Camshaft Position Sensor - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-03-2008, 02:23 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to tenntj04
Camshaft Position Sensor

How hard is this to change? I put my Jeep on a code reader today and this is what it said the trouble is.

tenntj04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2008, 02:31 PM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,390
Images: 2
What are the symptoms and what code did you get? I ask because sometimes that sensor is confused with the crankshaft position sensor. That sensor can give the same symptoms as the camshaft position sensor and it goes out a little more commonly.

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2008, 03:06 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to tenntj04
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
What are the symptoms and what code did you get? I ask because sometimes that sensor is confused with the crankshaft position sensor. That sensor can give the same symptoms as the camshaft position sensor and it goes out a little more commonly.
It will not start, just tries like its getting no fire. The codes I got were P0340 and P1391. Thanks for the help.
tenntj04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2008, 03:11 PM   #4
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,390
Images: 2
Based on those two codes, either could be the problem. Each of those two sensors has a plug that should checked for a good solid electrical connection. Try unplugging them both, cleaning the connectors, and then reconnecting them. Check the condition of the wiring around the plugs too.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2008, 03:33 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to tenntj04
Thanks for the help, do you happen to know if the crankshaft and camshaft sensors are the same part? They look identical.
tenntj04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2008, 03:49 PM   #6
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,390
Images: 2
So far as I know, even though they work in the same way, they are different.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2008, 06:41 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to tenntj04
Oh crap it looks like its the timing belt. It does not turn at all, its either stuck or broke at the bottom. This sucks.
tenntj04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2008, 06:57 PM   #8
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Kauka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenntj04 View Post
Oh crap it looks like its the timing belt. It does not turn at all, its either stuck or broke at the bottom. This sucks.
Not saying this applys to you, but it proves a point we have in the Navy today working on the F-18s people are forgeting how to trouble shoot. All they know is "the code says it's this part" Computers are ok in helping dianose a problem, but don't take it for fact. When you look where the "Code" is telling you to go and something doesn't seem right...It probably isn't...

Thats IMHO..but hey, that and $1.50 will get you coffee at Denny's
Kauka is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2008, 07:00 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to tenntj04
Well I am no mechanic by any means, I do good to figure things like this out with the code reader.
tenntj04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2008, 07:28 PM   #10
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,390
Images: 2
Are you talking about the serpentine belt when you say timing belt? The 4.0L engine has a timing chain inside under the timing chain cover that you can't see.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2008, 08:11 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
jpdocdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: beach park, il
Posts: 8,162
Images: 7
ya whats not turning? no timing belt. are you saying the rotor isn't turning inside the distributor?
__________________
"The danger to America is not Barack Obama but a citizenry capable of entrusting a man like him with the Presidency. It will be far easier to limit and undo the follies of an Obama presidency than to restore the necessary common sense and good judgment to a depraved electorate willing to have such a man for their president."
http://mybroadband.co.za/photos/data...re_cowbell.gif
jpdocdave is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-04-2008, 03:05 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to tenntj04
Its a 2.4 not 4.0.
tenntj04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-04-2008, 10:21 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
jpdocdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: beach park, il
Posts: 8,162
Images: 7
ok, it has a timing belt. the belt itself is not turning? the belt is broken? jeep says replace the belt at 90k, how many miles are on it?

not sure if its an interference motor, but that timing belt is the quickest belt to do ever. put a new one on and try it. obviously got to put it on exactly right.

__________________
"The danger to America is not Barack Obama but a citizenry capable of entrusting a man like him with the Presidency. It will be far easier to limit and undo the follies of an Obama presidency than to restore the necessary common sense and good judgment to a depraved electorate willing to have such a man for their president."
http://mybroadband.co.za/photos/data...re_cowbell.gif
jpdocdave is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
check engine light came on and speedo stopped working @ the same time. eric TJ General Discussion Forum 14 10-14-2013 12:05 PM
HELP...Camshaft Position Sensor replacement Northern_wrangler YJ Tech Forum 2 06-06-2010 10:11 AM
cam position sensor S.Ga.Rider TJ Tech Forum 11 06-28-2008 05:49 PM
throttle position sensor jgwalt YJ Tech Forum 0 03-03-2008 05:21 PM
'97 or newer TJ 4.0L Crankshaft Position Sensor (good for a spare too) $50 Jerry Bransford Classifieds Archive 1 02-04-2007 10:31 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC