Dimmer tap - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-30-2007, 04:59 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 92
Dimmer tap

Anyone know a good tap point for a dimmer circuit on a 2002 TJ?

ecbuck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2007, 07:27 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,295
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
You talking the same circuit as the dash lights? They are dimmer controlled. Most TJ's use an ORANGE wire behind the dash for the dash lights. You could probably tap in to that if you wanted to use the same circuit as the dashboard.

What is your intended purpose/usage? There are wires (switched AND unswitched) behind the glovebox you can tap in to if you want to attach some kind of rheostat for a dimmer control of some type. But the dash light tap would be easier. I just don't know what you're wanting to do.

__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...reenjeep2a.jpg
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2007, 09:55 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 92
I'm connecting a fog light switch and want the indicator light on the switch to dim with the instrument panel.
ecbuck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2007, 10:01 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
whiteyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 4,857
Unless it's some type of really custom switch I don't think it will work. Switches I've seen all take the power for the indicator light off the lead that feeds the coil controlling the light relay. If you dim that line the result would be less voltage to the coil and it might not hold.
__________________
Fallen Angel...Former MOD
whiteyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2007, 10:25 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,295
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteyj View Post
Unless it's some type of really custom switch I don't think it will work. Switches I've seen all take the power for the indicator light off the lead that feeds the coil controlling the light relay. If you dim that line the result would be less voltage to the coil and it might not hold.
Inaccurate. The lighting for the switch has zero to do with the activation of the item being activated by the switch.

I did exactly this for my Carling switches. My indicator glows with varying intensity depending on how high/low I have my dimmer set. I tapped into the orange wires behind the dash (actually fed off the orange wire for the HVAC for this) and they work just fine.

See my 2nd switch bezel writeup in the writeup section for pics and info.
__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...reenjeep2a.jpg
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2007, 01:52 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Unlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gone.... and most likely forgotten.
Posts: 3,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickpl View Post
Inaccurate. The lighting for the switch has zero to do with the activation of the item being activated by the switch..
This is true only if you are using a Carling switch or another switch that uses a separate power supply for the light. Most of the cheaper switches use the input power source for both the light and output circuit. If you use one of these types of switches, if dimmed, the output voltage may not be adequate to trigger the solenoid you are using to switch the lights on with.
Unlimited is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2007, 02:22 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 92
This is a factory switch with a designated post for instrument panel (dimmer) power.
ecbuck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2007, 02:49 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
whiteyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 4,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickpl View Post
Inaccurate. The lighting for the switch has zero to do with the activation of the item being activated by the switch.

I did exactly this for my Carling switches. My indicator glows with varying intensity depending on how high/low I have my dimmer set. I tapped into the orange wires behind the dash (actually fed off the orange wire for the HVAC for this) and they work just fine.

See my 2nd switch bezel writeup in the writeup section for pics and info.
erickpl....As I said in my post a custom switch. Most all of the "typical $2" or less switches found in your "typical" auto parts stores do not have a seperate power lead for illumination. They take is from the switched lead.

As we subsequently found out from his post, ecbuck has a factory switch with the lead. yet again not your typical auto parts store switch.
__________________
Fallen Angel...Former MOD
whiteyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2007, 03:01 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,295
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteyj View Post
erickpl....As I said in my post a custom switch. Most all of the "typical $2" or less switches found in your "typical" auto parts stores do not have a seperate power lead for illumination. They take is from the switched lead.

As we subsequently found out from his post, ecbuck has a factory switch with the lead. yet again not your typical auto parts store switch.
Gotcha. I didn't really consider the Carling any more of a custom switch that what you'd get at a local car part or Rat Shack. I would think, though, that if the OP is using a factory switch, hooking into the factory wiring should get a factory result, but I may be oversimplifying it.

It wouldn't be the first time.
__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...reenjeep2a.jpg
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-02-2007, 09:13 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickpl View Post
I would think, though, that if the OP is using a factory switch, hooking into the factory wiring should get a factory result, but I may be oversimplifying it.

It wouldn't be the first time.
Yep - if only it where that simple. Since the original didn't come with a fog light, there is no "factory" fog light wiring harness to hook into.
ecbuck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-02-2007, 09:38 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,295
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
Yep, I oversimplified it. hehe

I still think though that you could tap the orange wires used for dash illumination and run it to the proper point on the back of that switch and have it work.
__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...reenjeep2a.jpg
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-02-2007, 10:11 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Unlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gone.... and most likely forgotten.
Posts: 3,044
Pardon the hijack here, but I have a question......

Didn't the 2002s have the fog light switch built into the left stalk on the steering column? A friend has and '04 that didn't come with the factory lights, but still had the switch on the left stalk (the end of it pulls out) and the circuit wired through a solenoid. All he had to do was find the pig tail coming out of the solenoid box and wire the lights to it.

Just a thought.....
Unlimited is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-02-2007, 01:02 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickpl View Post
Yep, I oversimplified it. hehe

I still think though that you could tap the orange wires used for dash illumination and run it to the proper point on the back of that switch and have it work.

I think I may try the radio first. If I recall when I put that in, it had a instrument dimmer connection. Be easier to take out the radio than the instrument panel.
ecbuck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-02-2007, 01:04 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unlimited View Post
Pardon the hijack here, but I have a question......

Didn't the 2002s have the fog light switch built into the left stalk on the steering column? A friend has and '04 that didn't come with the factory lights, but still had the switch on the left stalk (the end of it pulls out) and the circuit wired through a solenoid. All he had to do was find the pig tail coming out of the solenoid box and wire the lights to it.

Just a thought.....
If there was factory wiring and a solenoid its gone now. The car had an aftermarket set of lights put on by the previous owner and it uses its own harness and solenoid. Don't think the installer would have gone to that trouble if those components were already there.
ecbuck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-02-2007, 01:51 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,295
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecbuck View Post
I think I may try the radio first. If I recall when I put that in, it had a instrument dimmer connection. Be easier to take out the radio than the instrument panel.
HVAC will have a wire as well and be closer to the switches.
__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...reenjeep2a.jpg
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-02-2007, 05:48 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Tj Bunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 944
My 01 does not have Factory fogs and thats the same thing i did tie into O wire some of our rigs i Guerss are just too strippy for the bells and whisels....
__________________
[2001 Wrangler 2.5 New Bumper and 2" BB-31x10.50-15 General AT2 on Soft 8 Steel Rims....
http://www.myjeepspace.com/TJ_BUNCH
Fresno Ca


Tj Bunch is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-26-2008, 06:52 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickpl View Post
Inaccurate. The lighting for the switch has zero to do with the activation of the item being activated by the switch.

I did exactly this for my Carling switches. My indicator glows with varying intensity depending on how high/low I have my dimmer set. I tapped into the orange wires behind the dash (actually fed off the orange wire for the HVAC for this) and they work just fine.
I finally go around to wiring my carling switch using your wiring diagram from another thread. 8,7 ground, 2 (switched) Power and 3 solenoid. Didn't have the dim circuit so did not connect anything to 6.

Two problems 1: The light comes on with ignition. I would have assumed that without the "6" connection (dimmer) I would have no light.

2: When the switch is in the "off" position, the lit switch light bulb is directly visable - i.e. an annoying white light - from behind the switch face.

Suggestions?
ecbuck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-27-2008, 01:11 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
ecbuck, what kind of a light is it? You can try to put a cap on top of it.

Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-27-2008, 05:43 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecbuck View Post
I finally go around to wiring my carling switch using your wiring diagram from another thread. 8,7 ground, 2 (switched) Power and 3 solenoid. Didn't have the dim circuit so did not connect anything to 6.

Two problems 1: The light comes on with ignition. I would have assumed that without the "6" connection (dimmer) I would have no light.

2: When the switch is in the "off" position, the lit switch light bulb is directly visable - i.e. an annoying white light - from behind the switch face.

Suggestions?
Found the problem. Had the solenoid and power connections switched. Now the light is off when the toggle is in the down position and thus doesn't shine through the top.

ecbuck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How about a joke thread? Keep em' clean Iquois Off-Topic 1202 04-09-2014 05:34 AM
Light switch swap HkdOnJP YJ General Discussion Forum 11 07-30-2008 10:08 PM
2005 Rubicon dimmer switch wire color??? RubiRed TJ Tech Forum 0 04-15-2006 07:54 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC