CB Radio Help - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-26-2014, 07:13 PM   #1
Newb
 
DH_Fenrir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Blythewood, SC
Posts: 9
CB Radio Help

Hey guys,

Have a 97 with the following install.

Uniden 520 XL
4ft Firestick
Tera Flex Tail light mount

Here is the album of the install: CB Install - Imgur

I am hoping someone can look at those photos and point out where my wiring went wrong. I used my SWR meter and even with the antenna set to its lowest setting I am getting a consistent reading of 3.5 on both channel 1 and 40. Even with that high setting I was able to hear some conversations and was able to get a confirmation that I could send out on a radio check. However if the Jeep is running I get nothing but engine noise. What should be my next steps?

Thanks!

DH_Fenrir is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 07:17 PM   #2
Moderator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Sinister6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 5,094
SWR on channel 20, what's your RF gain set at?

__________________
The Wolf is not concerned with the opinion of sheep.

MY BUILD: :
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/si...ad-235526.html
Sinister6 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 07:20 PM   #3
Newb
 
DH_Fenrir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Blythewood, SC
Posts: 9
I will have to head outside to check what it is on 20. I have tested it with the RF on full to low and every where in between. Still gets crazy engine noise through the CB.
DH_Fenrir is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 07:42 PM   #4
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,804
Images: 2
Regarding your noise, where is the CB getting its power? And are you running aftermarket low resistance ignition wiring and/or non-resistor spark plugs?
__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 07:46 PM   #5
Newb
 
DH_Fenrir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Blythewood, SC
Posts: 9
The CB is plugged up through my firewall directly to the battery. I am not sure about the type of plugs/spark plugs though. When I did the tune up months back I just bought the basic duratec wires and the plugs where the cheap basic ones that everyone recommended me to use. I can also hear the fuel pump through the CB when I start the Jeep as well.
DH_Fenrir is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 07:51 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Mad Daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Corona CA
Posts: 45
I have the same setup the exception being that my mount is made of Stainless Steel and it's not noise that is the problem I just can't get the meter to read below 3 at any length.
__________________
KARMA: REAP WHAT YOU SOW
Mad Daddy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 08:09 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Posts: 479
Not Related to the SWR Issue But you need to install a Fuse at The Positive Battery end of that wire you added as it is now if that wire shorts out somewhere you may have a fire.
gmiller0737 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 08:16 PM   #8
Newb
 
DH_Fenrir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Blythewood, SC
Posts: 9
It's got a fuze on up near the radio on the positive side. Does it need another one?
DH_Fenrir is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 09:19 PM   #9
Moderator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Sinister6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 5,094
One fuse is plenty. Is your antenna hooked up properly at the mount? What did you do with excess coax cable?
__________________
The Wolf is not concerned with the opinion of sheep.

MY BUILD: :
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/si...ad-235526.html
Sinister6 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 09:22 PM   #10
Newb
 
DH_Fenrir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Blythewood, SC
Posts: 9
I just have the excess in a bundle in trunk. Should I try to make that neat?
DH_Fenrir is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 09:29 PM   #11
Moderator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Sinister6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 5,094
I read in a post, tried to find it but can't, that you want to zig zag the excess rather than coil it up.
__________________
The Wolf is not concerned with the opinion of sheep.

MY BUILD: :
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/si...ad-235526.html
Sinister6 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 09:38 PM   #12
perennial noob...

WF Supporting Member
 
wordsmyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Roll TIDE Central, Alabama
Posts: 100
Make sure you check the SWR out away from any building. Assure the teeth "seat" at the coax terminals for a solid connection.

Run a supplementary ground wire from the antenna base to the vehicle frame.

A noise filter (available at Radio Shack or any CB speciality shop, and most truck stops) will help.
__________________
- ’06 Wrangler Sport in Flame Red, 4.0L I6, 6-speed, 3.73 gears, BFG 31x10.50 MT's
- Former Marine, NRA Life Member: "The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." (Marcus Aurelius)
wordsmyth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 11:14 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
mikhail2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Jesup GA
Posts: 432
years ago I did car stereo installations and we would sometimes get a lot of engine noise thru the stereo. Usually it was from the ground wire. If it was run along side the main power wire we would get the engine noise. Sometimes it was as simple as making a batter ghround connection other times it wasn't fixed until we upgraded power wire to one with better insulation and rerouted the ground cable away from power wire. Don't know that this will help any just a thought
I started to mention this earlier when I first saw your post but wasn't sure if it would be relevant with CBs.
Also read this it may sabve you the trouble

http://forums.radioreference.com/cb-...ine-noise.html
mikhail2400 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2014, 11:31 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
tbensor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,145
Looking at your pics you have a red wire going from both ground and positive on the battery. Can I assume the red wire on the ground also goes to the cb? I have also seen post on here about people getting interference by mounting the antenna on the drivers side rear. You may try moving to passenger side
__________________
My Toys
2003 RED Jeep Wrangler X - Can't stop adding stuff and updating.
2014 White Jeep Liberty Sport
2011 Carbon Black GMC Yukon Denali
2007 Black GMC Sierra 2500HD 4x4 Duramax/Allison
2007 Keystone Laredo 284BHS TT
tbensor is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-27-2014, 01:39 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by DH_Fenrir View Post
It's got a fuze on up near the radio on the positive side. Does it need another one?
Yes a Fuse only protects what is on the other side of it if the wire in your picture shorts out before the Cb there is no protection & it could catch fire Put a inline fuse @ The Battery end of that wire.
gmiller0737 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 08:40 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 539
Make sure the engine ground strap is tight. And make sure the hood strap is in place. Make sure the antenna mount is well grounded to the body metal. Star washers between the mount and body metal works for me. Make sure the radio chassis is also well grounded to body metal. The mounting brackets should do this unless they are not bolted to metal. The receiver noise and the poor SWR may be separate problems.
__________________
Patience is a waste of time...
Kilroy is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 08:54 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,395
Why would the hood ground be an issue

Does it help prevent ignition interference to have the hood grounded?
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 09:05 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digger84 View Post
Why would the hood ground be an issue

Does it help prevent ignition interference to have the hood grounded?
Yes It also keeps electrical noise from your Jeep from interfering with AM radio reception in the vehicle next to you.
__________________
Patience is a waste of time...
Kilroy is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 09:26 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
vertical horizons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmiller0737 View Post
Yes a Fuse only protects what is on the other side of it if the wire in your picture shorts out before the Cb there is no protection & it could catch fire Put a inline fuse @ The Battery end of that wire.
x2.
If the only fuse you have is between the firewall & the CB, & you get a short, the fuse pops, & you have only stopped the current from going the fuse to the CB. There will still be current running from the battery to and/or through the firewall, which could still start a fire.

You need to have a fuse between the battery & the firewall.
Two fuses is "over-kill". But, either install a 2nd fuse near the battery, or remove the original fuse & install THAT ONE near the battery.
__________________
2003 Wrangler Sahara, 4.0L, Automatic, Stock, Full Metal Doors, Half Doors, Running 31x10.50x15s
vertical horizons is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 10:01 AM   #20
perennial noob...

WF Supporting Member
 
wordsmyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Roll TIDE Central, Alabama
Posts: 100
Back to the matter of antenna location, mounts, and SWR's, the ideal location is as high as possible on the vehicle with no interferring mass nearby. To me that would mean a mount hooked directly into the roll-cage of the vehicle at dead center and above where I see sound bars mounted. Unfortunately, that is not practical in terms of the top construction and mounting needs.

I'm studying the matter now with a view to putting a CB in the Wrangler I plan to buy at the end of this week -- provided, of course, something does not derail the plan. My brother is a machinist/welder and I'm scheming on something that will hopefully maximize the mounting options.

At any rate, my MOS in the service was field radio and I'm also into HAM radio. Before it's over I'll probably have to have a high-output alternator and 12v DC to 120v AC power inverter to run all the stuff I plan to put in the Jeep.

Rick (will my vehicle burst into flames if I plug in this one more gadget?) in Alabama
__________________
- ’06 Wrangler Sport in Flame Red, 4.0L I6, 6-speed, 3.73 gears, BFG 31x10.50 MT's
- Former Marine, NRA Life Member: "The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." (Marcus Aurelius)
wordsmyth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 12:27 PM   #21
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Where do most people mount their antenna for CB radios?
kthinnes is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 01:59 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 539
Tail light mounts and tailgate/spare tire mounts. Anything mounted to the tailgate requires a good size flat braided ground strap between the body and the gate.
__________________
Patience is a waste of time...
Kilroy is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 04:27 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
vertical horizons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by wordsmyth View Post
... the ideal location is as high as possible on the vehicle ... mount hooked directly into the roll-cage of the vehicle at dead center and above where I see sound bars mounted. Unfortunately, that is not practical in terms of the top construction and mounting needs ...
Maybe someone could figure out a way to make this product work with a Jeep. Install this just under the hardtop or softop. That way, you could lower the antenna when the top is on.

You wouldn't be able to USE the CB radio with the antenna down, but when the top is off, all you'd have to do is just flip the antenna into place, and away you go.

For those of you that have lifted jeeps, if you find times where you need to lower the antenna (entering a garage, etc.), this could work for you.

My main concern would be that, while the antenna is in the "down" position, it might poke a hole in the softop, or scratch up the hardtop.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2003 Wrangler Sahara, 4.0L, Automatic, Stock, Full Metal Doors, Half Doors, Running 31x10.50x15s
vertical horizons is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 05:23 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
quadman14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 101
What I see from your pics is you are missing the nylon washer to isolate the anntenna mount from anntenna connect. This will cause high SWR's all the time, it's like a dead short. Check out Fire Stiks page here CATALOG Main Page (Frame Setup) Your mount is mounted to the body or your Jeep and becomes your ground, thus the outer nut on the coax is your ground and the inner is the upper part of that the ant screws into which should not touch ant mount as you have in your pic. Hope this helps.
__________________
06 Wrangler Unlimited LJ dual tops/rear seat out, Old Man EMU 2.5 suspention w/EMU shocks,JKS quick discos, 44 rear, 30 front,6 speed, 373's, 4.0L. 31/10.5/15, 8K winch upfront and my first Jeep
quadman14 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 05:38 PM   #25
perennial noob...

WF Supporting Member
 
wordsmyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Roll TIDE Central, Alabama
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by vertical horizons View Post
Maybe someone could figure out a way to make this product work with a Jeep. Install this just under the hardtop or softop. That way, you could lower the antenna when the top is on.

You wouldn't be able to USE the CB radio with the antenna down, but when the top is off, all you'd have to do is just flip the antenna into place, and away you go.

For those of you that have lifted jeeps, if you find times where you need to lower the antenna (entering a garage, etc.), this could work for you.

My main concern would be that, while the antenna is in the "down" position, it might poke a hole in the softop, or scratch up the hardtop.
That fact is that fold away configuration is what is used on Gold Wing motorcycles (I've owned several) and on Harleys that come equipped with factory CB.

But as you noted, finding a way to make that work on a Jeep is the trick.

Probably, the best compromise location is dead center of the hood but that would be really funky looking.

And in some states, perhaps against the law due to driver' line of sight issues.
__________________
- ’06 Wrangler Sport in Flame Red, 4.0L I6, 6-speed, 3.73 gears, BFG 31x10.50 MT's
- Former Marine, NRA Life Member: "The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." (Marcus Aurelius)
wordsmyth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 06:21 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Racer38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadman14 View Post
What I see from your pics is you are missing the nylon washer to isolate the anntenna mount from anntenna connect. This will cause high SWR's all the time, it's like a dead short. Check out Fire Stiks page here CATALOG Main Page (Frame Setup) Your mount is mounted to the body or your Jeep and becomes your ground, thus the outer nut on the coax is your ground and the inner is the upper part of that the ant screws into which should not touch ant mount as you have in your pic. Hope this helps.
Ya I noticed the same thing, the plastic isolation washer appears to be missing.

Guys its a CB he wont be trying to catch some skip to talk with someone in Brazil or Europe. He needs to be able to talk with other Jeeps on the trail and the occasional trucker on the road. If you wheel you wont want a big antenna and definitely don't want it up high.
I run a 3' antenna on the CB and a very small Dual Band for my Ham gear. No HF as the antennas are too cumbersome for off road abuse.
__________________
Craig
2005 TJ, 4" Clayton Short Arm Suspension, Clayton Full Skids and Tummy Tuck, 1.25 Body, 1" MM Lift, 35 x 12.5 GoodYear MT/R, Smittybilt 10K H2O, 4:56 Gears, ARB Front D44, OX Locker Rear D44. Get Your Decals Here.
Racer38 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 07:16 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
03ShaleGreenSahara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilroy View Post
Anything mounted to the tailgate requires a good size flat braided ground strap between the body and the gate.
Not necessarily. I measured continuity from the tire carrier to rear frame on my Jeep and got less than .5 ohms. That's .2 ohms over what I get when I short my multi meter leads together. Net resistance of .3 ohms is damn near a perfect ground path.
03ShaleGreenSahara is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 07:53 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
mikhail2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Jesup GA
Posts: 432
A lot of people seem to like this guys antenna/CB mounts. Think this is what Jerry uses also as I believe hes the one told me about them.

ARIZONA ROCKY ROAD ANTENNA MOUNTS FOR JEEP WRANGLER, UNLIMITED AND LIBERTY
mikhail2400 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-28-2014, 08:04 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
Roblaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Barrie, ON Canada
Posts: 185
you need to put the white plastic isolator washer on the top of the bracket instead of underneath it.
like this:

I had the same issue. you need to isolate the antenna/stud from the metal bracket.
__________________
My Build:
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/pr...rt-409826.html

Jeepcentral.ca
Roblaza is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-29-2014, 09:17 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by wordsmyth View Post

At any rate, my MOS in the service was field radio and I'm also into HAM radio. Before it's over I'll probably have to have a high-output alternator and 12v DC to 120v AC power inverter to run all the stuff I plan to put in the Jeep.
Courious what you will be running on 120V?

sparky is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC