02 sensors. Need help - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-18-2013, 06:47 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
02 sensors. Need help

I am the owner of a 02 tj sport. Last night my engine light came on. I took it to get checked and it came back code p0135 (o2 sensor) but I'm confused on the upstream down stream lingo. Someone please help

Davyboy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 07:19 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,606
The reference point is the catalytic converter. The upstream sensor is upstream (toward the engine) from the converter; the downstream sensor is between the converter and the tail pipe.

Bank #1 is the part of the exhaust system that contains cylinder #1. Bank #2 is the other portion of the exhaust system, if so equipped.

tangofox007 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 07:32 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
WVU Mountainman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 837
The image shows the location of sensors 1-4 and the appropriate plug locations(It may vary slightly by year). 1 and 2 are upstream while 3 and 4 are downstream(This is the way the dealership and most part houses will list them).
1 is Bank1, Sensor1
2 is Bank2, Sensor1
3 is Bank1, Sensor2
4 is Bank2, Sensor2
WVU Mountainman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 07:41 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
UnlimitedLJ04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,628
upstream and downstream is real simple.

stand in the middle of a fast moving river.

which way is the water flowing?
Where does the water come from?
which way is upstream?
which way is downstream?
Now, how do you know that?



......
Apply the same logic to the exhaust.

You're the catalytic converter, standing in a river of moving exhaust gas.

Now,
which way is upstream?
which way is downstream?
UnlimitedLJ04 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 08:01 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
WVU Mountainman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 837
I'm up the creek without a paddle
WVU Mountainman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 08:19 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Landon II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 174
I replaced one of mine because it was throwing a code. A couple of months later the same started throwing a code. Found out the brand I chose throws codes and I should have picked the other brand. I wish I could rember which one to get.
Landon II is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 08:28 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
florida4X4wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Landon II
I replaced one of mine because it was throwing a code. A couple of months later the same started throwing a code. Found out the brand I chose throws codes and I should have picked the other brand. I wish I could rember which one to get.
Which brand did you use?
florida4X4wrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 08:51 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
UpTheCreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVU Mountainman View Post
I'm up the creek without a paddle
UpTheCreek is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 02:28 AM   #9
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Yeah I plan on fixing it this month. Auto zone says they have a few in stock but how do I know what one to buy? I don't want it throwing another code
Davyboy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 04:27 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Rubicondon53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,588
Buy Mopar sensors.. The ones from auto zone are aftermarket junk. There are a few things on our jeeps that nothing less than Mopar will do. O2 sensors, waterpumps, starters, alternators, just to name a few.. With Some things, you do get what you pay for.
__________________
04' Rubi, with all the gizmos we need for long range excursions, / home modified excursion trailer;

96' Lexus 450, locked, loaded and ready to roll..
'12 VW New Beetle
Rubicondon53 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 05:45 AM   #11
FAW
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Landon II View Post
I replaced one of mine because it was throwing a code. A couple of months later the same started throwing a code. Found out the brand I chose throws codes and I should have picked the other brand. I wish I could rember which one to get.
Right, don't use the Bosch. Use the NTK brand as they are supposedly OEM.
FAW is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 06:45 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Rubicon06Va's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Forest, Va
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to Rubicon06Va
Quote:
Originally Posted by UpTheCreek View Post
Rubicon06Va is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 08:05 AM   #13
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVU Mountainman
The image shows the location of sensors 1-4 and the appropriate plug locations(It may vary slightly by year). 1 and 2 are upstream while 3 and 4 are downstream(This is the way the dealership and most part houses will list them).
1 is Bank1, Sensor1
2 is Bank2, Sensor1
3 is Bank1, Sensor2
4 is Bank2, Sensor2
Thanks for the pic! Made much more sense once I seen it.
Davyboy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 11:19 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAW View Post
Right, don't use the Bosch. Use the NTK brand as they are supposedly OEM.
I buy the mopar part number. NTK makes tons of sensors.
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 11:33 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgorm View Post
I buy the mopar part number.
No need to pay for part numbers!!!

Get them here for free:

Jeep Knowledge Base
tangofox007 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 02:40 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
WVU Mountainman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davyboy

Thanks for the pic! Made much more sense once I seen it.
No prob buddy
WVU Mountainman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 02:41 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
WVU Mountainman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by UpTheCreek

Lol
WVU Mountainman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 06:38 PM   #18
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Got a new one put in. Got the engine light off. Took 10 minutes. Thanks for the info!

Davyboy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC