ARB compressor and switches - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-07-2007, 01:19 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
ARB compressor and switches

hello,

i just ordered two ARB lockers and an ARB compressor.

the lockers will be installed in a jeep garage, but to save some money i want to install the wires, hoses, switches and the compressor before.

where did you mount your ARB compressor and the switches?
is there some place under the hood for the compressor?
please show some pics !!!

thanks in advance.
nicolas-eric

nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-07-2007, 08:14 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Texapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,617
mounted on the tray under the hood, driver's side
sorry, Nic no pics tonight....maybe tomorrow

__________________
got rid of the husband.....bought another Jeep

my new spotter
Texapple is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-07-2007, 08:28 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 19
Yep. Drivers side under the hood. A little dirty but you get the point.

And my switches are located just below the cigarette lighter.



Hope this helps.
y0diggy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-07-2007, 11:42 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
rketr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by y0diggy View Post
Yep. Drivers side under the hood. A little dirty but you get the point.
*2 for that one.

And for the switches (a little off camera -- to the right, but you get the picture):
rketr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 02:07 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
thanks. the compressor will fit in my jeep at the same place.
but the switches don´t. any idea where i could mount them?

here are pics where my actual switches are:

nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 03:15 AM   #6
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,621
I've seen someone mount their switches to a panel that is at the top of the windshield. I don't know if it was home made or purchased, but it looked really cool.
AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 03:57 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Levinoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Jeffersontown
Posts: 5,540
Could also do a custom job on the console. I know someone on here posted a picture they custom modded buttons on the console.


EDIT: NVM it was you who did that to their console. (I should read all the posts before I post)

I know odhinn put his switch for his electric fan under his driver side dash. Plenty of room under there.

~Lev
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	154_0606_03_z+1997_jeep_wrangler_project+console.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	61.3 KB
ID:	2616  
__________________

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That is why it is called the "present."
Levinoss is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 04:13 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Levinoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Jeffersontown
Posts: 5,540
Could you just install a second row of switches?

~Lev
Attached Images
 
__________________

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That is why it is called the "present."
Levinoss is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 09:50 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
thanks for your answers.

i think i´ll install the switches on the center console. next to the handbrake above the cup-holders.

is it easy to install the cables, switches and the compressor?
if i do this before i bring it to the shop where they install the gears/lockers i will save +250$ for the installation.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 10:05 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Levinoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Jeffersontown
Posts: 5,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolas-eric View Post
thanks for your answers.

i think i´ll install the switches on the center console. next to the handbrake above the cup-holders.
NP, I was actually going to suggest that but didn't think it would be a good spot because cups or something would be more likely to hit the switches and turn the lockers on or what not in that area. /shrug


~Lev
__________________

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That is why it is called the "present."
Levinoss is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 10:26 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
i think it´s a good spot. i can reach the switches fast and without leaning forward.

do you know if there is enough room at this place in the center console for the switches? i have the console with the subwoofer inside.

i saw that there are two ARB compressors.

normal:
http://www.4wd.com/productdetails.as...7&partID=10255

and compact:
http://www.4wd.com/productdetails.as...7&partID=12820

will both fit on the drivers side fender?

is the normal one strong enough to fill up some tires with it.
i couldn´t find technical facts about that compressors.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 10:30 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Levinoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Jeffersontown
Posts: 5,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolas-eric View Post
i think it´s a good spot. i can reach the switches fast and without leaning forward.

do you know if there is enough room at this place in the center console for the switches? i have the console with the subwoofer inside.
Depends on how big the switch is on the side you wont see. You know youv got a ton of switches! It's going to look like a jet cockpit if you install anymore!



~Lev
__________________

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That is why it is called the "present."
Levinoss is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 10:43 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
... and i have 3 more switches right beside the TC shifter...



i just found the new ARB high output compressor. it has enough power to fill up 35s vera fast and costs only 40$ more than the normal ARB compressor:

http://www.4by4connection.com/arbhiouairco.html
http://www.arbusa.com/air_compressor/specifications.pdf

i think i´ll order this one instead of the little normal compressor.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 11:33 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
tazmann910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta Georgia
Posts: 2,143
Send a message via AIM to tazmann910 Send a message via Yahoo to tazmann910
holy crap is that wood chips in your floor board? And do I see a Golf tee?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Levinoss View Post
Could also do a custom job on the console. I know someone on here posted a picture they custom modded buttons on the console.


EDIT: NVM it was you who did that to their console. (I should read all the posts before I post)

I know odhinn put his switch for his electric fan under his driver side dash. Plenty of room under there.

~Lev
__________________
03 TJ with a bunch of upgrades...
Off The Map 4 Wheel Drive Club.
tazmann910 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 11:38 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Levinoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Jeffersontown
Posts: 5,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazmann910 View Post
holy crap is that wood chips in your floor board? And do I see a Golf tee?

LMAO, just random pic I got off the net for console.

My baby only gets dirty on the trail then gets a rub down when she gets home.

~Lev
Attached Images
 
__________________

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That is why it is called the "present."
Levinoss is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 11:42 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
tazmann910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta Georgia
Posts: 2,143
Send a message via AIM to tazmann910 Send a message via Yahoo to tazmann910
Same here Lev, spent 2 hours cleaning mine yesterday after coming back from Tellico. It was a dust bowl. I had enough dirt inside to grow plants. Another White jeep...sweet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Levinoss View Post
LMAO, just random pic I got off the net for console.

My baby only gets dirty on the trail then gets a rub down when she gets home.

~Lev
__________________
03 TJ with a bunch of upgrades...
Off The Map 4 Wheel Drive Club.
tazmann910 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 05:02 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
what´s the size of the three ARB switches?
i want to install them there, but will they fit?

nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 07:13 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
post 17...But then there you have to check if they are lit or not.. How about placing them in front of the auto shifter right under your radio?
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 07:36 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triple88a View Post
How about placing them in front of the auto shifter right under your radio?
there´s not enough room for the switches.

nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 07:42 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
On my TJ there is a hole that the owner before me made thats cut into the plastic under the cigarette lighter/right over your cb radio.
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 07:44 PM   #21
IITYWTMWYBMAB

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 9,796
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolas-eric View Post
what´s the size of the three ARB switches?
i want to install them there, but will they fit?

Yes they will fit there, had a buddy of mine use that location. AEV made a insert for a location under the insterment panel, key side, but I think its only for one arb switch and the compressor. Below is a pic of mine to give you an idea of size of switches, not the best pic, sorry.

__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 07:56 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
looking at that picture from post 19 seems like you can make a little box that goes on top of the CB and add switches to it so it all lines up. If nothing works then rip out the stock cdplayer/radio and put the switches in there.
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 09:03 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triple88a View Post
If nothing works then rip out the stock cdplayer/radio and put the switches in there.
it´s a DD and i NEED the cd player...
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2007, 09:11 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4Jeepn View Post
Yes they will fit there, had a buddy of mine use that location.
do you have pics?
how big are the switches on the rear?

nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-09-2007, 12:07 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
quadna71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: East Coast
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzTJ View Post
I've seen someone mount their switches to a panel that is at the top of the windshield. I don't know if it was home made or purchased, but it looked really cool.
that is where i mounted my compressor and locker switch. '03 and later TJ's have a plastic-cladded interior windshield frame - part of federal head impact laws. anyways, it worked well for mounting my switches. they are centered right above the mirror with the wiring snaking down the left side of the frame (under that plastic as well). there is more than enough length in the ARB harness to reach from the compressor (if mounted on the ABS plate) to reach up to there.
chris
__________________
Mine - '03 TJ RE4.5 coils, long arms, 4.88 gears, arb/detroit, 35" BFG KM2's, 9.5ti, skids, etc.
Hers - '01 TJ RE4.5 coils, 35" BFG's, Hs9500, HP30/8.8, 4.56 gears, skids, etc.
quadna71 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-09-2007, 11:18 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadna71 View Post
that is where i mounted my compressor and locker switch. '03 and later TJ's have a plastic-cladded interior windshield frame - part of federal head impact laws. anyways, it worked well for mounting my switches. they are centered right above the mirror with the wiring snaking down the left side of the frame (under that plastic as well). there is more than enough length in the ARB harness to reach from the compressor (if mounted on the ABS plate) to reach up to there.
chris
are you sure that the wires are long enough?

did you mount the switches in the stock plastic housing on the windshield?

how did you get this plastic thing off the windshield? i cpoulodn´t find some bolts ot something like similiar.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-09-2007, 11:31 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
emills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 553
Images: 2
You could also buy or try to fab up putting them over the rear view mirror like the sPod (http://www.4x4spod.com)

__________________
'06 Jeep Unlimited - some stuff, but certainly not enough stuff
emills is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2007, 09:47 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
what´s the size of the switches? will they fit here over the mirrow?

nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2007, 05:04 PM   #29
IITYWTMWYBMAB

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 9,796
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolas-eric View Post
do you have pics?
how big are the switches on the rear?


Don't have any pic's. The other thing you may want to consider: you should be able to reach the switch at any time. For example your in an off camber, the seat belt has you pinned back.. can you reach your locker switch or not?
__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-15-2007, 09:17 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,300
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
The higher output compressor really won't help you with 35's. I have it and it doesn't do much at all. I just carry a CO2 tank for that.

Regardless of what ARB says, it is VERY slow and you will prematurely wear the compressor. If you DO get it, deflate a tire and see how long it takes to air one up and let us know.

__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...reenjeep2a.jpg
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.



Jeep, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC