Are new plug wires required? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-15-2010, 03:48 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
daanbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Palm Beach Fl.
Posts: 815
Images: 2
Are new plug wires required?

I'll be installing a set of New plugs in my 2000 Sahara. Should I get Champion 7034 or Autolite App985's. And should I replace the wires also? I have 124-k on her. I believe the original owner MAY have had them changed, but am not sure.(need to look thru the papers) The wires look to be ok, But I'd like to get some opinons before I get everything tomm. Thanks.

daanbc is offline   Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 03:53 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
mrcarcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Midland/Odessa, TX
Posts: 4,196
2000's don't have Coil on plug? Guess that started in 01?



If it has wires I'd change them for good measure. If the wires are getting old, many times its not observable from outside. they degrade from inside a lot.

__________________
#2 Jeep http://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/99...ld-819418.html
99 Sahara, automatic.
mrcarcrazy is offline   Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 03:56 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
daanbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Palm Beach Fl.
Posts: 815
Images: 2
I do not have a reg. coil like the old days. Mine has the three coils? One for every two wires. You know that long black piece with the coils on it over the plugs.
daanbc is offline   Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 04:20 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
daanbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Palm Beach Fl.
Posts: 815
Images: 2
ALSO-I'll be doing another oil change. Should I add the seafoam to it, then take it to the parts store to get whats needed, or just add it while the jeeps in the driveway idleing? The parts store is only a 3 mile round trip. I thought maybe by running it a bit the seafoam would work a bit better. What do ya think?
daanbc is offline   Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 05:28 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
daanbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Palm Beach Fl.
Posts: 815
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by daanbc View Post
I'll be installing a set of New plugs in my 2000 Sahara. Should I get Champion 7034 or Autolite App985's. And should I replace the wires also? I have 124-k on her. I believe the original owner MAY have had them changed, but am not sure.(need to look thru the papers) The wires look to be ok, But I'd like to get some opinons before I get everything tomm. Thanks.
Just figured it out- I don't have wires. Just the coil strip. That's $$ saved.
daanbc is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.5l Vacuum Plug on Throttle Body? Leak? KCrisp TJ Tech Forum 0 01-10-2010 09:45 AM
Cigarette Lighter Plug BLACKTOOTHGRIN TJ General Discussion Forum 13 03-19-2009 11:21 PM
T-Case drain plug parts? White93ARB General Jeep Discussion 21 12-09-2007 11:00 PM
TFI Upgrade (good write-up) Justin YJ Tech Forum 1 11-19-2007 01:04 PM
sound bar plug under dash jeep-a-leep YJ Tech Forum 0 10-11-2007 11:30 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC