HELPPP! Same common Problem - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-18-2013, 10:41 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 13
HELPPP! Same common Problem

I have a '97 tj wrangler that i love. took it offroading last sunday and when we were done parked it up in my buddies driveway. i then backed it up to where we were sitting to listen to music after it had been turned off for an hour.. then my buddy put in a new radio for me without disconnecting the battery. after the radio jumped back in to go to skyline and it wouldnt start. theres not power going to the fuel pump, i am getting no spark from my plugs, and my gauges arent moving when i turn on the battery. please help me!
missing work cause i have no other transportation.
trying to keep it from putting it in the shop!

Any advice is helpful

TjMudMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2013, 10:46 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
SecretAgentMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 187
I think I'd start with finding out exactly what your buddy did. You had electrical when you got to your buddy's house. I installed a radio (which involves the electrical system) and immediately after you had no electrical.

I'd start by checking fuses and double-check the power connection to the battery. Then see if you can undo whatever he did and go from there.

__________________
04 TJ
- - - -
Has anybody seen Amir???
SecretAgentMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2013, 10:46 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
lys327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 781
check main fuse panel to see if main engine fuse blew. check all fuse to see if blown.
lys327 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2013, 10:47 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
lys327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 781
also see if he used a harness adapter or just old school wired in the radio...
lys327 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2013, 10:52 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Timberline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: 38.8339° N, 104.8208° W, Colorado
Posts: 1,135
Images: 2
Are you sure you guys didn't kill the battery when you were sitting in the driveway listening to music for an hour with the engine off? Just a thought.
__________________


2004 Sahara TJ
3.73 Gears / 4.0L / 2" Pro Comp Lift / BF Goodrich AT 32x11.50R15 / 15x8 Pro Comp Alloy Series 1059 / 4' Firestik Ant / Midland CB Radio / Roll & Pitch Clinometer / KC & Hella 700FF Driving Lights / Winch / Smittybilt Bumpers (modified)/ Teraflex 9550 SS
Timberline is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2013, 11:13 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
joebarlow65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Valdosta,GA
Posts: 60
Check your battery with a voltmeter, or take his and see if jeep starts, most probably is a completely dead battery, or a blown fuse somewhere. if anything sparked while he was installing it then a fuse was blown.
__________________
If you cant fix it with a hammer, You've got an electrical problem
joebarlow65 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 09:27 AM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 13
the jeep radio wasnt palying for an hour im saying it was turned off and then we did all that

and i checked all the fuses, nothing is blown, i even switched the relays around and theyre all fine,
he used a harness
could it be my computer is fried?

i checked the battery and it was reading about 15 i know thats more than normal but why?
im just stumped
Thanks for all the help!
TjMudMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 09:28 AM   #8
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 13
oh and also after he put it in, the jeep would crank just not start, and the radio worked just fine
TjMudMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 09:38 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Wattapunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,810
I would start by taking off the battery terminals and wire brush it clean then tightened them well. A good battery with poor connections will cause similar issues.
Wattapunk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 09:41 AM   #10
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 13
i did that took them both off i even connected the ppositive to the negatice to reset the ecu didnt do anything cleaned the crap out of them
TjMudMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 09:43 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
joebarlow65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Valdosta,GA
Posts: 60
have you used a battery that is known to start another vehicle? i had a problem on my motorcycle once that the battery showed 14v but it wouldnt crank or would act like the battery was dead. turns out the battery was bad and it showed 14 when there was no draw but as soon as there was draw it went to nothing.
__________________
If you cant fix it with a hammer, You've got an electrical problem
joebarlow65 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 09:46 AM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 13
but if the battery is bad, wouldnt my radio not even turn on?
TjMudMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 09:55 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Wattapunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,810
A bad battery will not have the cranking amps to start the Jeep but enough juice to run the lights/radio. Pull your battery and have it load tested at Autozone.
Wattapunk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 05:49 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
RUBI 4 MY MRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California/Nevada
Posts: 1,277
Radio still works, right?

Go to the fuse block behind the glove box & check fuses 10 & 11. If good (test them, don’t go by “looks”), turn the key on & see if there is power going TO those fuses by pulling them out & see if one of the terminals for each fuse has battery power. If not then the ignition switch is bad.
__________________


'05 Rubi TJ Unlimited
'93 Toyota 4Runner
RUBI 4 MY MRS is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 05:53 PM   #15
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,553
Images: 2
There are two fuse panels, one behind the glove box door & one on the passenger-side fenderwell in the engine compartment. I suspect there is a blown fuse that you missed checking.
__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 05:25 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
carlosfangdango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 15
Don't confuse voltage with current. One is potential(voltage) the other is capacity(amps). If one of the cells in the battery has collapsed,there are 6 as each cell is 2 volts, you will still see potential but when you try to consume there is no capacity. There is significant difference in current between a radio and a starter. That said the starter is always hot it waits to be engaged by the solenoid, is the solenoid engaging. If not it could be the solenoid or any of the relays that are also in the circuit. These relays are in turn controlled by switches such as the gear position or clutch switch. These also have there own power feed fuses. I only have. 97 wiring diagram but happy to fault find if you can show a diagram.
carlosfangdango is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 06:56 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 537
Send a message via Yahoo to ChaddG
My guess is fuses first, check the one that powers the fuel pump.
if the engine is turning over, and not firing off, check for spark. take a plug wire off and see if it grounds when it is turned over.
next check for fuel.
if you went off roading, check to see that all your wires are connected. make sure the wires aren't broken going to your fuel pump.

Like these guys said, can you jump start it?
sometimes a starter will turn over, but not have enough life left in it to start the vehicle.

Here are some thoughts and areas for you to explore if you haven't already gotten it started.
ChaddG is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 07:43 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
GoodLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Navarre, Florida
Posts: 180
Take your battery to autozone and have them test it. I was on a road trip and stopped for gas. When I got back in and tried to start it, nothing happened. I had to hitch a ride to a parts store to replace it. Also, The connectors on fuses can oxidize and stop getting a proper connection. Pulling/pushing them in and out several times will scrape of the oxidation and allow for a good connection.
__________________
It was the Law of the Sea, they said. Civilization ends at the waterline. Beyond that, we all enter the food chain, and not always right at the top. -Hunter S. Thompson
GoodLife is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 07:14 PM   #19
Newb
 
ErbTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Same as everyone is saying i would check the battery first tough i had one go out on me with no warning and still had electricals but couldn't even jump it. Fuses would also be a possibility
ErbTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2013, 09:49 AM   #20
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 13
Thanks everyone for the replies! ill have the battery tested today, also when i went out to see what was going on with it, i unplugged the distributor cap wire and all my gauges worked? then i plugged it back in and they all stopped working again?
still confused, still not running. any help is appreciated!
TjMudMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2013, 10:13 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
if your not getting any power to the spark plugs, cluster, fuel pump then I would have to say check all of your fuses. I didn't think your battery was bad because it still cranks. I would also take the radio out until you figure out whats going on. discount the battery and remove the radio. Did you guys use a radio harness that plugs into factory harness? Check fuse 1,3, 15 and 25 those are all on the radio circuit, I just looked at the wiring diagram.
2000wranglerguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2013, 10:17 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
check fuse 9 and 12 too. pcm power...
2000wranglerguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2013, 08:20 PM   #23
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 13
Yes we used a harness that plugs into the factory harness
TjMudMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 06:10 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
carlosfangdango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 15
I see the speakers and the cam sensor both have a brk blue and white cable, did you also mess with the speakers and tap the wrong cable
carlosfangdango is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 07:10 AM   #25
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 13
He did it all but hes done it all plenty of times and knows what hes doing. i just dont know what else to do, im going to replace all the fuses today, my battery is fine.

Thanks again for all the replies
still not running any other ideas before it goes to the shop?
TjMudMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 07:11 AM   #26
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 13
fuse 25? i dont see a 25
TjMudMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 07:28 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
carlosfangdango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 15
If all else fails, take everything you added out and try to get back to square one. If it worked before there must be an error unplug anything you added, if you spiced isolate them all.
carlosfangdango is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 08:30 AM   #28
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 13
thats the thing, the only thing we did was take off the dash, unplug the radio, cut the wires, and wired the new one in... thats it
TjMudMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 11:06 AM   #29
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 13
is it possible i need a whole new pcm?
TjMudMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2013, 02:02 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
SecretAgentMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjMudMan View Post
is it possible i need a whole new pcm?
Did you put it back to the way it was before your buddy started working on it, as several of us have suggested?

__________________
04 TJ
- - - -
Has anybody seen Amir???
SecretAgentMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC