dash cluster problems! - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-19-2007, 02:31 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
dash cluster problems!

Alrighty, well ive had this problem since i got the vehicle. The different gauges and needles on the dash dont seem to work properly. First of all, the RPM gauge always stays at around 350-400 no matter how fast the engine is really moving. It never moves what so ever. The Speedometer does not reflect smooth acceleration. When i go from 50-70 for example. It will go smoothly up to 55, stop, then jump up to 70 when i get there. Also, a new thing thats been happening is perhaps 1 in 20 times i start the car, the gas gauge stays below empty and the light goes on, if I drive it for a while it gradually goes up to where it is supposed to be. Also, if i turn it off and restart it, many times it will also go up to where its supposed to be. Thanks dudes !

fr87hn is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 03:12 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,287
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Wow thats interesting.. (in a sad way) I'm guessing some bad resistors inside the cluster? If you have a buddy with a same wrangler as yours id swap clusters to see if its any different.. i've NEVER seen or heard of such problems :S Usually its the rpm thats dead (bad ground) or speedo thats off (maybe gear) but thats it..

Triple88a is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 08:13 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
JCS05Rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: central md
Posts: 2,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr87hn View Post
Alrighty, well ive had this problem since i got the vehicle. The different gauges and needles on the dash dont seem to work properly. First of all, the RPM gauge always stays at around 350-400 no matter how fast the engine is really moving. It never moves what so ever. The Speedometer does not reflect smooth acceleration. When i go from 50-70 for example. It will go smoothly up to 55, stop, then jump up to 70 when i get there. Also, a new thing thats been happening is perhaps 1 in 20 times i start the car, the gas gauge stays below empty and the light goes on, if I drive it for a while it gradually goes up to where it is supposed to be. Also, if i turn it off and restart it, many times it will also go up to where its supposed to be. Thanks dudes !
The fuel gauge problem I had in my 97 before the fuel pump went. Although even after the new fuel pump was replaced, it never really worked 100% but it was better. 97s have a wacky fuel gauge problem. You dont have a 97 by chance do ya?

Yank your instrument panel out and make sure the connector on the back is getting real good connection and go from there. Swaping clusters is also a good idea.
__________________
Dad's Blog! http://justkeepliving.blog.com/
T-Shirts for Dad, based on his "Just Keep Living" philosophy. http://www.cafepress.com/justkeepliving


1997 Wrangler Sport - 5 spd. Retired
2005 Wrangler Rubicon - 6spd|KC 55watt fogs, IPF H4s with fatboys,Uniden CB radio/Teraflex mount
http://www.4x4s-pod.com/
JCS05Rubi is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 06:01 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Mines a 2000. If i swap clusters, doesnt that take my mileage away also? All im looking to do is fix the RPM. i dont much care about the gas
fr87hn is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 07:14 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
nascardude68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ballground,ga
Posts: 35
ive got a 97 and my gas guage does the same thing. been doing it for about a year now.
nascardude68 is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 07:24 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,287
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr87hn View Post
Mines a 2000. If i swap clusters, doesnt that take my mileage away also? All im looking to do is fix the RPM. i dont much care about the gas
i wouldnt think so because if it does then the milage of the car would be reset each time battery is removed or disconected. I think its possibly in the ecu or something there with a battery of its own.

Triple88a is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC & Heater Won't Blow Through Dash Vents BillD TJ Tech Forum 44 09-25-2013 12:47 PM
Airbag Light Fondo23 TJ Tech Forum 10 09-23-2013 04:58 PM
dash cluster bulbs for TJ kg4kpg TJ General Discussion Forum 4 03-27-2008 01:16 PM
electrical problems dash spanner659 TJ Tech Forum 0 12-03-2007 10:59 AM
$30.00 Dash Cluster Makeover RottnRudy TJ General Discussion Forum 79 08-12-2007 12:25 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC