Help!!! Odometer issues - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-29-2012, 12:33 AM   #1
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,740
Help!!! Odometer issues

I have a 2006 Wrangler Rubicon. I took the doors off my jeep and removed the fuse (under the hood) to turn the interior lights off while the doors were off. When I put the fuse back in, the odometer read 888888. The computer in the Jeep is still reading the correct mileage. I have had the dealership look at it and they don't know what to do. I don't want to have to replace the entire cluster. Please help me!

silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 12:38 AM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
wmwhitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ewa Beach Hawaii
Posts: 1,344
HMMMMM thats a good one I will be watching to see what the issue is.

wmwhitey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 01:14 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Anatak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 18
I know this is obvious and already been tried, but I still gotta ask.

Have you or the dealership disconnected the battery for any extended period of time to perform a "hard-boot" on the computer?
Anatak is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 01:20 AM   #4
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,740
Thanks wmwhitey.
Anatak I am not sure if the dealership tried that or not. How long does it need to be disconnected? I can try it in the morning.
silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 05:20 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Neil F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 5,316
Images: 1
For one, it is fuse #4 behind the glovebox to keep the interior lights off, not under the hood. Make sure the fuse under the hood is still good. Put another one in the spot under the hood and check the odometer.
__________________
2003 TJ, 33" BFG AT, 2" BL, 2" BDS spring lift, Truck Lite headlights, Homemade sunrider top.
Neil F. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 07:56 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
mrpowerz13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Rumford, RI
Posts: 145
#4 under the hood is the radiator fan I think. (Almost did the same thing my first time) You want the #4 fuse behind the glove box as stated above. You'll have to remove the retaining strap so be prepared to catch the glove box as it falls. I just use a mini fuse puller and keep the fuse and puller together in the jeep bag my owners manual came in. You're looking for a 10 amp mini red fuse. Once you pull it, there will be no more chime to remind you your headlights are on so always double check. (Learned that the hard way by trying to leave for work and having a dead battery lol)

As for the odo reading 8's across the board, I would disconnect the positive and negative terminals for a few minutes, say 5-10. (Now would be a good time to clean all your battery connections and clear any crap that may be on there too!) Check to make sure the fuse from under the hood is still good, if not replace as necessary. Reconnect the battery and by that time the computer should have ample time to reboot itself.
__________________
Pete

2006 X 4.0 i6 6spd
mrpowerz13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 08:52 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 109
I had the doors off and the fuse out this weekend with no issues. I'm keeping an eye on this thread for future reference.
TJ Hooligan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 09:39 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Neil F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 5,316
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ Hooligan View Post
I had the doors off and the fuse out this weekend with no issues. I'm keeping an eye on this thread for future reference.
Which fuse, glovebox or underhood?
__________________
2003 TJ, 33" BFG AT, 2" BL, 2" BDS spring lift, Truck Lite headlights, Homemade sunrider top.
Neil F. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 09:51 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil F.

Which fuse, glovebox or underhood?
Glovebox
TJ Hooligan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 04:14 PM   #10
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ Hooligan View Post
I had the doors off and the fuse out this weekend with no issues. I'm keeping an eye on this thread for future reference.
I had taken the one from under the hood out because that was the one the dealer had told me to take out.. figures lol. But mine was out for about two and a half months. (got tired of taking the fuse out and putting it back in)
silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 04:15 PM   #11
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,740
Thanks Pete! I'll try that tonight.
silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 04:23 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Neil F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 5,316
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ Hooligan View Post
Glovebox
There there is no issue.
__________________
2003 TJ, 33" BFG AT, 2" BL, 2" BDS spring lift, Truck Lite headlights, Homemade sunrider top.
Neil F. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 05:46 PM   #13
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,740
Neil, You haven't had any issues with removing the fuse behind the glovebox?
silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 05:58 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
s14sh3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Clayton, OK
Posts: 2,049
Have you or the dealership ran a cluster diagnostic test? With the key off, press and hold the trip meter reset. While holding the reset button, turn the key on. Let go of the button and the cluster will cycle through all the gauges and lights, and display any fault codes.
s14sh3r is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 06:33 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Neil F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 5,316
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver rubi View Post
Neil, You haven't had any issues with removing the fuse behind the glovebox?
No that's what it's for. That's basically what everyone does with the doors off is to pull fuse #4. Myself and others have either made a switch or you can by one for 15.00 if you hate pulling the fuse.
__________________
2003 TJ, 33" BFG AT, 2" BL, 2" BDS spring lift, Truck Lite headlights, Homemade sunrider top.
Neil F. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 06:45 PM   #16
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,740
s14sh3r - I've run it multiple times. It cycles through everything and then that's it..
Neil- that's good to know. What kind of switch are you talking about?
silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2012, 09:52 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Neil F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 5,316
Images: 1
Replace fuse #4 with a switch. You can make one yourself for a few $ and parts on hand, ebay has them for 15 or Quadratec for around 25-30. I put the switch on the side of the dash. When you pull the doors, just flip the switch and the lights stay off.
__________________
2003 TJ, 33" BFG AT, 2" BL, 2" BDS spring lift, Truck Lite headlights, Homemade sunrider top.
Neil F. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-31-2012, 10:36 AM   #18
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,740
What does a "hard boot" consist of? I have run the diagnostic test and it doesn't bring up any error codes. Both fuses look good.
silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-21-2012, 09:44 AM   #19
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
I am having this issue right now, I have been pulling the fuse under the hood and haven't had any issues until now. I will try disconnecting the battery, keeping my fingers crosssed.
Levi12 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2012, 12:54 AM   #20
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,740
bump
silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-25-2014, 06:07 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
i-Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 26
bumpity bump.
i-Zapp is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2014, 12:28 AM   #22
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,740
Replace the cluster
silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-27-2014, 05:26 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
i-Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver rubi View Post
Replace the cluster
thanks. did the new cluster read the correct odometer mileage (from the ECU), or does it retain the mileage from the donor vehicle?
i-Zapp is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-27-2014, 05:55 AM   #24
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by i-Zapp View Post
thanks. did the new cluster read the correct odometer mileage (from the ECU), or does it retain the mileage from the donor vehicle?
You can pull the actual mileage from the ecu but it retains the mileage off of the cluster
silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-10-2014, 10:36 AM   #25
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
mine is in the shop right now. you have to replace the cluster at the dealership for the right mileage to be on the new cluster. expensive mistake.
Levi12 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-02-2014, 11:53 AM   #26
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
just had my cluster replaced, it was the only thing they could do. very expensive error on my part. I tell everyone I meet with a Jeep not to pull the wrong fuse!
Levi12 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-03-2014, 11:47 PM   #27
EMS - It's a way of life.

WF Supporting Member
 
silver rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midlothian, Virginia
Posts: 19,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Levi12 View Post
mine is in the shop right now. you have to replace the cluster at the dealership for the right mileage to be on the new cluster. expensive mistake.
Dealership said they couldn't input the actual mileage...
silver rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-04-2014, 12:00 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
Junky_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Highwood
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver rubi View Post
Dealership said they couldn't input the actual mileage...
Yea they can I found a video awhile back where someone bought some hardware/software and reprogrammed a couple different dashes.

He explains how the counter works pretty well.


__________________
Jeeps never get stuck or broke. Just parked in odd places for an indeterminate length of time.
Junky_One is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
help needed , issues , odometer , odometer issues , rubicon

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC