2004 Car Stereo Wiring HELP! - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-11-2013, 06:00 PM   #31
Jeeper
 
Parsonsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 218
Yea, if this one is not working I will put in an aftermarket. The PO said it stopped working about 3 years back but he put so much aftermarket stuff in I am thinking he clipped or knocked the ground off. The stereo works fine so I know it is grounded OK. Not looking forward to tracing this thing which is why i was asking if anyone knew where the harness was grounded.

Parsonsm is offline   Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 06:08 PM   #32
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NNY
Posts: 3
It sounds like the amp is working if the other speaker s are playing because they all go through factory amp. That's not a guarantee though, have you pulled the sub to look at it?
Easy way to check the sub is to see if it moves freely, most subs when they blow will stop moving freely.

Mosesman18 is offline   Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 06:17 PM   #33
Jeeper
 
BigCrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 282
Ground wire should be grounded between the 4wd selectorand the shifter on drivers side beneath the console.
BigCrave is offline   Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 06:19 PM   #34
Jeeper
 
BigCrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosesman18 View Post
It sounds like the amp is working if the other speaker s are playing because they all go through factory amp. That's not a guarantee though, have you pulled the sub to look at it?
Easy way to check the sub is to see if it moves freely, most subs when they blow will stop moving freely.
All the speakers do not go "through" the amp. The amp is connected to all four speakers on the input side, but not on the output side.
BigCrave is offline   Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 07:32 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
Parsonsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 218
Yes, the speakers worked fine even with the sub unplugged. Also, I am replacing the amp speaker itself with a new one. Thanks for the tip on the grounding location, I will look for it tomorrow and check the ground. Would be a blessing if the solution was this simple.
Parsonsm is offline   Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 07:33 PM   #36
Jeeper
 
Parsonsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 218
Sorry, meant to say I am replacing the sub which is why I have the whole thing torn apart right now. The old speaker was blown. Hopefully this will work and I can move on to the next thing.
Parsonsm is offline   Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 07:40 PM   #37
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
I put a new sub in my 04 and got nothing when I turned it on. Took it apart and put it back together twice before it occurred to me it might be a fuse. I think it may have been a 20 amp, but whoever had it before me had removed the fuse completely to disable the sub, so it was just an empty slot. Popped on a fuse and voila, problem solved. All the other speakers don't run through the factory amp, because my system sounded fine without the sub, it's just much better with it!
Jamey62 is offline   Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 08:19 PM   #38
Jeeper
 
Parsonsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 218
Yes, checked all the fuses and they are fine. On,y looked st the ones behind the glove box, if there are others I should check, please advise. Thanks.
Parsonsm is offline   Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:07 PM   #39
Jeeper
 
cchartrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 315
Ok. Sounds like you're ready to pull your hair out. Don't. I also have an 04' and if my sub never worked again I wouldn't cry. It sucks. If all your other speakers work, and sound good, epic win for you. Now go buy a real sub and small amp, wire it up from scratch, and thank me for it. It wasn't till I got my build sheet that I realized that slight vibration In my right leg WAS a sub. Take that stock sub setup into a field, and stomp it Office Space style! Just a thought.
cchartrand is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 04:47 PM   #40
Jeeper
 
Parsonsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 218
Success, turns out I did have a loose ground wire under the dash near the steering column. Secured that and everything fell into place. Sounds pretty good too. Thanks for all the help and advice guys I could not have done it without you.

Parsonsm is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC