'99tj-turns over, wont start. New CPS.. now what?? - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-30-2009, 10:37 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
'99tj-turns over, wont start. New CPS.. now what??

I have a 99 4L wrangler. manual tranny.

Hey guys.. first off, thanks for all the info in here..i have been reading and taken the first steps to getting my tj back up and running.
Here is the story. Last few months every now and then i will get a check engine light come on.. i had it tested and it was something like 'too much fuel in the carb' i dont exactly remember. It typically goes away after a few engine cycles. Anyway, today i started it up fine, ran a quick errand, and then came back. Went to leave again with my wife and nothing.. it turns over.. just no starting. I thought it might be flooded, so i waited for a bit.. still nothing. so we scrapped the plans for the day and i got on the net. Read about the Crankshaft position sensor, and thought that would be a good place to start. Changed that out and still the same thing. nothing. Turns over, no starting. I sprayed starting fluid down the carb, and it acts as like its going to start, but still nothing. I am thinking its not the CPS..the Carb looked bone dry when trying to start it. Is that a sign of not getting gas? I dont hear the pump starting up when i turn the key on.. but i am not 100% sure what i am listening for.

So.. Fuel Pump Next? what do you think. I will be changing plugs and wires in the morning as well, but I thought i would ask the great people of jeep land about it.

Thanks for the input

jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 11:14 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Sorry guys.. the title should read

'99tj TURNS over..but wont start. New CPS.. now what.. sorry i couldnt find how to edit the title of my post.

jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 06:35 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 126
well the carb isn't actually a carb its just a throttle body, fuel is injected into the engine via the intake manifold. that's why it looks dry, have you checked for spark?
RhcSavage21 is offline   Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 08:29 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Ah, i see.. thanks. well thats good to know. I will be checking for a spark this morning before shelling out for a new fuel pump. Thanks for the step. I will post my results
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 08:35 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
just a thought here... but if it started when i shot starting fluid into it wouldn't that tell me i had a spark? it just wouldn't stay running. That is what lead me to think that i wasnt getting fuel. Thanks everyone.
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 12:40 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
changed the relay under the hood whit the horn. Still nothing. still no sound from the fuel pump. Any thoughts?
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 01:28 PM   #7
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,193
My engine suddenly died in May while offroading and it turned out to be a bad ignition coil.

Remove one of the spark plug wires and while cranking, hold the wire's connector (pull the boot back) near the block and see if you're getting spark between it and the block. If you're not getting spark, it could be the ignition coil. If you're getting spark but it's not starting, the fuel pump probably just isn't being enabled by the computer.

In modern computerized engines, the computer will disable the fuel pump if the computer isn't getting all the check signals it requires... like signals from the crankshaft position sensor and camshaft position sensor.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 02:01 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
ok, i will try that. Is there anyway of checking to see if you are getting a spark.. alone? i might not have anyone around to help me for a bit. I will see if my neighbor is home or something. so just fold the boot back to expose the metal clip and hold it close to the engine block? like 1-2 inches away?

thanks again for all the help guys
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 02:51 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
ok.. tested for spark.. and there is a spark. Dang those boots are hard to fold back.. but i did it and i saw the spark.. Do i need to test all the wires? i only tested 1. but i got spark.. so now i really think its fuel pump. should i spend the extra cash and just get the whole assembly?
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 07:33 PM   #10
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,193
If you got a spark from one wire, the rest of the wires are probably fine and I wouldn't bother testing the others. I still wouldn't bet the fuel pump itself is bad, remember that the computer will disable the fuel pump if the computer isn't happy with all of its inputs. I'd check the camshaft position sensor's connector & reseat it. I hate to say to replace the camshaft position sensor but it's a whole lot cheaper and easier replacing that than the fuel pump. I always start at the cheapest/easiest part and work my way back from there. Especially since it wouldn't start even when you put fuel/starter fluid in the throttle body. I might try squirting a little fuel into the TB and if it starts, be more suspicious of the fuel pump. But if it still doesn't start, I'd be more suspicious of the camshaft position sensor
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 08:09 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Thanks Jerry,

Here is the latest. I went ahead and replaced the fuel pump. Still no go. I didnt do the whole assembly, but got the pump in, and everything back in place. Like i said. Still no go. Oh well. At 130k i am sure its alright to replace the pump. So i am looking at it like a positive thing.

I looked through my haynes manual, and couldnt see a camshaft sensor. i dont know where that is, but i will do some searching on here. That will be my next thing to try.

Am i reading your post correctly, can i just put some gas in a spray bottle and spray that into the throttle body? Is that TB?

Any help on the Camshaft position sensor would be helpful

Thanks.
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 10:10 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
ok, well i am spent for the night. i still dont hear any noise coming from the fuel pump. any thoughts? i am going to work on the camshaft sensor tomorrow. I appreciate all the help on this.

Thanks
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 01:21 AM   #13
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,193
The camshaft position sensor is located inside the distributor housing, underneath the round plastic shield that protects the bottom half accessible after you remove the distributor cap. Pull the rotor and then remove the plastic shield underneath, the CPS is underneath.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 12:16 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Jerry,

once i replace the camshaft sensor, am i going to be in need of some service from the factory? i was reading some other posts trying to figure out my issue, and read about the "distributor/camshaft position sensor timing adjustment they can do". will that need to be done? or can it just be replaced, and then away we go? just wondering.
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 12:50 PM   #15
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,193
If you just replace the CPS without monkeying around with the distributor like removing it etc., the CPS is a screw-it-in-and-forget installation.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 01:12 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
great. thanks. also, is it known by a different name? a couple of the local parts stores dont show it listed for a 99 wrangler 4.0 manual...

also, i am going to try a different crankshaft sensor. I have a feeling that other one might have been faulty. i am not sure why i think that. but i do.
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:52 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
How do you get the coil off... maybe that the wrong word... but the part that spins around.. how do you get that off so you can remover the sensor. I went and get a new crankshaft sensor today.. just on the off chance that the first on was bad.. but still nothing. I dont know how to check for voltage going to any of these parts because all the wires are sealed into the clips? am i missing something basic? I need to get this fixed, its our daily driver. Any ideas?
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 08:22 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
BOYDTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CHESTER SC
Posts: 140
So have u checked the fuel FILTER yet
BOYDTJ is offline   Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 08:55 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
the filter on top of the pump right? its like a sealed canister? i couldnt see any way to remove it without breaking everything.
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:11 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
csamn2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Peterson AFB CO
Posts: 1,911
Send a message via AIM to csamn2007
You are correct. The fuel filter is attached to the fuel pump.
csamn2007 is offline   Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:12 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
but is it replaceable? i couldnt see any way of getting it off.
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:43 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
also, i should add, that i still cannot hear.. unless i am not hearing the right thing.. i cannot hear the fuel pump priming. So i dont know why its not getting juice. There is no pressure on the fuel rail but by the throttle body either.
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 08:18 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
vettefever5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: mass
Posts: 81
i had something similar happen to me on the way home from work a few weeks ago. i was driving along fine then then engine died on me. it would turn over but wouldn't start. no noise from the fuel pump either. after some searching it sounded like the crankshaft sensor so i replaced that but still nothing.

i went on vacation last week and while the jeep was parked at my parents house my dad found that one of the 10a fuses behind the dash was blown.... some relay, not sure what one. i haven't had a chance to talk to him since being back. once he replaced it the engine fired right up. anyway, check ALL of the fuses in the engine compartment AND behind the glove box. that's probably the easiest fix of them all.
__________________
2005 rubicon unlimited
-upol interior
-tuffy center console
-generic floor mats
vettefever5 is offline   Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 09:03 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Yea, All visible fuses have been checked. as well as the 4 relays in the power distribution thing. I have swapped all the relays out with each other (using the horn relay as the tester). They all work too. (the horn works with them all in.. )
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 09:36 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
Loic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: LAS VEGAS
Posts: 794
i dont know but is there a way for you to check if the fuel pump is geting power ?
Loic is offline   Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 10:36 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
well i have a multimeter. Can i undo the plug that goes to the fuel pump, and connect the leads from the multimeter to the wires coming from the front of the vehicle, and then have some one crank it? would that give me a proper reading? That should let me know if there is power coming back to the pump.. right? What kind of voltage should it be? if power isnt getting back there.. where could it be stopping? grrrr. this is frustrating.
jhmcat is offline   Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 09:13 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
hi guys, I just wanted to give you an update on this. This is a CLOSED issue. The jeep is up and running great. Its a long story, and a couple of tows to the dealer, but long story short, one of the power wires from the PDC was crimped bad at the factory. It wasnt stripped and then crimped. it was just crimped over the wire housing. So for 10 years, the jeep has been running on just a little power connection. It could have gone out ANYWHERE, so i am glad that it happened only 2 blocks from my house. Anyway, thanks for all the help.

CASE CLOSED!

jhmcat is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good Crank w/o start, dead gages joepowles TJ Tech Forum 21 03-16-2013 04:12 PM
Takes forever to start.. Mike2000 General Jeep Discussion 7 04-10-2011 10:42 AM
2 Turns to start up... mudslinger150 TJ Tech Forum 14 08-28-2009 11:16 PM
Turns But Won't Start... Not an easy answer Cryptos TJ Tech Forum 18 06-25-2009 07:12 AM
wont start? snowmanzz13 YJ Tech Forum 10 04-14-2008 12:14 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC