I reprogrammed the jeep back to stock settings and after about 2 miles the censor reset itself and works fine.
Censor??? Was your Jeep cursing or something?

Sorry, it's past my bedtime.
RoadiJeff is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-22-2014, 11:51 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Ruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadiJeff View Post
Censor??? Was your Jeep cursing or something? Sorry, it's past my bedtime.
lol No, but the driver was

__________________
2014 JKU Sport S, 6 speed manual, 4.88 gears, ARB lockers (front and rear), synergy ball joints, axle sleeves, c gussets, 3.5 inch Metalcloak Duroflex kit, Teraflex tuned fox shocks with remote reservoirs, 315/75/16 Duratracs sitting on ProComp 7069, AEV snorkel with a pre filter. Stubby front bumper (ebay), Smittybilt XRC 9500 lb winch, KC fog lights, KC windshield mounted long range spot lights, KC driving lights. Rock sliders/steps (ebay).
Ruski is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC