Amp getting no power - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-14-2013, 04:13 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Amp getting no power

Hey guys, I fixed my problem with my head unit thanks to your guys, so I'm hoping you can help me out one last time. After hooking up my amp and trying it out, I realized it wasn't getting any power. I have so many ideas of what could be wrong so I'm thinking the easiest way to figure this out would be to just going to tell how I hooked it up and the trouble shooting I've done so far and let you guys critique it.

After getting my head unit running good, I installed my new speakers and then started on the amp. I hooked up the ground first because it seemed like the easiest to do. After that I hooked up the power to the battery. when I attached it, It sparked a bit. I assumed that just meant i had a good ground and all was well. After that, i attached the constant 12V from the back plug of the head unit to the amp. Lastly, I attached the speaker wires to of the speakers (I only attached it to one because i wanted to test if it worked before I went further). After all that, I fired it up and no power. So, my first thought was maybe the ground was bad, so I moved it around to three or four spots and still nothing. Then I decided to test the power. I broke out the multimeter and attached it to the power line coming from the battery and a ground. Nothing.

What could be the problem here? When I used the multimeter, I didn't even use the wire for the ground, just the multimeter itself to ground. So that means the only problem could be coming from the battery power. Could I have blown a fuse or something when it sparked?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

JayJitsu is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2013, 04:56 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 629
Do you have a switched wire hooked up to the amp? (It's usually blue.) It makes the amp power up when the key is on, so your amp doesn't stay on all of the time.

Shoe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2013, 05:06 PM   #3
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Yes, I found out from somewhere else I probably blew a fuse. I just need to figure out where to get a new one and how to not blow it again
JayJitsu is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2013, 05:07 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
You wired your ground first to the amp... This is Correct. ALWAYS ground any electrical component b4 wiring it live. And always use an inline fuse at the battery to your positive lead to the amp to prevent short circuits and fires... Are you sure you got a good ground to the amp? If ground is not truly grounded to chassis, then no power when you supply power... and it's possible the amp can be damaged to power without ground. With your 12 volt tester, use the grounding point of the amp for negative, and positive going to amp to test for power. If you have power and ground and NO power to amp... then yes, you need to wire in the blue amp turn on or switched wire. It usually comes from the radio or any power source that turns on when the key turns on. To wire the blue with the positive lead to the amp will turn the amp on... for testing... but the amp will never fully turn off until your battery is dead... hence you wire it to a switched source. Good luck
wirth315 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2013, 05:10 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern VT // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 1,705
Sounds like you didn't hook up the trigger (sense) to the amp.
n00g7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2013, 05:21 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Sounds like he did wire the remote turn on lead to the back of the head unit.. he said the powered wire... Hope that wire turns off with the key... Recheck ground, then retrace power wire all the way back to the battery to check for pinchs or shorts... then at battery the amp power wire should connect to an inline fuse... $3 at Walmart... wire the inline fuse to the battery and the amp lead wire to inline fuse... if you blow a fuse it's the one on the in line fuse... not the vehicle fuses...

wirth315 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.



Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC