Final TJ heater/blower issue fix - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-31-2012, 09:57 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
WingingIt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 328
Final TJ heater/blower issue fix

I've spent 2 days reading posts and articles every where.

I assume this is the best method to fix this issue?
Jeep Fire Prevention - Jp Magazine

Most posts I've seen say to replace this and that, but no one ever seems to solve the issue.

The above article from Jp Magazine says the temp at the switches went down, yet the temp at the relays were almost where the original temps were at the switches. To me, that's not a fix, just a band-aide. How I see it, they still have the same issue, just moved it down the line a little.

I mention this as I want to keep my TJ for a very long time, not just a few years, so I need a real fix. Something that when I fix it, it's fixed... if you know what I mean.

My thoughts are it needs it's own circuit separate from the wiring harness that it uses now to be beefed up to handle the amps, or a better blower motor.

Known Parts, from a Dealer:
Dash wiring harness is ~$650
Blower motor $249
Blower Resistor $64
Climate control unit $132
Pigtail Plugs maybe $35 a piece, dealer was guessing and didn't know for sure and they were special order.

__________________
-Travis
2001 Jeep TJ 4.0L/5spd
WingingIt74 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2012, 07:26 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
WingingIt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 328
Anyone have a wiring schematic for just the HVAC?

__________________
-Travis
2001 Jeep TJ 4.0L/5spd
WingingIt74 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2012, 07:31 AM   #3
Rock-Rubber

WF Supporting Member
 
GoldenSahara00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SCPA
Posts: 16,679
I don't have a wiring schematic, sorry. I did mess around with this for a while, never got around to installing the relay. I agree pretty lame that this slipped by Jeep. but if I remember correctly its caused by the blower motor wearing down and requiring more power, so its actually the draw from the motor that is a big issue. I know I simply replaced my resistor and I need a new switch, but it works 1-4 now. with 3 being a lil finicky (I broke the switch trying to make it work )

If you find a decently inexpensive and proper, final fix for this I will be interested. goodluck
__________________
Ryan - A good eye, a light foot, and a smart rig.
Bolt-ons are boring
AMERICAN JEEPER
My Build - http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/pr...a00-74622.html
Rausch Creek Trip: 2014 Trip Coming Soon
GoldenSahara00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2012, 07:35 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
WingingIt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 328
Talking with a guy up at AutoTire this weekend, it's not just a Jeep thing.... a lot of Chryslers suffer this same issue.
__________________
-Travis
2001 Jeep TJ 4.0L/5spd
WingingIt74 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2012, 07:38 AM   #5
Rock-Rubber

WF Supporting Member
 
GoldenSahara00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SCPA
Posts: 16,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingingIt74 View Post
Talking with a guy up at AutoTire this weekend, it's not just a Jeep thing.... a lot of Chryslers suffer this same issue.

I consider its a blessing because I really have no other issues, and with the recalls you hear about today, there could be a whole lot more wrong than just some 15 year old bad wiring designs. haha.
__________________
Ryan - A good eye, a light foot, and a smart rig.
Bolt-ons are boring
AMERICAN JEEPER
My Build - http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/pr...a00-74622.html
Rausch Creek Trip: 2014 Trip Coming Soon
GoldenSahara00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2012, 07:51 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
WingingIt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 328
My other pet peeve is the double cardin on the front drive shaft not being greaseable... but that's another topic.
__________________
-Travis
2001 Jeep TJ 4.0L/5spd
WingingIt74 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2012, 11:02 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Border Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingingIt74 View Post
The above article from Jp Magazine says the temp at the switches went down, yet the temp at the relays were almost where the original temps were at the switches. To me, that's not a fix, just a band-aide. How I see it, they still have the same issue, just moved it down the line a little.
That may be true, but I did the relay modification back in May of 2008 and haven't had any problems since then. I think the relays handle the heat a lot better than the switch. Not only that, if a relay does go bad it's a lot cheaper and easier to swap it out than the switch.

This is the write-up I used. The OP's pictures have long since vanished, but the info is still there. http://www.jeepsunlimited.com/forums...d.php?t=392809
Border Dave is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2012, 09:03 PM   #8
Rock-Rubber

WF Supporting Member
 
GoldenSahara00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SCPA
Posts: 16,679
Good stuff.
__________________
Ryan - A good eye, a light foot, and a smart rig.
Bolt-ons are boring
AMERICAN JEEPER
My Build - http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/pr...a00-74622.html
Rausch Creek Trip: 2014 Trip Coming Soon
GoldenSahara00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-10-2012, 09:44 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
chop110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: TX
Posts: 408
I did the same thing!

http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/writ...fix-52716.html

Funny, I checked the harness connection from "high" wire a few months ago. The plastic had melted some. I think this may have been due to improper grounding. I am still watching it. At least it is not the switch that is melting again.
chop110 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 08:16 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
WingingIt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 328
What amps can the original circuit run? Some where I think was mentioned that the switches/connectors are only good for 10A and the circuit fuse is a 40A.

So if you do a relay fix, what is the rest of the circuit rated at? I'm thinking I may do that and put a 30A fuse in as preventative maintenance. When it pops later down the road, replace the blower.

What are your thoughts?
__________________
-Travis
2001 Jeep TJ 4.0L/5spd
WingingIt74 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 09:11 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
fourty4magjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Erie
Posts: 1,742
__________________
/I ,[_____], Goodyear duratrac 33x12.5r15s
I---I_ -olllllllo- 4" currie lift, savvy arms.
()_) ()_)—o-)_) Cragar or Procomp soft 8s pioneer deck with polk db series speakers
fourty4magjr is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 10:35 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 613
Yep, I completely rewired the whole mess and bought new mopar blower, harness and resistor for $232.

Then I used 4 relays, and heavy gauge wires...dash speed switch only triggers relays now.


Thankfully, the new blower has been revised to where the connector is on a pigtail and not built into motor head...The worse that can happen now is that one single connector overheat...if it does, I'll replace blower again.


Bottom line is the fact that the blowers age and draw too much current...as that happens, something has to give be it resistor, switch, harness plugs or some of both.


The lesson here is once you have to replace resistor, then expect to experience another failure eventually somewhere else in the OEM system.

That pic of my relay assembly is misleading..It doesn't show the leads going to pins on resistor
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	032412205451_01.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	171.1 KB
ID:	113211   Click image for larger version

Name:	021512124830_01.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	175.1 KB
ID:	113212  

Click image for larger version

Name:	021512121408.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	108.8 KB
ID:	113213   Click image for larger version

Name:	021612141347_01.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	223.8 KB
ID:	113214  

2002TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 10:39 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
WingingIt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 328
See I was thinking that. Why not just build a completely separate harness that can handle the amps?

Sure surprised there isn't a recall.
__________________
-Travis
2001 Jeep TJ 4.0L/5spd
WingingIt74 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2012, 10:47 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingingIt74 View Post
See I was thinking that. Why not just build a completely separate harness that can handle the amps?

Sure surprised there isn't a recall.
Yeah, I agree....my research shows that mopar has revised all the blower and harness part #'s several times...so make sure you buy the latest revisions....mopar has been addressing the issue quietly in that fashion.
2002TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2012, 08:33 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingingIt74 View Post
What amps can the original circuit run? Some where I think was mentioned that the switches/connectors are only good for 10A and the circuit fuse is a 40A.

So if you do a relay fix, what is the rest of the circuit rated at? I'm thinking I may do that and put a 30A fuse in as preventative maintenance. When it pops later down the road, replace the blower.

What are your thoughts?
Yep, you really are better off with an added inline fuse right before the motor rated at about 20-25 amps....A spanky new OEM blower motor pulls 11.3 amps max as per my testing....if it starts bogging down, a lower rated fuse would serve to protect all upstream of it.
2002TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-28-2013, 02:33 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
WingingIt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 328
I just got my jeep back on the road.... long story of replacing parts and upgrading...

Anyway, I'm back to thinking about this. Why not replace the connectors on the plugs, replace the switches, new blower, new relay... then add 10a inline fuses (or maybe 15a)...

My thoughts are when they blow(and from what I read, the multi-relay isn't the end all fix), just replace the blower (maybe the relay) and the fuses and away you go down the road.

OR even back to my original thought of making a stand alone harness that can handle the amps???
__________________
-Travis
2001 Jeep TJ 4.0L/5spd
WingingIt74 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-28-2013, 03:33 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
WingingIt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 328
JP did write a revision to their previous story... apparently it didn't work for them as well as they hoped.
Jeep Wrangler HVAC Repair - Jp Magazine
__________________
-Travis
2001 Jeep TJ 4.0L/5spd
WingingIt74 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-28-2013, 03:59 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Majnoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Springfield Missouri
Posts: 3,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingingIt74 View Post
JP did write a revision to their previous story... apparently it didn't work for them as well as they hoped.
Jeep Wrangler HVAC Repair - Jp Magazine
I read about this failure a long time ago. I used these ENZOTECH Memory Ramsink BMR-C1 (Forged Copper Heatsink)
http://amzn.com/B002BWXW6E

I stuck them all over the back of my switch the connector that hooks to it the resister and the connecter that hooks to it. They are for circuit boards. I figure the problem is the heat caused can not escape fast enough. Causing things to melt and not make contact anymore. With these the heat has a new more efficient escape path and so far mine has worked flawlessly. The switch I did it to is the 3rd one on my fan so I know the cause is still there. I'm just keeping things below the melting point. Maybe next time I'm in my dash I will post a pic of my copper porcupine.
Majnoon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-21-2013, 06:59 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
WingingIt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 328
Well... since I can find a really good fix, this is what I did.

Replaced the fan and resistor


Added a fuse block and reshaped the glove box so it would clear the new fuse block.


Stripped the wiring harness down to get to my 4 wires and re-wrapped it.




Created a new wiring harness to go from the fuse block to the switches. Then I added connectors and plugged them in to switches.


A 15A fuse on M2 and High would pop, so I added 20A fuses

__________________
-Travis
2001 Jeep TJ 4.0L/5spd
WingingIt74 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did a little testing of what JK parts fit TJ suspension wise Jeepsr4me TJ General Discussion Forum 255 09-24-2014 12:27 PM
Harken Lift Issue NY_Joe JK General Discussion Forum 8 04-07-2012 07:37 PM
Can you reuse the factory TJ sway bar hardware? Muddeprived TJ General Discussion Forum 10 03-31-2012 08:18 PM
Jk Heater Fuse Swingwood JK General Discussion Forum 1 03-31-2012 09:51 AM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC