Wiring a reverse camera, questions about tail light wiring - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-14-2014, 11:10 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
D1EHARD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 53
Wiring a reverse camera, questions about tail light wiring

I have a Pioneer AVH-x5500BHS head unit and I'm installing a backup camera. The radio has a feature to view the camera while in any gear, not just reverse. So I need a constant power source. I had planned on using the reverse light wiring on the tail light, but it's not constantly on.

Are any of the wires going to the tail light constantly being powered? Or will I just need to find another source?

D1EHARD is offline   Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 11:13 AM   #2
He's no good to me dead.

WF Supporting Member
 
spankinkopita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,028
Did you have the factory sub? I think that had a switched power

__________________
2012 JKU Sport S Sahara Tan
- Ordered 07/07
- Enjoyed since 08/26

spankinkopita is offline   Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 11:16 AM   #3
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 10,340
Images: 13
You got 3 choices IMO.

1. Leave it as is...

2. Tap the 12V outlet at the front of the vehicle (which is switched).

3. Tap the 12V outlet in the rear of the vehicle. Wrangler's with the premium sound system have a 12V outlet in the rear. I hear that even if you don't have the 12V outlet, the wiring is still there behind the passenger side panel. The only issue with tapping that power source is that it is always hot. So if you tap it, your camera will be on 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Not sure what kinda of draw it has (battery wise), but it is something to think about. I also don't know if the camera would ever overheat.

I do need to double check that rear outlet. I know that on my Libby, I could run my air compressor without even putting the key in the ignition from the rear outlet and I thought my Wrangler was the same way.

I'm sure there is another switched power source to tap, but I don't know where it would be.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 11:41 AM   #4
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 10,340
Images: 13
^Owners manual is useless.

It says the outlet in the dash is switched, the outlet in the center console is always hot, and that there is a 3rd outlet available if you have the premium system. It does not say if it is switched or not. If I remember to do so when I leave work tonight, I can plug in my air compressor (without a key in the ignition) to see if it is hot or not.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 11:49 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
^Owners manual is useless.

It says the outlet in the dash is switched, the outlet in the center console is always hot, and that there is a 3rd outlet available if you have the premium system. It does not say if it is switched or not. If I remember to do so when I leave work tonight, I can plug in my air compressor (without a key in the ignition) to see if it is hot or not.
That would be the thing to do. And please report what you find, I'd like to know that myself.
Tangle is offline   Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:52 PM   #6
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 10,340
Images: 13
I ran out and checked during lunch...that rear 12V outlet is indeed hot....so I would not tap that source unless you are OK with your camera being powered 24 hours a day.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:53 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Hallvalla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tahoe
Posts: 382
My b/u cam is wired to the running lights in the back rear tail light, so the lights have to be switched on for it to work.

Well, mine is actually a little wifi unit wire into the tail light...but that's another story.

Had a local car audio shop do it for $50.
__________________
2009 Sunburst Orange JKUX
Hallvalla is offline   Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:56 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
D1EHARD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 53
Looks like I will probably just run back up to the head unit. I was hoping to keep the wires in the back to keep from having to run back through the jeep, but looks like I may have to.

Thanks guys.
D1EHARD is offline   Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 01:01 PM   #9
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 10,340
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by D1EHARD View Post
Looks like I will probably just run back up to the head unit. I was hoping to keep the wires in the back to keep from having to run back through the jepe, but if I may have to.

Thanks guys.
LOL...I know exactly how you feel.

I have a non-mirror image license plate cam that I will use as a baby cam (valcro'd to the roll bar)...but I have not installed it because I just don't feel like running the wires from the rear to the front. Not that is is "hard"....but it is just tedius.

You did it once for the RCA cable on the back up camers....and you just don't feel like doing it again.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 01:09 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
D1EHARD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
LOL...I know exactly how you feel.

I have a non-mirror image license plate cam that I will use as a baby cam (valcro'd to the roll bar)...but I have not installed it because I just don't feel like running the wires from the rear to the front. Not that is is "hard"....but it is just tedius.

You did it once for the RCA cable on the back up camers....and you just don't feel like doing it again.
Exactly lol

D1EHARD is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC