Crankshaft Position Sensor Reset - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-01-2013, 03:56 PM   #31
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Va Beach
Posts: 101
I stopped by the Chrysler service place on my way home tonight because the jeep stalled on me while in 6th gear. They look up my jeeps info by the VIN and showed me on paper that the paper spacer is required for my jeep. I got the spacer from them and drove him with zero issues. Hopefully it's fixed.

Jason

M109Pilot is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2013, 04:22 PM   #32
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by M109Pilot View Post
They look up my jeeps info by the VIN and showed me on paper that the paper spacer is required for my jeep.
Does your CPS look like this:

Duralast/Crankshaft Position Sensor (SU3315) | 2006 Jeep Wrangler 4WD 6 Cylinders S 4.0L SFI | AutoZone.com

tangofox007 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2013, 04:31 PM   #33
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Va Beach
Posts: 101
Yes, thats it.

Jason
M109Pilot is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2013, 05:33 PM   #34
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Va Beach
Posts: 101
My problem is worse now that I have replaced the sensor. With or without the paper space, something isn't right.

Jason
M109Pilot is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 11:40 AM   #35
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
I'm dealing with a very similar issue. This has been very informative. Still sorting thru my no start issue. Pulling codes on Monday to see what shows up. Replace my coil and crank pos sensor so far with no results. See my thread for all the details and let me know what you think.

As far as this issue, how was it finally resolved? Was it one of the sensors that went bad, the coil, the brain or a combination of several things?
damoose156 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-16-2014, 11:29 PM   #36
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Did anyone ever find a solution for this issue?

I've replaced my camshaft and crankshaft sensors. The jeep runs when it starts and it will continue to run for a while before eventually the rpms jump and then it stalls out. It wouldn't be the fuel pump if the engine will run for about five minutes can it? Could the engine be siphoning enough fuel to stay running even without the pump?

It's an 06 unlimited wrangler, 4.0l
Curtis Doran is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-17-2014, 09:11 AM   #37
Jeeper
 
Evpjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 318
Images: 1
mab, if the old CPS (crankshaft position sensor), wasn't bad why did you replace?
Also, a bad TPS (throttle position sensor) can produce these problems as well as a bad battery cable harness, or bad ground connection, or weak battery or...........Etc.
What I'm getting at is, that you need to check all of your electrical connections and wiring to eliminate a bad circuit somewhere.
Evpjr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2014, 02:58 AM   #38
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,803
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curtis Doran View Post
Did anyone ever find a solution for this issue?

I've replaced my camshaft and crankshaft sensors. The jeep runs when it starts and it will continue to run for a while before eventually the rpms jump and then it stalls out. It wouldn't be the fuel pump if the engine will run for about five minutes can it? Could the engine be siphoning enough fuel to stay running even without the pump?

It's an 06 unlimited wrangler, 4.0l
The engine can't siphon fuel so to answer your question, no it isn't the fuel pump. Your fuel injectors do not create pressure. They simply open and close allowing the existing pressure created by the fuel pump in the tank to pass through it so they do not have the ability to induce a vacuum to create the siphon effect.

When your jeep dies after 5 minutes or so will it start right back up or is it dead until everything cools back down. Sounds like you might have a sensor or something that is reacting to the engine temp and is going out after it gets hot.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evpjr View Post
mab, if the old CPS (crankshaft position sensor), wasn't bad why did you replace?
Also, a bad TPS (throttle position sensor) can produce these problems as well as a bad battery cable harness, or bad ground connection, or weak battery or...........Etc.
What I'm getting at is, that you need to check all of your electrical connections and wiring to eliminate a bad circuit somewhere.
Mab hasn't logged in since 2010 so I doubt he is going to answer your question.
Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-21-2014, 01:04 PM   #39
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Thanks for the response coyote!

I'll give you some more detail..

Was driving in a topless day event when all of a sudden I get a flashing engine light and the jeep goes into limp mode (no rev past 3000).

When I parked it, it would crank and crank but not start, as if it was not getting fuel. I kept cranking it for about ten seconds at a time and eventually it started. Engine light only flashed on the first event, now it is just on. P0335 crankshaft position sensor circuit is the only code, as read from my super chips programmer. Side note, no tune is installed on the jeep I just had a tuner from my ram.

Installed a new ckp without a spacer. Cleared the code started the jeep, it started first crank and I rejoiced.. Less than a minute idling, it stuttered and shut off. Same code.

So I bought a new camshaft sensor and changed that. No change.

Then I read in this thread that m109 pilot had been told by the dealer that the 06 needs a spacer. I also have since read that the 06 6speed specifically needs a spacer, but when I called my dealer, they told me they don't see one.. I'm really hoping this is the culprit, and have ordered a new sensor and a spacer

I've checked the battery cables and cleaned the terminals. I've switched batteries with the one from my ram to confirm I didn't have a dead cell in my battery.

I have not done anything with the throttle body, but will try that next.


Currently the jeep sometimes starts and sometimes does not. I can put the pedal to the floor and crank it over and sometimes it catches. If I leave it idling when It does start, it runs for a while, then the rpms start to drop slowly until eventually she stalls out unless I rev her back up. Still the same lone code, 0335.


Thanks again for your response, I wasn't sure I could revive this thread!
Curtis Doran is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-21-2014, 03:41 PM   #40
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,803
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
Anytime. I would bet that it's the crankshaft position sensor that is causing your problems. I wouldn't mess with anything else until the new sensor and spacer are installed and you give that a try. Could you do me a favor? If you or someone you know has a set of digital calipers and could measure the thickness of the spacer and post that information up here that would be awesome. If you don't and you have a Harbor Freight or Sears near by you might take the spacer in and measure it in the store. You know... to test their tools out and see how accurate they are.
Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2014, 09:06 PM   #41
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Thanks. I have a new ckp arriving tomorrow but coudn't get a spacer. I do have a caliper and found on another forum:

"It measures 14mm(.551) in diameter and most importantly .034 thick. I measured the thickness of a 12pk cardboard and cereal box cardboard and they only measure about .02 thick so you should find something almost twice as thick to cut one out of."

so I'm going to take the caliper tomorrow and find something that fits the thickness.
Curtis Doran is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2014, 11:08 PM   #42
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,436
The paper spacer is not applicable to all versions of the CPS. The versions that do use a spacer have an elongated bolt hole that allows for depth adjustment. If your CPS has a round hole with the bolt running longitudinal with the sensor, you don't need a spacer, as no depth adjustment is possible.

I believe that last Wrangler model to use the paper spacer was the 2001 with auto transmission.

More Information for STANDARD MOTOR PRODUCTS PC176

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curtis Doran View Post
I have a new ckp arriving tomorrow but coudn't get a spacer.
I suspect that there is a good reason for that.
tangofox007 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-24-2014, 06:30 PM   #43
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
So as expected after reading that last post, the new sensor with spacer did nothing.

I unplugged the tps, and the jeep starts and idles fine. The only code is for the tps circuit. I took it around the block and it is working perfect. With the tps plugged in, the same cps code comes back and jeep does not idle correctly:

Am I safe to say it's the tps?

Curtis Doran is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CEL Flashing - w/ new crankshaft sensor s-seely TJ General Discussion Forum 5 10-04-2011 10:44 PM
Cps ????? tequila1pint TJ Tech Forum 9 04-06-2010 12:20 PM
Help Identify Part patsfanjan98 TJ Tech Forum 4 08-25-2009 09:49 AM
crankshaft sensor ftamboner1204 YJ Tech Forum 2 05-27-2008 06:09 PM
'97 or newer TJ 4.0L Crankshaft Position Sensor (good for a spare too) $50 Jerry Bransford Classifieds Archive 1 02-04-2007 10:31 AM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC