Clutch system pressure - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-16-2012, 10:05 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Loganallday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 119
Clutch system pressure

So my weekend challenge has been to fix my clutch system. I replaced the slave and master. Got all the bubbles out, but I can't seem to get the whole thing pressured enough to work fine. I still am on the floor with the pedal and sometimes it still rolls on the floor cause it doesn't fully disengage. Anyone know how I can get the system to pressurize correctly? If that's exactly what I need to do?

Loganallday is offline   Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:42 AM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 36,332
At that point I'd go to the Jeep dealer and just get a new master/slave assembly which comes pre-filled/pre-bled and ready to go. The factory didn't design the clutch hydraulic system to be repaired, it was designed to be replaced as an assembly. Some manage to get them working again but not everyone.

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:50 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Loganallday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford
At that point I'd go to the Jeep dealer and just get a new master/slave which comes pre-filled/pre-bled and ready to go. The factory didn't design the clutch hydraulic system to be repaired, it was designed to be replaced as an assembly. Some manage to get them working again but not everyone.
I already got a new master and slave in there. I don't want to have to buy another.
Loganallday is offline   Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:58 AM   #4
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 36,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loganallday View Post
I already got a new master and slave in there. I don't want to have to buy another.
And how well is that working out for you, buying them separately and trying to get them working?
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 12:31 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Loganallday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford
And how well is that working out for you, buying them separately and trying to get them working?
I got them on and bleed like a piece of cake. Bleeding took longer then install.

I believe I found a leak which would cause me to never keep pressure. I have to check after drive home soon to see if it is or if it's just left over from bleeding.
Loganallday is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC