Computer reflash won't start now!!! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-10-2013, 12:38 PM   #1
Newb
 
Ritola51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 14
Computer reflash won't start now!!!

I changed my battery and leed ends and also the a computer reflash from a forum I found on here. Now the jeep won't start and none of the gauges work on the cluster. I found a blown fuse under the hood and replaced it but still nothing.

Please help!!
Thanks josh

Ritola51 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2013, 12:41 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
flflash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 519
"a computer reflash from a forum I found on here" ?

flflash is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2013, 12:45 PM   #3
Newb
 
Ritola51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by flflash View Post
"a computer reflash from a forum I found on here" ?
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/ecu-reset-360.html
Ritola51 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2013, 02:14 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Shelby427's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lakeland FL and Hooversville PA
Posts: 2,131
Any chance in changing over your lead ends you briefly shorted them out?
Since you had a blown fuse, you may have blown the fusible link to the alternator.
It provides power to quite a few things other then the alternator.
__________________
97 Sahara, 74 Renegade, 72 CJ5, 55 Willy's (the Beast) Boss 302, 6:34 gearing, Bose 901 speakers.
God I miss that Jeep. Forgot the kinda Jeep, 80 SX4.
Shelby427 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2013, 02:27 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
jk47882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 143
Images: 5
Thumbs down Flashing the ECU

On the 2010 JKUS I had a while back, I took it to the dealer for an oil change. Jeep ran great until they did what they called "a required flash for my computer". Never ran as good as it did prior to them "fixing it. They also charged me $7.50 to "top off" the nitrogen in one of my tires. They stated that since I purchased my Jeep from another dealer they don't have to honor the free life time fills. Burger Chrysler gets a
__________________
"Never under estimate the power of stupid people when they're in large numbers."
Currently 2013 JKS Billet - 2014 JKU Sahara - 2004 TJ Sahara
Gone but not forgotten 2010 JKU,2008 JKU Sahara, 2002 TJ,1999 TJ 4.0, 1999 TJ 2.5L, 1978 CJ, 1980 CJ
jk47882 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2013, 02:40 PM   #6
Newb
 
Ritola51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 14
Where is it located
Ritola51 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2013, 03:36 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
jk47882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 143
Images: 5
If you're asking about the dealer, it's in Terre Haute Indiana
__________________
"Never under estimate the power of stupid people when they're in large numbers."
Currently 2013 JKS Billet - 2014 JKU Sahara - 2004 TJ Sahara
Gone but not forgotten 2010 JKU,2008 JKU Sahara, 2002 TJ,1999 TJ 4.0, 1999 TJ 2.5L, 1978 CJ, 1980 CJ
jk47882 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2013, 04:57 PM   #8
Newb
 
Ritola51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 14
Nope fused link location
Ritola51 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2013, 05:07 PM   #9
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,229
Images: 2
The fusable link is located between the alternator & battery. The cable between the alternator & battery is a black 6 gauge wire, in the middle of it is a 10 gauge dark green wire which is the fusable link. That dark green color may is accurate for '97 but it may be/probably is the same color for other model years as well. Disconnect one end of that wire & do a continuity test on it.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2013, 09:30 PM   #10
Newb
 
Ritola51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 14
Everything tested fine
Ritola51 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2013, 09:45 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
R u s s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Snohomish County
Posts: 358
Images: 2
Might try pressing the accelerator while cranking I had to do that with mine when I replaced the pcm after it filled up with oil. Once it is running and relearned you wont need to do that.
R u s s is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 07:09 AM   #12
Newb
 
Ritola51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 14
Still wont fire.
Ritola51 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 07:10 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
R u s s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Snohomish County
Posts: 358
Images: 2
Do you have spark?
Check fuse again sound like pcm is not getting power.
R u s s is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 07:14 AM   #14
Newb
 
Ritola51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 14
No and all of the fuses tested fine
Ritola51 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 07:14 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
R u s s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Snohomish County
Posts: 358
Images: 2
This may sound dumb but make sure your battery cables are not backwards. Ground goes to - and red goes to +
R u s s is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 08:13 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: casa grande
Posts: 1,186
Images: 1
It prob is sumthin stupid like that. I did the reflash and mine fired right up.
clull05rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 11:46 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
flflash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ritola51 View Post
I'm not a big fan of that method of Clearing the adaptive memory in your PCM. I've seen to many PCM wiped out using it.
flflash is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 12:17 PM   #18
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,229
Images: 2
Done correctly, there is no way that method can wipe out a PCM.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 12:28 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
birdy35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 92
What are the benefits of doing this? Better gas mileage, more power? Etc.
birdy35 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 12:38 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 537
Send a message via Yahoo to ChaddG
touch the cable to the opposite side and you could have blown your ecu. I had a g/f try charging a battery on a Hyundai by crossing the terminals and it blew her computer.
nothing ever ran until we changed it. <the computer> <<10 years ago>>
just a thought.
ChaddG is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 05:39 PM   #21
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,229
Images: 2
You can weld if you touch the wrong connections together, anything is possible when done incorrectly.

Removing all battery connections so nothing is connected to it, then touching both disconnected connectors together will clear the pcm with no (!) possibility of damaging anything.

Saying this would hurt anything is similar to saying changing the oil will damage the engine. Only when done incorrectly could either harm anything.

Just because some don't understand what the pcm reset process is, involves, or the correct procedure is no reason to chime in saying it damaged their friend's cousin's pcm.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 05:45 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
flflash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
You can weld if you touch the wrong connections together, anything is possible when done incorrectly.

Removing all battery connections so nothing is connected to it, then touching both disconnected connectors together will clear the pcm with no (!) possibility of damaging anything.

Saying this would hurt anything is similar to saying changing the oil will damage the engine. Only when done incorrectly could either harm anything.

Just because some don't understand what the pcm reset process is, involves, or the correct procedure is no reason to chime in saying it damaged their friend's cousin's pcm.
Can't help noticing how many times you used the term "if done correctly"
flflash is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 06:43 PM   #23
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,229
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by flflash View Post
Can't help noticing how many times you used the term "if done correctly"
I count once.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 06:46 PM   #24
4 Little Squirrels

WF Supporting Member
 
ellman605's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
I count once.
I actually count 0 times
__________________
Elliott
'99 TJ Sport: 4.0L 12X,XXX Miles, 32RH Auto, 3.5" Suspension, 1.25"BL, SYE, D35 4.10 D30 Aussie Locked.

2013 CB500X: The toy
ellman605 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2013, 06:49 PM   #25
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,229
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellman605 View Post
I actually count 0 times
True, I was giving him the benefit of almost having said that once.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-21-2013, 11:42 AM   #26
Newb
 
Ritola51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 14
Update... Replaced the computer and it now starts!
Ritola51 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-21-2013, 03:36 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
R u s s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Snohomish County
Posts: 358
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ritola51 View Post
Update... Replaced the computer and it now starts!
Awesome thank you for the update.

R u s s is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC