Blinker Problem? - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-06-2010, 04:10 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 449
Blinker Problem?

Hey all,
When i go to use my blinker it works fine when you turn in on, but it won't shut off on its own, i have to manually shut it off.
How could i fix it?

97'wrangler is offline   Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 04:26 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
mrcarcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Midland/Odessa, TX
Posts: 4,338
There is a switch located behind the steering wheel (in the steering column) Its a simple fix on most cars (nvr done it on a jeep so can't say for sure....but usually the worst part is the fear you feel when you disconnect the airbag.)

Or you're out of Blinker fluid. I had to add that.

__________________
#2 Jeep http://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/99...ld-819418.html
99 Sahara, automatic.
mrcarcrazy is offline   Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 04:46 PM   #3
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,276
Is your steering wheel straight when you drive straight ahead and not rotated any to the left or right?
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 05:08 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 449
A blinker is supposed to shut off after you make one complete rotation of the sterring wheel. And i could put the blinker on (left or Right) and steer around in circles one way and back the other and it will not shut off unless i manually push it up or down.
Is there some type of gears in there or a switch? Can i fix it or do i have to replace it? If so where can i get it? Quadratec..
97'wrangler is offline   Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 05:56 PM   #5
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,276
You can get the switch from nearly any auto parts store, you don't need to buy things like that from Quadratec who is about the most expensive source for Jeep parts on the planet. I replaced my turn signal with one from Autozone and it was the exact same switch I removed, down to the initials of the QC inspector scribbled onto the little blue final inspection sticker.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:12 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 449
oK thank! I will go see about picking up one at autozone tomorrow.

97'wrangler is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
check engine light came on and speedo stopped working @ the same time. eric TJ General Discussion Forum 14 10-14-2013 12:05 PM
'97 Wrangler Cold Idle / Load Flooding Problem brad07x TJ Tech Forum 1 12-18-2009 11:10 PM
2400 miles on new jk having trans problem NTJeep JK Tech Forum 4 01-14-2009 01:03 AM
different transmission problem greasem0nkey86 YJ Tech Forum 5 03-26-2007 03:31 PM
TJ Error codes khenderson TJ Tech Forum 3 08-19-2005 12:36 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC