TPMS reset - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-15-2014, 02:53 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 64
TPMS reset

Hi

Just got new wheels and tires for my 2014 JK. I filled all 5 tires to 40 psi and drove for over 100 miles already. The TPMS is still not reset yet and the system error still on. Am I doing something wrong? Thanks!

darocky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 03:30 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 2,702
Did the sensors get moved over to your new rims? Also, have you tried adding a few more lbs to them?

Bob K.

nwbronco is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 04:04 PM   #3
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,466
Images: 1
The first thing to do is to make sure wherever you purchased the tires/rims put the sensors back on the wheels.
kik is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 04:11 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
psouza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Watsonville, California
Posts: 54
The transponders should have registered within the first 100 feet, if present.

Phil
psouza is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 04:39 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 64
I'm using the sensors from the 2013 rubicon wheels set I bought.
darocky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 04:52 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
psouza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Watsonville, California
Posts: 54
psouza is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 05:23 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by psouza View Post
Yea is these the 433mhz one.
darocky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 05:54 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 2,702
What model year is your Wrangler? The 13's are different from previous years'.
nwbronco is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 06:57 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 64
Is 2014 and the TPMS is showing "--"
darocky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 07:20 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
jeeptjduner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Muskegon
Posts: 501
I would go to a tire place like Discount Tire to have them checked to make sure they are the correct sensors. They have a tool that they can use to scan the outside of your tire and check the frequency of the sensor. Where did you have them put in?
jeeptjduner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 07:41 PM   #11
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,119
System error? If there is an issue with one of the sensors or they are missing, the light will blink for 75 seconds then remain on. If that is what's happening no amount of resetting will change it,
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 07:54 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 64
Thanks for all the advice. Wish there is a tire discount near me in NY. I'm just gonna bring it in to a tire shop and let them check it out. So they have to deflate the tire in order to remove the sensor right?
darocky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 08:06 PM   #13
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,466
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by darocky View Post
Thanks for all the advice. Wish there is a tire discount near me in NY. I'm just gonna bring it in to a tire shop and let them check it out. So they have to deflate the tire in order to remove the sensor right?
Yes the tire as to be. The 13 & 14 should be the same at 433mhz. If it's not working, something else is going on like daggo indicated. The computer might have to be "flashed". But, I think daggo is correct.
kik is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 08:14 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 64
Here's a pic of the dashboard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3507216747.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	101.4 KB
ID:	771337  
darocky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 08:24 PM   #15
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,119
That pic tells us nothing. Does it blink when you start the engine or not? If it doesn't and the tires are inflated to the PSI listed on your door panel and you have driven as much as you said, you have sensors that are not compatible.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 08:35 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
That pic tells us nothing. Does it blink when you start the engine or not? If it doesn't and the tires are inflated to the PSI listed on your door panel and you have driven as much as you said, you have sensors that are not compatible.
Yes it blinks then become steady. The wheels came out of a '13 rubicon not sure why it's not compatible. Anyway thanks again guys and have a nice weekend.
darocky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 09:08 PM   #17
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,119
The fact that it blinks means one of 2 things. The sensors are not present or they are defective. No amount of resetting will change that.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 10:02 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
The fact that it blinks means one of 2 things. The sensors are not present or they are defective. No amount of resetting will change that.
TY again. Im just gonna order new sensors and and bring it with me to the shop. I could always return them if they could fix the issue without using the new ones.
darocky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 10:07 PM   #19
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,119
They can tell you exactly which tire is defective or if they are all missing. Another option is to buy an AEV Procal and just shut the system off. A Procal will run $150. It's usually cheaper than the cost of 5 sensors, installation and balancing.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 11:40 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 2,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by darocky View Post
I filled all 5 tires to 40 psi and drove for over 100 miles already. The TPMS is still not reset yet and the system error still on.
Even though you drove it over 100 miles, did you turn it on and off a few times? I know with mine whenever I rotate the tires it takes a couple of start/stop cycles before the TPMS recognizes the new locations, in addition to the miles driven.
RoadiJeff is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2014, 06:50 AM   #21
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadiJeff View Post
Even though you drove it over 100 miles, did you turn it on and off a few times? I know with mine whenever I rotate the tires it takes a couple of start/stop cycles before the TPMS recognizes the new locations, in addition to the miles driven.
His light is blinking. That means there is a missing or defective sensor.

The owners manual is a wonderful thing:

When the
system detects a malfunction, the telltale will flash for
approximately one minute and then remain continuously
illuminated. This sequence will continue upon subsequent
vehicle start-ups as long as the malfunction exists.
When the malfunction indicator is illuminated, the system
may not be able to detect or signal low tire pressure
as intended.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2014, 10:00 AM   #22
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
texas05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Posts: 179
Mine picks up immediately. Also gives me real time reading when airing back up after deflating. Sounds like the sensors are not present.
__________________
2014 Billet JKUR
2014 Black JK

Build tread
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/20...ld-430178.html
texas05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2014, 11:02 AM   #23
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Sueby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by texas05 View Post
Mine picks up immediately. Also gives me real time reading when airing back up after deflating. Sounds like the sensors are not present.
X2. I know people hate the tpms but I love it, if for nothing else, airing back up!

Sueby is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC